The Spiritual Realm

The Bible calls it the “Kingdom of God”. Jesus taught a lot about it.

Jesus said that “my kingdom is not of this world” (Jn.18:36). It is a spiritual kingdom, a spiritual realm where God, who is a Spirit dwells.

The Hebrew meaning for the word “kingdom” is “dominion, rule, realm, or reign”. The Greek meaning is “royalty, rule, a realm”. It has to do also with “the notion of a foundation of power”.

“Realm” appears in both the Hebrew and Greek. Jesus taught a spiritual kingdom. This is made clear in John, chapter three. Jesus answered the ruler of the Jews (Nicodemus) and said, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born from above (spiritual birth), he cannot see (understand, perceive) the kingdom of God.” (vs.3)

So one is not going to have a clue about this “spiritual kingdom” unless they have had a new birth, a second birth, a birth of the spirit, if you will. Not only will one not be able to understand the kingdom, they will also not be able to enter into the spiritual kingdom without the second birth. Jesus makes this clear in verse five. “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot “enter” the kingdom of God.”

Here we see that the “mode of entrance” is both “born of water and Spirit”. The born of water has to do with the internal washing of the heart (see my posts on “Born of water”). It takes a “baptism” of water and a “baptism” of the Holy Ghost (the Holy Spirit) to “enter the kingdom of God”. Many take only to the few scriptures that say, only “believe”. In this chapter, Jesus taught us what must take place to “see” and “enter” the kingdom. Then he went on and mentioned “believing” in the remaining verses.

This being “born of the Spirit” is a mystery, so don’t try to completely figure it out. Jesus taught us this in verse eight. “The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.” It’s a mystery.

My definition of the Spiritual Kingdom is, ” the realm of God in which He the Spirit moves and has it’s being (operates).

If we have received the Spirit of God within us, then “the kingdom of God is within us” (also meaning, “in our midst”). So, not only inside us, but moving in our midst. This is the part that I like to see. I just don’t like to see the Spirit bottled up just for me. No, I like to see it out and about, moving in and through me. I like to observe the Spirit working. Moving upon people. Drawing people. Moving them like a magnet. Talk about power!

One example:

Last week, the Spirit was moving upon me to share about the “Spiritual Kingdom”. This was two days before Christmas. People were going everywhere, shopping and buying gifts. The sidewalks were packed with people. As the Spirit went out, people began to slow down to listen to the Spirit. It was awesome. One younger guy, caught my eye as he did “figure eights” in front of me several times. People lingered around to hear what was being said. Their spirits were trying to get ahold of God’s Spirit. The Holy Spirit speaks to their spirit. It’s spirit to spirit, so to speak.

I am becoming more aware of the power of The Spirit. When the Spirit is moving or speaking, people take notice. Just today, I was talking to a brother on the corner, and all I did was mention the word “spirit”, and this lady that past by, turned back and looked at us to hear what was being said.

When we operate in the Spirit, we are able to partake in this “realm”. It’s not for us to get “fat” spiritually on, but to see the kingdom of God come, and come with power (the Holy Spirit). Power to move on people to extend God’s kingdom on earth as it is in heaven.

Just like, “flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God” literally, but also, it can’t spiritually. It’s God’s spirit in us doing the work. This flesh is just the carcass, and someday it’s going back to the dust. That is as far as it goes. It’s the “Spirit that gives life, the flesh profits nothing”.

If the Spirit is working, there is going to be demonstration (manifestation). And it’s going to be powerful. It’s going to resemble, “otherworldly”.

PREACHING THE KINGDOM OF GOD:

“And heal the sick there, and say to them, “The kingdom of God has come near to you.” (Lk.10:9)

When demons are cast out, say “the Kingdom of God has come upon you.” (Lk.11:20)

Christ said, “if I cast out demons by the Spirit of God, surely the Kingdom of God has come upon you.” (Mt.12:28)

“And this gospel of the Kingdom will be preached in all the world as a witness to all nations,” (Mt.24:14)

Christ was sent, “to preach the kingdom of God.” (Lk.4:43). Christ proclaimed (preached) the good news of the Kingdom of God. (Lk.8:1)

The twelve were sent to “preach the Kingdom of God, and heal the sick” (Lk.9:2)

Christ “spoke to them about the Kingdom of God, and healed them.” (Lk.9:11)

I will close with this one from the “radical Jesus”. “Then He said to another, “Follow Me.” But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and preach the kingdom of God.”  Does the Kingdom sound important to Jesus? Should it be important to us?

Jesus ends with this, “And another also said, “Lord, I will follow you, but let me first go and bid my family who are at my house, farewell.” But Jesus said to him, “No one, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the Kingdom of God.” (Lk.9:59-62)

First off, have you been born of the Spirit? If so, what are you doing in the spiritual realm? Are you “seeking first the Kingdom of God?”

May you also receive a fresh revelation of God’s Spiritual Kingdom.

6 Responses to “The Spiritual Realm”

  1. Marie Says:

    Powerful words. Absolute Truth.

  2. Richard Says:

    Marie,
    The Lord bless you!
    I’m glad that your spirit bore witness to this truth

  3. eternallyhopeful Says:

    A spin…………….. we need to live in the world yet not of the world. Sometimes, in an effort to be so spiritual, I can actually seperate myself from the very people that God needs me to reach. Often, preaching doesn’t do it but really just loving another. God has been teaching me this to allow him to do the work, me less speaking, more listening, and it can be hard. It is easy to live on a extreme high spiritual plain, but then you are seperated from most of the world and where reality lives. Just my thoughts, and in no way a contradiction to what you have written. Sometimes, to deep spiritually actually creates a disconnect for even me knowing ‘reality’ is where I’m living. Maybe a future blog for you.

    Happy New Year 2011, Roxanne

  4. Richard Says:

    Hi Roxanne!
    I know what you are saying here, and can relate. Kind of like…. “been there done that”.
    What I am talking about has to do with people and reaching them for the kingdom. By joining with the Spirit at work (in the realm) I can actually be affective. Why? Because, if I am in tune with the Spirit (in the spirit) I will be doing what the Spirit wants to do upon that particular person at that particular moment. It might be, showering them with love. It might be a word of correction in love. In any case, it’s going to be what God wants (if I’m walking in the Spirit, and not the natural, of course)
    If I am in the flesh (natural), and not careful, a spirit of religion can take over, or spiritual pride (with is also fleshly). This will be of no avail, and could be damaging.
    I agree with “letting God do the work”, but at the same time, if I’m in the Spirit, I will be listening to what the Spirit is saying and act accordingly. He may well be saying, “just listen”. If I don’t listen to the individual, I have maybe 10 minutes, before he or she cuts me off, checks their cell phone and says, “gotta go, love ya, bye”. Listening is huge, for sure.
    “Reality” can and should be for us, living in the Spirit each moment. Is it always that way? No.
    As far as a “disconnect” goes, I would have to disagree. I look at it as a “connect”. Why? Because their spirit is crying out to connect with God’s Spirit. They just don’t know it yet (I say, yet. that gives hope).
    Well, nice to hear from you, and truly thanks for your thought provoking comment. And please write back.
    God bless you, sister!

  5. metaphysical Says:

    metaphysical…

    [...]The Spiritual Realm « The Word on the Streets[...]…

  6. Jean Says:

    Many people talk about the realm of spirit, but not fully understands it really.. It takes a really pilot to land a plane safely.. There is this book call Deep into the Realm of Spirit.. Very interesting book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

