In a cage or out in the open?

I’m afraid all to often what happens as we grow in Christ, studying and learning his word, we become increased in knowledge and if we are not careful we become “puffed up”. Then what happens is that we go down the never ending road of studying, learning and sharing what we have learned. If we are not careful our life becomes entangled or stuck in a vacuum of ever learning, but never actually using or applying what we have learned. There would be danger here, if this is indeed what is happening.

If there is no “hands on” experience taking place, then we must consider our end. If we don’t use what we have learned, then what good is it? And for what purpose are we learning and studying?
Is it all about our knowledge? What are my motives for learning?

Yes, we do need to study His word and gain knowledge. His word does say that. But we must always be reminded as to what are we doing with what we have learned. Head knowledge is of no real value without hands and feet moving it forward for some benefit to others.

Recently, I was downtown in the city while a big festival was going on. I was walking along the sidewalk and noticed two giant birds flying in the air. I did a “double take” and noticed that these were not your usual birds. They were large and very colorful. At first, I thought that they must be “radio controlled” birds because it seemed to be very different.

Well, come to find out there was a large pirate ship with a man dressed as a pirate and these were his birds. He had them trained to take off and fly around for some distance away from the ship and then return. They were large parrots and what appeared to be macaws. It was truly awesome to behold their flying beauty. They were not caged at all, even after they returned from flying, they just sat there perched waiting to go out again for another flight.
I thought this was a good picture of what I am trying to convey here.

There must be practical application or it becomes trapped inside a cage and it’s only value is when people stop by to view it, and then they are gone. It’s great to look at and admire, but if it’s let out of the cage and moves around, it flies and takes on life. Then and only then can we see it’s real beauty, it’s use and value. It is the same with knowledge and learning.

When we put into practice what we have learned, then there is action and motive taking place.
Keep it in a cage or let it out in the open, the choice is ours.
May God help us all.
Amen

12 Responses to “In a cage or out in the open?”

  1. faithwalk Says:

    So this is what the beautiful birds spoke to your heart! Great post and may the Lord help us all to let our light so shine, as a city set on a hill that cannot be hid.

    Bless you dearest!

  2. mcalmond Says:

    Richard, great thought and illustration of it as seen in these birds. They were trained, equipped, obedient to their Master, and only went out at His beckoning. Hmmm, seems right on to me 😉

    I pray you are well rested and caught up. It is good to have you home. I truly enjoyed getting to spend some time with you and Susan. It was truly a blessing. Also, thank you for driving me around and giving me the opportunity to see and go to all that we did. Thank you very much, and oh yes, you drive very well for an American in Scotland. You are most certainly a better man than I 🙂

    Every Blessing in the Lord Jesus Christ!

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Hi Phil,
    Yes, they were “obedient” to their Master. May we be also.
    And yes, I do now consider myself rested. Praise God, I did catch a few “cat naps” on the plane ride back, so that really helped.
    Phil, I consider it a privilege to have met you and spent the time together. We did really see some things in the Spirit, and it was great to behold.
    I must confess it was a trial being couped up in a car, then again it always is for me.
    Driving in the UK is always a challenge, but this time with two back seat
    drivers, wow! it was a real one. 😉
    Praise God ! Great Grace was there!
    Love ya, Brother
    Richard

  4. Scotti Says:

    All I can say at the moment is my heart is convicted by this post and longing for change. Lord Jesus, help me. Amen.

  5. Ray Says:

    What a lovely and graphic illustration.
    So vivid and yet so simple.
    Thank you very much indeed.
    God bless you,
    Ray
    http://www.christian-housesitters.com

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Scotti,
    Thanks for you honesty.
    What a blessing of God when we read a post and we become convicted. As hard as it may be, it’s a good thing when we desire change as His Spirit moves upon our heart.
    May you blessed as you go forward.
    Richard

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Ray,
    Thanks for stopping by.
    I am glad you were blessed. Praise God!

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  8. jeanetteb1 Says:

    Loved the story about the birds! Yeah, God’s Word is not to be caged. It is the GOOD NEWS for EVERYONE!!
    BTW, I have free birds that come to my place everyday, and now have become like pets. I had them sitting on my knee the other day.
    Real Sticky Beak!!

  9. rjperalta Says:

    Wow !
    Those colors cannot be created by man.
    Absolutely beautiful !

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  10. timbob Says:

    Greetings. At the risk of sounding like I’m following the crowd, I have to agree that the account concerning the Maccaws is an incredible illistration. I also was thinking on Phils comment about their obdeiance. Had these maccaws not been obediant to their trainer, they would have had to remain in their cage. When we grow in obediance to the Lord, we can soar like eagles (or Maccaws) When his word is in our hearts; not just a collection of head knowledge, we’ll truly be able to move mountains through Christ.

    Thanks for a very insightful post. I’ve been guilty of “collecting head knowledge and not utilizing it as it should be used. A prayer as of late has been that the word of God would be as “fire shut up in my bones.” Thanks for posting. I praise God for granting you a blessed time in Scotland.

    have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  11. timbob Says:

    Oops. Spelling error. I’ll try again. “I-L-L-U-S-T-R-A-I-O-N”

  12. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,
    Thanks for your reply.
    Yes, the birds were “a hit”. Praise God ! He made them with all their
    beautiful colors and He made them fly.
    And yes the “obedience” illustration is good. Thanks Phil !
    Yes, may His word be as fire shut up in our bones, bursting out to a world that so desperately needs Him.
    Go Scotland !

    Grace to you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

