The Tree of Conscience

“And the Lord God commanded the man, saying, “Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat;
but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall surely die.” (Gen.2:16-17)

I have been intrigued by “the conscience” for quite some time. (This is my second post regarding it).
Just the other day as I was reading the above scripture, and the thought came to me regarding the verse where it says, “the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.” I thought to myself, “the tree of conscience” that’s what it was. I must admit I was a bit amused by my thought of this.

I went over to our bookshelf and grabbed a copy of the “Living Bible” after checking another translation. This Bible was the first one I owned when I came to Christ. Since that time I have used it very little. For me, it’s a little too watered down. However, this time I was very blessed.
As I turned to Genesis 2:16-17 it read, “But the Lord God gave the man this warning (I like the other versions that say “command”) You may eat any fruit in the garden except fruit from the Tree of Conscience” Wow! I thought, I was not the first one to see this!
Once again God is faithful to show me that I am not the first one with some special insight, thought, or idea. Hallelujah!

I find it very intriguing that man’s original sin brought forth the worse possible consequence, death (both physical and spiritual), a separation from God. Yet, this disobedience, this sin, also brought forth what I see as a blessing. The knowledge of good and evil, right and wrong, the conscience.

It is as if God knew from the beginning that sin would come, and along with this there would need to be a conscience given to man. The byproduct of sin as it were, was the knowledge of good and evil. Was that not a blessing? Once sin entered the world, conscience came as a result of it. Wow! Now try and figure that one out.

So ever since that time, man now knows right and wrong, good and evil. (Now we know that this can be seared, or asleep and thus needs to be awaken, but never the less man has been given a conscience by God). I see it as a tremendous blessing.

Just as Adam and Eves “eyes were opened, and they knew that they where naked”, it’s the same with us, our conscience works for our benefit. God’s word, through His Spirit awakens our conscience to our need or sin. What a blessing! And it came at the same time sin entered the world. Now that’s amazing. I think so, anyways.

May your conscience be “void of offence (not leading into sin) toward God, and toward men”. (Acts 24:16)
By His Grace.
Amen

10 Responses to “The Tree of Conscience”

  1. timbob Says:

    Good morning. This is an interesting thought. Indeed God knew that sin would enter the world and thus Jesus is the Lamb that was slain from the foundation of the world.
    It’s so important to keep our hearts with all diligence as we have this knowledge of good and evil ever present. Thanks for taking time to post this as it’s a great point to ponder. As for now, I need to get to bed as I’m currently on a blogger “all-nighter.”
    Have a most blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  2. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,

    I’m glad you are blessed and pondering the thought.
    “all-night blogging?” Sorry, but that one is out of my league.

    May God strengthen you.
    Richard

  3. totaltransformation Says:

    Now we must pray for God to give us the strength to do the right things, which are often quite hard to do.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Amen.
    “and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil”.

    May God bless your day,
    Richard

  5. Ramsey Says:

    When Adam made the choice to eat of the Tree of Conscience (or the Tree of Self-Government or the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Bad) he chose independence from God. He had the option to eat of the Tree of Life which would mean dependence on Him. When he ate of that tree, he became self-governing, no more dependant on God. Now his conscience came into function (he eyes were opened) which faculty he passed on to his offspring. However, till the time for faith arrived, conscience has indeed proved to be a temporary guardian. To be led by our consciences was never God’s original intent for man. Man was to be led by God’s Spirit. The Law given to Israel enlightens our conscience. But it can never be at rest till we live perfectly by it. Since that is impossible for humans, to live perfectly by God’s Law because of our sin that we inherited from Adam, it is faith in Christ and his blood alone that can give us a clean conscience. Now Christ has liberated us from our conscience so that we can be led by God’s Spirit, always under his grace, which alone can empower us to live a life that pleases God. The moment we decide we want to live by our consciences we are on our own, trapped in a treadmill of human effort, severed from Christ.

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Ramsey,
    Amen, well said!
    Thanks for stopping by,
    May you be blessed as you go out.

  7. Marlene Says:

    Since the last post I see here is 2008, I’m not sure if this blog is even an active one anymore. But in case it is, I thought I’d throw something into the mix. You might find it interesting, to compare your thoughts on conscience and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, with the occurrence of the word “conscience” (in my Rotherham’s Emphasized version, anyway) in several verses in Hebrews: 9:9, 9:14,10:2, 10:22. I looked the word up in the Greek, and found it to be very fascinating: “joint-knowledge”. Also, it’s a contraction of two Greek words, which together form “with-idea”. It makes for a very interesting study.

    • Richard Says:

      Thanks Marlene for stopping by. I have done some posts since 2008. I don’t know where you saw that my last one was then. Its true that i don’t post much on this blog anymore. I started a new one some time back. Its called “From The Word and The Spirit”. Ever since joining “Facebook” a few years ago, i have posted less. I post a lot of my street experiences on there.Thanks for you input on the subject of “conscience”. Interesting for sure. What is the “Rotherham’s Emphasized version?” Never heard of that one. God bless you!

  8. Blake Says:

    Interesting stuff. I wonder though, is “original sin” really man disobeying God, that did happen though, or is it actually the entrance of the conscience, or knowledge of good and evil, which was the sin? And death through sin, spreading to all men.

  9. Richard Says:

    Hi Blake! I think we have here “a command” that was given first. Of course, God is all knowing. He knew what the outcome would be. A conscience would be needed along with the breaking of command. I don’t think that “the entrance of the conscience” nor “the knowledge of good and evil” was the sin. It was the consequence of their breaking the command. And yet, we see the benefit of the conscience, and the discernment of good and evil. Bottomline….. God is a little but bigger than us in His understanding. He knew what He was doing with man. :). Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

