Sin, Repentance, God’s Love and The Gospel (Part 3)

God’s love is the single most powerful force in the universe.
We must never forget, that above all else “God is love” and that he himself must draw the heart of the hearer of The Gospel. Jesus Christ himself said, “No man can come to me, except the Father which has sent me draws him” (Jn.6:44).

God is also, “willing that none should perish, but all should come to repentance” (2Pet.3:9). The Apostle Paul speaking of God our Saviour said, “Who will (willing) have all men to be saved, and to come to the knowledge of the truth” (1Tim.2:4).

In trying to understand “God’s love” in relationship to The Gospel, the hearer begins to sense God’s love for them when “Godly sorrow” is working upon their heart. They see their sins and how it put God’s only Son on the cross to die for them, to redeem them back to their Father. This is “God’s love”. They begin to see how much God loves them, and the sacrifice His Son paid for them.

Early on, they saw that sin brings forth death and that the wages of sin is death. But now they see God’s love and his free gift to them. That’s love, giving them a gift that they didn’t earn or deserve. In truth, they deserved eternal death for their sin, but God in his love gave his Son as the sacrifice for their sins.

“Oh the love of God, how rich and pure, how measureless and strong. It shall forever more endure”

The Apostle John’s description of God’s love is very fitting here. “Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation (atonement) for our sins (1Jn.4:10).

And yes, we must never forget this one, “For God so loved the world,(that’s every person in the world) that he gave his only begotten Son, (Jesus Christ) that whoever believes in him should not perish,(eternally die) but have everlasting life” (Jn.3:16). That’s God’s love, giving them everlasting life if they receive, and believe in His Son Jesus Christ who died and was resurrected from the dead for them.

“…but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord” (Rom.6:23). This is the fulfillment of His love. It’s one wonderful gift that He gave His Son to die for their sins, but that the Father resurrected his Son from the dead to conquer death once for all and to give eternal life to them, that’s love.

By believing this, the hearer is justified. It’s final. Christ was, “delivered for our offences,(sins) and was raised again for our justification” (Rom.4:25). This word “justification” means, “acquittal”, “to render”, “just” or “innocent”, “free”, “be righteous”.

By Christ’s resurrection, he conquered death to give all those who believe in Him, eternal life.

Amen.

8 Responses to “Sin, Repentance, God’s Love and The Gospel (Part 3)”

  1. timbob Says:

    Greetings. Indeed the depths of Gods love is past finding out and yet we can daily strive to better grasp it. Such love that Jesus, who has no beginning would come into a world that he created, and shed his innocent blood for folks who were so contrary to his holy nature. WOW! What an awesome Savior we have and what a complete redemption we have through Jesus. Thank you for posting this.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus

    timbob

  2. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,

    Isn’t God’s love good ! He loves all mankind and shows them His love all the time. The question is, will they receive it?
    Yes, what an awesome Savior we have in Jesus !

    Thank you,
    May His love continue to be in you and work through you,
    Richard

  3. titus2woman Says:

    So glad to have enjoyed your blog today! Very uplifting! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Sandi,
    I’m glad you have been blessed and uplifted.
    May you be encouraged and strengthened.
    By His Grace,

    Richard

  5. Micky Says:

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  6. totaltransformation Says:

    “God’s love is the single most powerful force in the universe.”

    Amen brother. When I think of the grudges I’ve carried over non-sense, I am amazed at his grace and forgiveness.

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Amen. Ditto, brother.
    Thanks for your comment.
    May God be with you,
    Richard

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Micky,
    Wonderful testimony to the power of God!
    God be praised!
    Grace to you this day,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

