“Jesus was a carpenter too”

Today I went skiing with my wife and daughter. It’s something we used to do with the kids a few years back. We hadn’t been in over three years, so our daughter Leslie took us both for my birthday present. We all three really enjoyed it, it was a beautiful day in the Lord, Praise Him !

Being an evangelist, I was hoping to share Jesus on the slopes, as I have done before. My past experiences at this was always on the lift chair riding up. However, being a weekday and not so crowded, and just the three of us riding up together, I didn’t think I would get a chance.

On our first run down, we got separated and so I waited at the bottom, but they never showed. So I decided to take the lift back up to the top to see if I could locate them. Myself and one other man got on the chair. It didn’t take long for me to figure out that here was my chance to share. So I asked him the usual, “how are you?” He said, “excellent, what a great day to be up here”. I agreed. He said, “what a good day to have off work” I said, “Oh yea, what kind of work do you do?” He said, ” I do remodeling, construction etc”. I told him that I used to do some of that in my younger days.

Now what followed next was truly awesome to me.
I had not said one thing about God, Jesus, be blessed etc.

Now there was a short pause after he had told me that he was into remodeling/construction. He then turned to me and said, “You know that Jesus was a carpenter too”
Wow!!!!!!! I said, “that’s right, he was”.
I told him how much I appreciated his openness about Jesus. He acted like it was normal, so natural. Shouldn’t it be?

He went on to say that he was a christian, and we talked some more. I shared with him how I enjoyed sharing Jesus on the streets. I told him that I was an evangelist. He said, “what’s that?”
Now here was a guy that didn’t know the first thing about what an evangelist is, however he had just shared Jesus with me, before I had said anything to him. He did not even know that he was evangelizing. It was so natural how he mentioned Jesus. His spontaneous remark, “Jesus was a carpenter too” just flowed out of his mouth, without I believe, him thinking about it at all.

I was just blown away on that chair. God through His Spirit, was showing me that though I might think I am in control of the moment, He is way bigger then all my experiences with evangelism, how to witness, what to say or do etc. Yes, I try and listen to the Holy Spirit each and every time, but He is God and I am not.

I believe God had fun with me today. He showed me how big He is. How much He is in control. He will do whatever He wants to do, with whoever He wants to.
Praise Him ! He’s God ! He’s Sovereign !

Amen

7 Responses to ““Jesus was a carpenter too””

  1. Clyde Walter Says:

    Amen, I think that evangelizing should come as natural as breathing. Being in the car biz I have heard more than enough jokes and ridicule about my beliefs. But that just tells me that I need to share more and more. I feel the more you share the more satan will strike at you. The question is, do we take it, or do we hesitate or wait till we feel comfortable. Keep up God’s work.
    Clyde Walter

  2. mcalmond Says:

    Great story Richard. The Lord, he is awesome and He is such a wonderful surprise. Thank you Lord for your surprises!

    I am glad you all had a great day on the slopes! What a wonderful birthday present.

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!

  3. Larry Anderson Says:

    Hey, I read it tonight after you told me about it on the bus–kind of fits into the conversation we had, doesn’t it?

    Larry

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Phil,
    Yes, The Lord is awesome ! and full of surprises !

    You be blessed in Christ Jesus !

    Yes it does, Larry
    Thanks for stopping by.

    You are a blessing to me,
    Richard

  5. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Clyde for stopping by.
    I just found your comment in the spam file. Sorry for the delay.
    Thanks for the words of encouragement. It’s so true.

    You too, keep up with the sharing of The Gospel.

    walk in His Grace,
    Richard

  6. rindy Says:

    Excellent–am working through the idea of being “an evangelist” myself and am seeing it is, or should be, more natural than I ever knew…and exciting! Just wrote a post about that very thing this morning…thanks for the encouragement through your experience!

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Rindy for stopping by.
    May His Spirit flow naturally through you to reach a lost and dieing world.

    So be it,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

