The Blessing of Remembrance

Remembrance (Web.dict.)- “the state of bearing in mind, the ability to remember : Memory, the period over which one’s memory extends, an act of recalling to mind”……

May I call you to “Remembrance” today?

As you read this and think of how you use to be (before coming to Christ), think about other’s that have yet to come to Christ. Remember your lost condition before coming to Christ. Take some time to remember. Hopefully, it will cause some compassion to swell up within you.

Ephesians chapter 2 (paraphrased)

We have been quickened by Christ. (quickened means, “vitalized, make alive, give life”).
We were dead (spiritually) in our transgressions and sins. We must remember that all those that haven’t yet come to Christ, are dead people (spiritually speaking).
Without receiving Christ’s atonement for our sins, we are dead. It’s just that simple.

Let us be reminded that there are only two types of people out there. They are either spiritually alive through Christ, or dead in sin.

We use to walk according to the course of this world. The ways of this world, worldliness had us blinded to the things of God. We also used to walk according to Satan (most of us just didn’t realise it) who is the prince of the power of the air. His spirit works in the children of disobedience (just as it use to work in us). We must realise that this spirit is working in those who don’t know Christ.

Our old life was living in the lusts of our flesh. We fulfilled the desires of our flesh and mind. We had a carnal mind. By nature we were the children of wrath (think on that one). All those who haven’t yet turned to Christ, are by nature children of wrath. (His word says so)

BUT GOD, (I love that) who is rich in mercy. Yes He is! His mercy was over us all the time we were outside the arc of safety. Just as His mercy is still upon all those that have yet to come to the cross and receive forgiveness.

It’s still the day of His mercy! How much longer? We don’t know.
Oh His great love wherewith He has loved us!
It’s still the day of His love!

And get this, He loved us even while we were yet sinners. Even while we were still dead in trespasses and sins. Remember that, the next time you see someone who so desperately needs God. God still loves them even while they are dead in sins.

God has quickened us together with Christ. The lost need to be “quickened” (made alive).
By His Grace we were saved! It’s still the only way! Through His Grace! One way!

He raised us up (Resurrected us) together (Christ and us) and made us to sit with Him in heavenly places in Christ Jesus. Talk about fellowship! That’s it!

In the coming ages, He will show us His exceeding riches of His grace, His kindness to us through Christ Jesus.

For we are saved by grace through faith. (It’s just that magnificent!) We are not saved by ourselves. Nothing we did, or can do can save us. It’s truly a gift from God: Not of works, why? So we can’t boast. We have nothing to boast of.

We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus. For what? To do good works, which God ordained before time that we should walk in them. Hallelujah ! We were created to do good works, not saved by doing them. Some want to say that there is no place for works. I say yes there is. His word says so. It a joy to do good works. To God be the glory! Faith without works is dead.

Let us never forget, in times past we were heathen in the flesh. Spiritually uncircumcised. When we were without Christ, we were strangers from the covenants of promise. We had no hope. We were without God. Void.

BUT NOW, (I love that) we are in Christ Jesus. And yes, there are many others that need to be in Christ Jesus also! In fact, I believe many are just waiting for someone to show them the way.

We were far away from God. But, we are made nigh by the blood of Christ (Oh, The blood that bought us!).

For Christ is our peace. He reconciled us back to God, through himself. He broke down the wall between us and God. That wall was the wall of sin. The barrier between us and God.

By His flesh, Christ abolished the enmity (the hostility, the opposition, the hatred) because of sin, between us and God. He also abolished the Ceremonial Law with all the ordinances (how would you like to keep all those?).

We are made one new man in Christ, thus making peace.

Through Christ we are reconciled to God, by the cross. By His death on the cross, He slew the enmity (the hostility, the opposition, the hatred). And not only that, but it preaches to us peace, even while we were yet sinners, afar off.

And check this out! Through Christ we have access by one Spirit to our Father, God. We are no more strangers and foreigners, we were, but no more! We are now fellowcitizens with all the saints (down through all the ages) in the household of God.

Let us rescue all the “strangers and foreigners” out there! Why? Because we were one ourselves. Who rescued us?

This “household of God” is built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone. All the building, all of the church, fitly framed together grows to be a holy temple in the Lord.

In the Lord, we also are builded together. Why? For an habitation (a dwelling place) of God. How? Through the Spirit. Praise Him!

Let us never forget where we came from. The pit we were dug from. Let us never forget those who have yet to come to Christ. Just like we were, lost. Let us not forget it.

Oh the riches of Christ waiting to be bestowed upon lost humanity! Oh the mercy that is being bestowed upon them!

May we pray and seek those who are just like what we were (children of wrath) before we came to Christ.
Father lead us to those, I pray.

Amen

10 Responses to “The Blessing of Remembrance”

  1. mcalmond Says:

    Good post! Full of truths and the richness of the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ.

    You also wrote: “Let us never forget where we came from. The pit we were dug from. Let us never forget those who have yet to come to Christ. Just like we were, lost. Let us not forget it.”

    This is vitally important for us all who are in the Lord Jesus Christ! We must never forget where we have been saved from nor are we to ever forget where and unto whom we have been saved for.

    Thank you for your faithfully presenting the Gospel message and truths of the Lord Jesus Christ!

    Blessings in the Lord Jesus Christ!

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Your welcome Phil,

    I’m glad you were blessed.

    Lord willing, we will see you in Scotland this May.

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  3. Scotti Says:

    Beautifully written and inspiring! I marvel at the fact that we are citizens of heaven! Wow! Oh, how I have to remind myself of that truth daily. Praise the Lord for this timely reminder of who we are in Christ!
    Scotti

  4. totaltransformation Says:

    Excellent post!

  5. Dave Says:

    Amen Richard!

    In His grace,

    Dave

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Scotti,

    I’m glad you were blessed.

    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks totaltransformation,

    May you continue to be blessed in your post writing.

    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Dave,

    I enjoy your posts also.

    Thanks for checking out mine.

    Much Grace to you this day,
    Richard

  9. Micky Says:

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  10. rjperalta Says:

    Micky,
    Wonderful testimony. It is awesome to hear what God has done in your life. Keep drawing close to Him.

    His Grace to you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

