Is street preaching for today?

Yesterday I had a guy come up to me and say, “don’t you know that street preaching on the corner is a thing of the past?” “It might have worked years ago, but not now”.

I said to him, “Oh really, I don’t think so”. Then we smiled at each other and he walked off.

From what I have gathered, most Christians would probably agree with this guy. From time to time, I have talked to those who have likewise expressed their feeling that it is a thing of the past. But there have been many who have afterwards thanked me, encouraging me to keep on as it has touched their lives.

My first question would have to be, “What has been your experience with street preaching?” And I would also ask, “What have you seen with your own eyes and heard with your own ears that makes you feel this way?”

Now I will have to honestly admit, that I have seen and heard some street preachers that I have had questions about. But God has taught me to pray for them even if I don’t understand their style or approach. The main thing is, are they preaching the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ?

Back to the question, “Is street preaching for today?”
My personal testimony and experience says a loud, YES!

I have seen the Spirit of God move daily upon people as His word goes forth, and people listen and The Holy Spirit moves upon their heart. They will come up and ask questions etc. Some will ask for prayer. Many times, I will see a person off in the distance listening. Then finally they will come up and take a tract from me (I pass them out as I’m preaching). I have had countless experiences such as this. It is awesome to see The Spirit of God move upon their hearts.

One experience that comes to my mind is as follows:
This man had been listening for a while, and he finally came up and took a tract. I watched him out of the corner of my eye as I continued to share.

He walked about a half block up the street, then found a doorway to a building and stood there as if to hide. I saw him reading the tract from front to back.

Now, I will never know for sure what happen that day, but I believe God was dealing with him, and it was good.

I have seen others with tears in their eyes come up to share with me as to what God was doing in their lives. And there have been those who have prayed and come into the Kingdom as the Holy Spirit drew them to Christ. I feel the angels rejoicing in heaven when they are saved!

All I can say is, that it is truly awesome to see the power of God move upon the human heart. I would not trade it for anything.

In my opinion, YES, street preaching is alive (by The Spirit) and well.
To God be the glory!
May He raise up many others in the coming days, particularly young people.
Praise HIM!
Amen.

44 Responses to “Is street preaching for today?”

  1. Pastor Chris Says:

    I’ve not found street preaching effective where I live in Virginia, though I find it effective when I’m on the mission field in Latin America. Cultural acceptance of the notion helps. I’ve tried in in Austria with little known effect. However, Latin America is different, for more reasons that I can explain here.

    I’ve seen effective communicators on the streets in urban centers and college campuses, but have seen more lousy ones than useful. Most I’ve seen condemn anybody and anything for any reason and are little more than magnets for ridicule, criticism, and vitriol.

    Pastor Chris
    EvangelismCoach.org

  2. augustrose Says:

    I have to say, my mission field is behind a keyboard and among the people I interact with daily. I have to take my hat off to those who are effectively reaching the lost and hurting with the Fantastic News of Jesus Christ. Whatever it takes. Even if you only won one, that one is worth it all.

    I believe God honors our efforts. We are responsible to tell them, to compel them and show them the way. I heard about a guy that would tear scriptures out of his Bible and hand them to people. He had a guy get saved that got the scripture that says “Methuselah lived 969 years and he died.” (Genesis 5:27) The guy figured if someone could live that long there must be a God. So, again, case in point, I believe God will use whatever we will give Him to work with.

    Keep up the great work! I don’t know if you’ve made any posts about people you’ve let to the Lord but we’d love to hear the triumphs. Even if you tell us you led three people to the Lord, that would be great (and a great reminder).

    God bless your work, Brother! Keep on!

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Pastor Chris,

    Thanks for your comment.

    We must remember that one person helped in any of our evangelistic efforts is worth it all.

    Interesting about Latin America. It doesn’t surprise me about Austria.
    I have been to several different countries, but have only street preached in one, Scotland. We hope to go back soon and do some more.

    I can relate to your comment about those who seemly “condemn anybody and anything for any reason…..ridicule, criticism and vitriol”.

    Just this last week I ran into one of those. My prayers went out to him, along with asking God for grace to endure listening to him. It’s really sad.

    I am not one of those, by God’s grace. I find that it is top importance to make sure we are preaching The Gospel and that we do it in love.
    “speak the truth in love”. That doesn’t mean it’s to be “mushy-mushy”, but in the spirit of love. They know when it’s God love (the single most powerful force in the universe) or not. I have seen the effects of this, it’s powerful and awesome.

    God bless you, and His Grace to you,
    Richard

  4. totaltransformation Says:

    Don’t be discouraged. Many don’t like street preachers for the same reason they don’t like Christ. The street preacher confronts them with their peril and their path to salvation and it convicts them of the evil in their own life. They would much prefer if you simply worshiped in church one day a week, studied your bible in a closet somewhere, and left them alone on their path to destruction. Keep up the excellent work for Christ.

  5. mcalmond Says:

    What ultimately is vital isn’t the form with which we serve, but the hearts with which we serve the Lord Jesus Christ, in spirit and in truth. It is also crucial that we are genuinely doing that which the Lord Jesus has called us to, for his greater glory, honor, and praise.

    Keep doing what the Lord has called you to do and do it all with His heart for all.

    Blessings in the Lord Jesus Christ!

  6. timbob Says:

    Greetings. This is going to sound nutty perhaps. When I was living in Virginia, I fellowshipped with a church that, every Saturday night, they went street preaching. I loved it! I also remember all of us going along the ocean front in Virginia beach; sharing the gospel to any who would listen. Then returning to the church and praying; one night until around 3:00am. I miss it like you cannot imagine. Was it effective? The method may have been questionable, but “I LOVED IT!”
    To do that which the Lord has placed on our heart is the right thing to do. Even if it doesn’t meet the criteria of “common sense.”
    have a great week in Christ Jesus.

    timbob

  7. rjperalta Says:

    augustrose,

    Yes, whatever we are called to do, and wherever we are called to do it, may it be so.
    Awesome, regarding Methuselah and the Bible pages. We just never know do we.

    I don’t have any actual posts regarding the people that have come to Christ. If I feel led and someone or some experience comes to mind, I will try and share it.

    I have led some to Christ, but most of the time it’s seed planting and watering. I do believe there have been many, I just don’t get to see the results, for now anyways.

    Someday it will be worth it all.
    Thanks for your comments.

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  8. rjperalta Says:

    totaltransformation,

    Oh so true!
    It’s not the non-believers that trouble me.
    It’s the believers that do.

    Thanks for your encouragement,
    Grace to you,
    Richard

  9. rjperalta Says:

    Amen Phil,

    And yes, I’m thankful that God only truly knows our hearts and our motives.
    So true, we must be called.
    Thanks for your encouragement and prayers.

    Grace to you this day,
    Richard

  10. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,

    Your Virginia experience sounds good to me. Where do I sign up?

    Keep praying, God will give you the desires of your heart.

    “To do what God has planted upon our hearts is the right thing”

    A big, Amen!

    Thanks,
    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  11. faithwalk Says:

    As you know, I have been the recipient of some of the calls that have come in where someone on the other end of the line is thanking me for what you are doing out there, sharing how their lives were touched. It is SO much more than street preaching!!!
    You may not have street preached in Asia, but don’t forget there are new believers there because of your obedience to witness, hand out tracts in their language and pray with them.

    I know you are hesitant to tell some of the great stories ( being the wonderfully humble guy that you truly are), but you really should. It would be a blessing and encouragement to others.
    Your kindness and genuine concern for the souls of men and women bless my heart! I love you, and God loves you even more! Hard to believe I know, but He does! 😉

    May our precious Lord Jesus bless, strengthen and encourage your heart!

    Susan

  12. faithwalk Says:

    Hey Timbob, why don’t you come visit us sometime? You could go out for a refreshing time of ministry on the streets. Our home is always open and you are always welcome! 🙂
    Seriously! If you ever have a hankering to come out to the beautiful Northwest just drop us line.

    Blessings to you!

    Susan

  13. Scotti Says:

    Hi Richard – keep standing firm in your calling!

    Romans 10:14-15 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

    My pastor gave a great sermon on Sunday about Jesus meeting the woman at the well. He met her while she was going about her daily routine. The sermon is called ‘A Wake Up Call’ based on John 4:15-22 and is mostly about finding satisfaction in Jesus alone rather than things of the world. But I just love the fact that Jesus met the Samaratin woman as she was going about her daily activities. Jesus sure did a lot of street preaching during his earthly ministry! Here is the link to the sermon if anyone is interested. http://nwf.ccbchurch.com/app/

    May the grace of the Lord Jesus continue to be with you. Amen.
    Scotti

  14. timbob Says:

    Greetings Susan and Richard. I would love to be out there with you folks. I know that things can work out when we least expect it and this is something that; believe it or not, I have prayed about. The natural mind doesn’t see any possibility but we know that the things which are seen are not as things really are. I have and am in prayer that this summer I could meet some folks that I only know through blogging at the moment. The plant shuts down for two weeks in the summer; unless the bottom falls out of the economy which could make it shut down a lot faster. Our lives are so busy; even during shutdown, but God has ways of placing folks where they’re supposed to be. Well I need to run as this day is of the hectic variety.
    have a great day in Christ.

    timbob

  15. Dave Says:

    While I am not a street preacher I do know a street preacher. I work at lifeWay Christian bookstore in Chesapeake, Virginia and we have a regular guy come in, mostly during the evenings for tracts and other materials. Every time he sees me, he gets excited because he knows that I pray for him and that I’m actually interested in his ministry. But the first thing out of his mouth is always how many people have professed Jesus as their savior to him sense I last saw him. He gets so excited and happy when he talks about the people that the Lord has brought to him to preach too. He’s very encouraging to me and a strong witness that street evangelism is alive and well in Hampton Roads Virginia. His name is Carl and he is a street preacher. He’s in his 50’s, he’s black, not very attractive, but has a super wide smile and a nice soft, deep voice. He doesn’t dress in expensive cloths but he often wears a sports jacket with his tie slightly loose and crooked. He prays and he preaches and he loves Christ.

    In His grace,

    Dave

  16. rjperalta Says:

    Thank you,
    My dear wife, Susan.

    May the good Lord be with you,
    And cause His face to shine upon you,

    Hub

  17. rjperalta Says:

    Thank you, Scotti

    I love that scripture.
    And yes, Jesus did meet her while she was going about her daily duties.
    May God help us all to be faithful wherever we are in a given day.

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  18. rjperalta Says:

    Yes timbob,
    May the will of the Lord be done.
    He does divinely direct and put together those He chooses.

    In Christ, may you be blessed,
    Richard

  19. rjperalta Says:

    Dave,

    Sounds like a precious brother.
    Thanks for sharing that with me.
    I will pray for him.

    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  20. rindy Says:

    I love these posts on your street preaching! I finished Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne and wanted to get right out there. It is so awesome what you are doing! I am keeping all opportunities to reach out open…keep it up!

  21. Darrel Says:

    I am not against street preaching. I know it works in international contexts because I have seen it work. However, I wonder if it is effective in our culture?

    I met some guys around Christmas of last year who practice street preaching. They use the Way of the Master techniques – which are good – when they preach. I went out with them and handed out tracts at a local Christmas parade.

    I saw them proclaim the law and bring people under conviction, but they didn’t proceed much further than that. There was no invitaton to trust Christ…no explaination of the good news, only the bad news.

    Whenever you ask these guys how many people came to Christ as a result of their ministry that day, they reply with the mystical – “only God knows” comment.

    I am not trying to poo poo on anyone, but I wonder if they are doing more harm than good.

  22. faithwalk Says:

    Darrel, I have to say that I personally do not like the Way of the Master program. It tends to immediately put people on the defensive making it difficult for the Holy Spirit to reach their hearts.

    Just last night another 27 year old man came to the Lord as Richard ministered Gods love to him. Does he preach repentance from sin, yes! But always from the place of, “God so loved the world…” that’s you and me, “that He gave His only begotten Son…”

    You can preach it straight but with love. People can tell if you actually care about their souls or are just looking for another notch on your belt.

    Bless you brother! If you ever want to try street evangelism, being led by the Holy Spirit is much more effective once we get our agendas out of the way, and let Jesus do the work by His grace and Spirit flowing through us.

    He is so very faithful!

  23. rjperalta Says:

    rindy,

    Thanks for your encouragement.
    I will have to take a look at that book.
    May you be led by His Spirit as you share Christ to the lost.

    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  24. rjperalta Says:

    Darrel,

    Well, as I said in my post, it does work when God’s Spirit is moving upon them as The Gospel is going forth.

    Yes, it is concerning if we see just the law going out with no Good News following.

    As far as your comment, “ask these guys how many came to Christ?”
    They replied, “only God knows”.
    Our approval, or success in evangelizing should not be measured by how many came to Christ that day. If we are not careful we can come under the numbers game.

    What we so easily forget is that, “some water, some plant, but God gives the increase”. You may spend hours sharing the Gospel in a given day, and seeing no visual results. Does that mean that it was all for naught?

    I say no way. Many times while preaching, people will come up and take a tract, stuff it in there pocket and take off. Who are we to say that that night they didn’t read it and turn to Christ? Or maybe that brought them one step closer. Six weeks later, he or she heard The Gospel on the radio and gave their heart to God.

    We must remember that God gives the increase in His timing. We may or may not, get the privilege of seeing the increase.

    In the end, we must pray for those out there that may be doing something different then what we agree with. We are all different and there are many different people out there to be reached.

    May God bless you in your efforts for His Kingdom.
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Richard

  25. jeanetteb1 Says:

    Hey, Richard!!

    I’d reckon you have beautiful feet!!
    “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace, who bring glad tiding of good things!!” (Rom 10:15)

    God will bless you… REAL GOOD!!!

  26. rjperalta Says:

    Well,
    If the word of God says that my feet are beautiful, then I guess they are. Praise God for beautiful feet!

    Thanks so much,
    Bless you,
    Richard

  27. Darrel Says:

    Richard,
    I don’t believe that evangelism is all about numbers so please don’t misunderstand. However, the book of Acts quotes numbers of conversions several times which tells me that numbers do concern God. There is a fine line between the numbers game, and a genuine desire to report what God has done.

    When the good news is proclaimed in the power of the Holy Spirit, people do come to Christ. Whether that is on the spot, or months later is up ot God. The problem with the street preachers that I know is that you never hear them say that they have seen anyone come to Christ. To quote a quaint old southern expression, “even a blind squirrel finds a walnut every now and then.”

  28. bryansbunch Says:

    Obviously, this topic is a passion for many. Thanks for the comment on “myspace makes me sick”. I agree, it is just a window to the lost. I appreciate your stand for spreading the word wherever God leads you. I believe street preaching is as effective for you as relational evangelism is for me. God gives each one of us unique and awesome gifts to be used in a variety of places and ways. The goal for each…to see people saved. Keep up the work and consider adding me to your blogroll. Thanks brother.

  29. Ben Maulis Says:

    If we are to speak not of ourselves, but to seek his glory that sent us, then we ought to stand in his counsel, and cause his people to hear his word. Seeing as how God has given us his word, his spirit and his commandment, we ought to obey.

    Our motivation is not to see people saved. Jesus did not come to seek and to save people just to save them, just for their sake, just to improve their eternal circumstances. The purpose of our gospel is not the pleasure and happiness of man — no, not in this world neither in the world to come. The end of Christ’s suffering is not “after-life enhancement.” Yes, through faith in Christ sinners can escape the wrath to come, but our escape is not the end of or the purpose of the Lord’s salvation.

    The sinner thinks he exists for his own pleasure. Hearing of the wrath of an angry God that is against him causes him to believe that this report is untrue or that God is irrational because as far as he’s concerned, he’s basically a good person.

    Only through a careful examination of the law, we become sincerely convicted. If we humble ourselves and repent, God is merciful to us and perfectly just in forgiving us because Christ was wounded for our transgressions, he bore our iniquities, he who knew no sin was made sin for us that we might be made the righteousness of God in him, and therefore God is the justifier of him that believes on Jesus.

    The justified sinner now has the option of believing that God too exists for his pleasure. After all, God just revealed to him a major personal problem and offered a complete solution free of charge: a Personal Savior. Therefore the distinction between the sinner and the justified sinner is that the one remains in pride of heart and denial, while the other has humbly accepted “the cure.” He is now free to be happy in this life and the life to come. The purpose for all of it is his happiness and pleasure. The primary distinction between the Sinner and the Evangelical Humanist is that one’s expectation of happiness is temporal whereas the other’s is eternal.

    The Lord says that he will be found of them that seek not for him, and that he has stretched out his hand to a rebellious people. Amen, amen, there is none that doeth good or seeketh after God. This is why Jesus said that none can no one can come unto him except it were given unto them of his Father. A soul that is born again of the will of God will see the Kingdom of God – not the Kingdom of the Justified Sinner. It’s God’s kingdom and everything exists for his glory.

    We do not preach a false hope. If the Lord’s salvation comes to those who hear his word, then the Lord has done this thing and who can resist his hand?

    Jesus said, “For this cause came I into the world, that I might bear witness of the truth. Everyone that is of the truth, hears my voice.” He also said to some, “He that is of God heareth God’s words: ye therefore hear them not, because ye are not of God.”

  30. rjperalta Says:

    Darrel,

    All I can say regarding “numbers”, is that God truly only knows the motivation of our heart.
    And yes, Acts does have numbers.
    Amen, people do come to Christ when the Holy Spirit is there.
    I like that quote.

    Thanks for your comment,
    May you continue in Him,
    Richard

  31. rjperalta Says:

    bryansbunch,

    Yes, I have been very surprised at the amount of comments on this post.
    Amen brother, we must be faithful in what God has called us to.

    Thanks for your comment,
    Grace to you,
    Richard

  32. rjperalta Says:

    Ben Maulis,

    Brother, I know what you saying in your comment, but how does it address the question of the post, “Is street preaching for today?”. Just need some clarification. Thanks.

    Thanks for stopping by,
    Much Grace to you,
    Richard

  33. Ben Maulis Says:

    I was addressing both the question and the responses, but if I can address the question more directly I will do so. Specifically, we are commanded to preach to the people and to testify that it is Jesus which was ordained of God to be the Judge of quick and dead. To him give all the prophets witness, that through his name whosoever believeth in him shall receive remission of sins.

    The example given to us by Jesus himself, and all the prophets from the bible show us that we ought to preach publicly and house to house. Jesus specifically commands his followers not to hide their testimony and not to be ashamed of him and of his words. I am not ashamed.

    David writes, “I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart. I have preached righteousness in the great congregation: lo, I have not refrained my lips, O LORD, thou knowest. I have not hid thy righteousness within my heart; I have declared thy faithfulness and thy salvation: I have not concealed thy lovingkindness and thy truth from the great congregation.” Psalm 40:8-10

    The world has not changed so that the example given us from the scriptures is no longer applicable – specifically the example of street preaching, lifting up ones voice in public, crying aloud, rebuking and reproving in the gate.

    The Word of God tells us, “The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun. Is there any thing whereof it may be said, See, this is new? it hath been already of old time, which was before us.” Furthermore, it is written that God sent his Son when the fullness of time was come. It should be evident that God foreknew the times, and that there would not be some future development that would make Christ’s example obsolete.

    One can certainly see that Christ’s coming in the flesh happened at just the right convergence of linguistic, political, economic, technological, societal, and cultural developments in time so as to ensure both his message and example would be timeless and eternal.

    “Wisdom crieth without; she uttereth her voice in the streets: She crieth in the chief place of concourse, in the openings of the gates: in the city she uttereth her words…” Proverbs 1:20-21

    The best thing that could happen is not the invention of some new evangelism method. Rather we need many street preachers to come to maturity so they can both credibly espouse the method among the church, and subsequently raise up disciples to follow them. Instead, we have much of the church throwing off the preponderance of scriptural example claiming “it doesn’t work.” Few men grow to maturity in public ministry and no wonder, living examples for them to follow are scarce.

    “Doth not wisdom cry? and understanding put forth her voice? She standeth in the top of high places, by the way in the places of the paths. She crieth at the gates, at the entry of the city, at the coming in at the doors. Unto you, O men, I call; and my voice is to the sons of man.” Proverbs 8:1-4

  34. Ben Maulis Says:

    This article also addresses the question very thoroughly:
    http://www.soulwinning.info/sp/lessons/01.htm

  35. rjperalta Says:

    Ben Maulis,

    Thanks for your clarification. I agree with your post.

    Some concern would be, “and subsequently raise up disciples to follow them”?

    I listened to a couple of your videos on your site. Has God also led you to other areas such as parks, bus stops, shopping areas were more people might be gathering?
    I like how God has led you to blow the trumpet, before preaching. Awesome.

    I’m glad we have met in cyber world.
    Grace to you,
    Richard

  36. rjperalta Says:

    Ben,

    Thanks for the site on “street preaching”. All I had time to read was lesson #1. It was good.

    I believe we need to be careful in our preaching. It seems to me that some
    I have seen, almost seek to be abhorred or seek to be rebuked. It is as though they judge there success by these. Whither or not they stir up the crowd or not.

    We should certainly not seek to be rude or obnoxious in our preaching. Some seem to be trying to be this way. What spirit we are of certainly comes out in our preaching. If we are angry, frustrated etc. it will come out.

    I preach “Repentance” and also on “Sin”, but we must follow it with The Gospel of Christ. What good does it do to get stuck on “Repentance” or “Sin” and not finish with God’s love in sending His Son as a sacrifice (atonement) for our sins.

    The Gospel is not The Gospel without God’s love.

    Bless you, brother
    Richard

  37. Ben Maulis Says:

    I am not sure what your concern is about raising up disciples. This is the great commission. I certainly do not mean the disciples should follow the man to the exclusion of Christ. We do follow the elders in the church in the context of the ministry, including street preaching (1 Cor. 11:1). Paul wrote to follow him as he follows Christ. Street preachers should raise up other street preachers if it is by any means possible.

    I believe one of the reasons many street preachers are so novice is that they believe their ministry should be born in the wilderness, but the word of God says that the wise man loves instruction.

    The video you see on my website is made in the busiest parts of town. During winter, the parks are almost abandoned. Summer is coming and we’ll have a few more people outside.

    These are small towns here. Gardnerville is just over 3000 people. I have also preached in San Francisco, Santa Cruz, San Jose, and Philadelphia, but the Carson Valley is my focus right now.

    The street preacher should not be angry in his ministry, neither should he strive with men to no end. Verily God is angry with the wicked every day, but we are not to speak of ourselves.

    I am not suggesting that man should never be angry, but that the unrestrained display of this anger in preaching has no place. Zeal and fervency are good, but uncontrolled emotion is out of place. Public preachers throughout the scriptures proclaimed many fierce words, but there is never an indication that they did so in an unrestrained loss of temper.

    Even when John used such words as “Ye generation of vipers…” it should not be read that this great prophet was mad, foaming at the mouth and gnashing his teeth. Nay, rather I suggest it is the officious manner of the prophets that drove their opponents to madness and provoked them such that being weak through sin they were unable to control themselves.

    Further consider the example of Stephen and note that the street preacher should have full control of himself. The crowd may very well be provoked to insane madness, but the preacher should remain calm, a pillar, rooted and grounded in the truth.

    Outbursts of wrath, hatred, variance, emulations, and strife are the fruit of the flesh. Preaching in such a manner is fleshly. The word of God says, “Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice.” He furthermore instructs us, “But now ye also put off all these; anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy communication out of your mouth.” Amen, amen, “For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God.”

    God has called those who believe to rebuke, reprove, and exhort sinners and not merely abstract sin. Nevertheless, “the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all [men], apt to teach, patient, in meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth; And [that] they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will.”

    I find it useful to consider how the little ones (children) respond to me. Children should not be scared of the street preacher. We are announcing to all the world that the day of the Lord is coming in the which evil doers would be punished with everlasting destruction and the righteous will be upheld by the great power and glory of God. The only people that have any reason to be scared, fearful or offended were the wicked evil doers. They are usually not scared no matter how menacing the preacher is, because the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom and they are lacking.

    Sin and wickedness and evil in the world should be concerning to our little ones, not the preachers. Preachers should be the stalwart towers of righteousness that stand for the name of the Lord wherein children may find safety and security. The prophets should be such living examples of Christ that little ones should want to flee the corruption of the world and to be held in the arms of the Jesus whom these heroes of God preach.

  38. rjperalta Says:

    Ben,

    Thanks for your return comment.

    By all means we should be raising up disciples to follow Christ and His teachings. I agree we can follow others to some extent, but need to be careful that we don’t follow man instead of Christ, that’s what my concern was. And yes, instruction is good.

    Wow, that would be real different being in a town that small. But, I’m sure that is where God has called you. It could be a town of 10 people, then what? Oh my.

    Good teaching. Thank you.

    May God’s Grace continue to be with you,
    Richard

  39. bobby` Says:

    street preaching is only for those obedient to the great commisssion.
    the rest can justify their lack of response to the words of christ. (yeah, really)

    certainly, we are not all not called to street minisrty but why would anyone try to hindered others by saying it is not for today. remember, faith comes by hearing and hearing comes by preaching and preachers are sent so yes street preaching is for today.

  40. rjperalta Says:

    bobby,
    So be it.
    Thanks for your encouraging response.

    May God bless you with abundant Grace,
    Richard

  41. keijo Says:

    The lord looked down from his sanctuary on high, from heaven he wieved the earth.”Joy and joy for we are not alone, whole the heavenly angels host will watch and watch on us when we will fight.So many men has lost his souls to evil power and for darkness has taked over whole the world.So now we most win them to backs to the Lord and to light.may God´s hand were with us and give new pouring of the Holy Spirit on all flesh now,pray for blessed revival soon.Thanks and bles an dlove.keijo sweden

  42. rjperalta Says:

    keijo,
    Amen, may it be so.
    We are certainly not alone. And yes, we will fight, by His grace.
    Lord help us to see the lost as you see them.

    Thanks for your reply,
    Grace to you,
    Richard

  43. Oldtimer Says:

    Thanks for commenting on one of my posts. Not so much as it was a compliment but more so because it allowed me to find your site as well. I admit that, once here, I clicked on “street people” expecting to find homeless when I found this post.

    I’m much too shy to preach on a street corner, but I wholeheartedly agree that it is effective and encouraged by our commission. Let me give you a couple of examples where I know it worked even though I did not hear the sermon myself.

    I recently gave a talk to our Men’s Breakfast meeting at our church on the homeless. One of the attendies turned out to be a homeless person himself, having been invited from a local shelter. He volunteered to gave a brief testamony at the end. He said he had been homeless in Atlanta for years and had a bad alcohol and drug problem that he could not overcome. He had gone to a corner where he heard there was food and help.

    There was a street preacher and he “got the message,” said he thought the man had singled him out from the hundreds of homeless there, and later the man asked him what else he needed. He was taken to a nearby city to dry out and get counseling, then enrolled in a transitional shelter in my city. He was talking the Lord and Salvation the whole time. Since then he has come to our church on Sundays after asking if anyone could pick him up.

    Last month I attened a workshop and mentioned this story as part of a group setting. A visitor there said it sounded like someone he knew. Turned out it was one of his companions that was the street preacher and he (the visitor) knew the homeless person now personally. Small world. Don’t let anyone tell you that these are concidences. God is at work through these street preachers. They do read the tracts, they do listen… all it takes is the Holy Spirit to decide they are truly believers and convict them of that.

    I also have a good friend that takes several weeks off several times a year to go out of the country to street preach and minsiter in the islands in Latin America. He says that hundreds have come to the Lord each time he goes. Thee is a hunger out there for the opportunity to hear the Word. I know of others that have gone with him that are highly energized by the experience.

    Grace and Peace

    Oldtimer

  44. rjperalta Says:

    Oldtimer,

    Thanks for your encouragement!
    I do truly know that “street preaching” is for yesterday, today and tomorrow. Also, I know that you must be called to do it. I have had many people say to me, “wow, I wish I could do that” or “I wish I had the guts to do that”. It is truly like any other ministry, you are called to do what God has put upon your heart. He alone gives the grace to it.
    As God’s word goes forth in the open air, it is truly awesome to see the power of the Word and Spirit working upon the hearts of men, women and children. One of the many blessings to behold is watching the little children come by and listen as they walk by. I know God’s Word and Spirit is moving on their heart. He said it would not return void. Praise Him!

    God’s Grace to you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

