The Massacre, Questions to ask ourselves

Where was The Light?

This morning while I was fixing breakfast, I couldn’t help but think about yesterday’s “massacre”. My mind immediately went to the person that did this. I bet he was a “loner”, I thought to myself. I also thought about similar shootings that have happened in the past and how they were labeled as “loners”.

Yesterday, I found out about this on the Internet shortly after it had happened. I don’t watch much T.V, so I hadn’t been informed much about what happened, except for the little I heard from people that day.

This morning, I went to our computer to see if I could get more information about this and hopefully find out something about the person that did such a thing.
There it was, the title of the article read, “He was a loner”. I read on and they described him as “troubled”. Where have we heard that before? How many times in the past when catastrophes like this have happened, they have been labeled as “loners” or “troubled”.

My thought today is, “Where was The Light?” Did this person go his whole life without seeing it?
Did he never here about God’s love?
Did anyone ever care for him or notice him?
Were we all too busy to notice?
How many “believers” noticed him?
How many were “neighbor” unto him?

I’m sorry, but I can’t help but ask these questions.
Where was The Light?

“Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven”.(Matt.5:16)

This man was walking in darkness. Did he ever see the light? If so, what happened?
Some reading this might say, “Well, I didn’t know him” or “He was not my responsibility”. That may be true in one sense, but how many more “loners” or “troubled” people are there out there?
How many cross our path daily? I cannot for one minute, believe that no believers in Christ were ever around him. No way.

Are we too busy and caught up in our own little world to notice? I would have to say as a whole, we are all too busy to notice most of the time. Too busy to care.
May God help us all to reevaluate our lives. We are accountable to some degree for the state of our society, like it or not.

Whether we like it or not, we are saved to help other’s and to let our light shine out to a lost and dying world. A world full of “loners” and “troubled” people. WE ALL ARE RESPONSABLE.

I’m sorry, but if every “born again” believer in this country would share Christ with those that we are “neighbor” to, if we would truly be salt and light, this kind of thing might not have happened. It’s the truth, plain and simple.

May God have mercy on us all.

4 Responses to “The Massacre, Questions to ask ourselves”

  1. timbob Says:

    Greetings. Indeed there are “loners” all around us. When I was in high school, I wasn’t yet a christian. I had a good friend who was somewhat of a “loner.” As time went on, he got involved with witchcraft and his already somewhat strange personality took a very notable “dark” turn. Even though I was still unsaved at the time, it was noticable.
    They are all over, and yet we never pay attention until they strike out in a fashion that causes all of the media people to ask “How could this happen?”
    Thanks for this needful reflection. May we all be more diligent to share the gospel of the Lord Jesus with all. (I’m pointing a finger at myself here.)

    Have a blessed day in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    timbob

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Amen brother.
    This is so true, God help us all.

    You also, be blessed today,
    Richard

  3. Rachel Says:

    Great post. It is very convicting and I agree with you that we need to quit hiding our light and start walking in it and letting it shine! I remember a conversation I had with a young lady and she said she wished she had more opportunities to share the Gospel. I told her that I thought God gives more opportunities than we will ever know. I pray that my eyes would be open and that I would not let those slip me by.
    I pray that I would get the log out of my eye so I could see the people Jesus put in my path.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Rachel,
    Amen for all of us! Thanks for your openness.
    And thanks for stopping by.

    May God’s Grace continue to flow from you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

