This is where the journey begins

Recently, I have been tired and weary a lot while ministering downtown. I just figured that I needed to get more sleep at night and that would soon take care of it.

This week, Susan and I met with a brother and sister in the Lord. While visiting with them, they both said that I looked tired and that the spiritual forces from the enemy where taking their tole on me.

All three of them said that I needed more prayer and that more people should be praying for me while I’m down there. I agreed with them.

Yesterday, I was downtown and I sensed a real need for prayer. I had done a lot of prayer walking in the past, however in the last two month’s I have been slacking a bit.

So, I got off the bus and pictured in my mind, walking a large square area of downtown. I started from one corner and continued to walk a six block square area. I ended up at the same corner that I had started at.

As I was approaching the corner, I looked up above the corner and saw a sign that read, “This is where the journey begins”. I smiled and went over and stood underneath the sign and prayed.

My journey (my ministry for the day) had started with prayer. And what a difference it made as the day went on. I could see The Spirit moving upon people as The Gospel went forth in power.

And the other blessing? I had more physical strength and stamina then I have had in a long time.

Praise God for I was reminded that the journey must begin with prayer.

16 Responses to “This is where the journey begins”

  1. mcalmond Says:

    Amen Richard. It isn’t enough that we have others also praying for us, as valuable as this truly is, if we ourselves are not convinced that we must be men of prayer, of earnest prayer, of faithful and unyielding prayer. Prayer is most vital to and for us all who serve our Lord and Savior in this life.

    It is like the Word of God. Far too many do not realize that in Spirit and in Truth, they cannot afford to not be in and of the living and alive Word of God daily. It is our daily manna. Too many do not realize that they *need (*that which is essential for life and living) the Word of God each and every day.

    Prayer is equal to this. Without a steady diet of faithful and diligent prayer, we will grow weaker and weaker, even with a steady diet of the Word of God. It is equally true, that even with a steady diet of prayer, faithful steadfast prayer, without the corresponding steady diet of the Living Word of God, we will also grow weaker and weaker.

    We must be men of both, of a faithful and earnest prayer life along with a faithful and earnest Word of God life. It isn’t either or, it is both, and.

    Blessings in the Lord Jesus Christ to you Sir Richard of the Portland Streets!

  2. totaltransformation Says:

    “prayer walking”

    What is that? I am curious.

  3. timbob Says:

    Greetings. “Sir Richard of the Portland Streets.” I’m starting to get a picture of the various blogger family structures. (I’m a little slow on these things) Truly the effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much and while I had never heard the term “prayer walking” I practice it in a desire to stay in continuous contact with the Lord. I would like to say that I’m always successful, but the imagination breaks in a lot more often than I would like. Nonetheless, we keep pressing on. Thanks for posting. I will continue to keep you all in prayer.
    Have a great day in Christ.

    timbob

  4. rjperalta Says:

    mcalmond,

    Thanks for your encourgement to be both men of prayer and The Word. So true we need both everyday!

    God bless you Phil,

    Richard

  5. rjperalta Says:

    totaltransformation,

    What is prayer walking?

    Basically, it can be as simple as walking and praying as you go, or as detailed as walking an area that God has laid upon your heart and has given you specifics to pray about. Such as to do spiritual warfare as you walk.

    Probably, most of you reading this have done this many times before, you just haven’t heard of it called, “prayer walking”.

    I used to do it downtown when I was a new Christian years ago. I never heard of “prayer walking” back then.

    We first heard of it when we met a man named, “Henry Gruver” a few years back. He has prayer walked all over the world, with amazing results.

    Continue on in your prayer walking,
    Be blessed,
    Richard

  6. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,

    Thanks for you comment.

    Yes, the mind does break in from time to time, doesn’t it?

    Thanks for your prayers,
    Greatly appreciated,

    Richard

  7. totaltransformation Says:

    Thanks for the answer. Appreciate it.

  8. rjperalta Says:

    totaltransformation,

    You’re welcome.

    Grace to ya,
    Richard

  9. Faithwalk Says:

    The journey begins with prayer, I really like that. I might just have to change my tag line or whatever it’s called.

    Bless you dearest, I look forward to being able to go with you again soon.
    I love you and am praying for you even more now while you’re out there!

    May the Lord be with you, His angels surround you, His love enfold you and protect you! There are awesome days ahead!

    Susan

  10. rjperalta Says:

    I’m looking forward to you coming out again also.
    Thank you!
    Thanks for your prayers.

    AND YES, AWESOME DAYS ARE AHEAD!

    I love you,
    Richard

  11. Dave Says:

    Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.

    Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

    Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

    Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

    If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

    Oh Father God, I humble myself before you now and ask that you forgive my iniquity and my rebellious heart and give me strength to walk righteously in your ways. I ask that in the name of your Son, Jesus that you would hear my fervent prayer, that you would allow me to lift up to you Richard your dear son. I ask Lord that you would continue to provide for him in his spirit and in his body, that you would keep him healthy and allow him to rest in you, Lord. Lord, you tell us that we are to pick up our cross for you and to die daily in your name, Lord and that your strength is sufficient, Lord so we thank you for allowing us to walk humbly and with all meekness, for we know that what we do in your name we do it with your strength and not our own, for yours be all the glory. But Lord, I pray that you will continue to bless Richards’ ministry to you, that you would continue to open doors for him and use him in mighty ways. I thank you Lord that you have led me to his online witness and to be strengthened and encouraged by it. I thank you Lord that you have shown me that, there are often times, when we forget and or neglect the power of prayer and that we are often attacked and effected by the enemy who is active and daily against us. Let us never forget this Lord, let us never get complacent of just how real the enemy is and how we are constantly under his attacks. Let us wake each morning Lord to meet you first and to pray and to ask for much needed strength, for our witness, for our evangelism, for our daily routines and to protect us against temptation. Lord, I pray now, picturing my hands upon your dear child Richard, my brother in Christ, I pray that you will fill him with peace and power, fill him with your assurance, fill him with your love and patience, empower him by your spirit Lord and continue to grow him in the likeness of your son Jesus Christ and it is only through Jesus and by His name that I pray all this. Amen.

    Richard, never lose hope brother and keep doing a good work for His name sake. May His presence be with you always and may we all be reminded that the journey does begin with powerful prayer!

    Thank you,

    Y.B.I.C,

    Dave

  12. rjperalta Says:

    Dave,

    God bless you brother.
    I am so blessed to have a brother like you.
    Thank you for the timely scriptures and the rich prayers.
    You’re encouragement is a great blessing to me.

    May you be encouraged and strengthen this day,
    In Jesus name,
    Richard

  13. Michelle Says:

    Good point. Needs to being with prayer…and you should let people know when your headed out DT…we can pray for you 🙂

    Love you!

  14. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Shel,

    And thanks for your prayers.

    Pray for me DT. Pretty much five days a week. Glory to God.

    Grace to you this day,
    Dad

  15. Anne Moyer Says:

    May God continue to give you the stamina and the desire to be about His business. Just said a quick prayer for safety on your journey(s) and the boldness you obvious have in the Lord. A M E N!

  16. rjperalta Says:

    Anne,
    Thanks so much !
    Very timely reply.

    May God be with you also,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

