The Great Misconception

Thinking that the only time we can share Christ is when God opens the doors for us or gives us a wide open opportunity. FALSE !
That’s The Great Misconception. If we fall into this way of thinking, this lie from the enemy, we will be mostly ineffective for God’s Kingdom.

This is not to say that there are times when God completely opens the door and gives us the opportunity to share The Gospel. It does happen and it is truly awesome when He does. But, don’t fall in to the trap thinking that He always will and that that’s the only time you can speak anything for Him. It’s not. Most often we need to be ready, willing and listening to The Holy Spirit, then act.

Christ already has given us the commandment to go and spread The Good News. If we “Go” out willing and ready each day to share Christ, and be open to the people around us, we can rest assured His Spirit will help us each step of the way.

When Christ walked the earth, he was all about people. He is the same yesterday, today and forever. He has never changed.

If people are not our concern, then what is?

8 Responses to “The Great Misconception”

  1. Scotti Says:

    Excellent post. I needed this admonition today!

    May the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

    Scotti

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Scotti,
    I’m glad you were blessed.
    May also, the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.
    Amen.

    Richard

  3. Oldtimer Says:

    I’ve done this a number of times. I’ve never had the nerve to just go out on the street and talk to whomever comes by.

    We have an associate pastor, Wayne, that never misses an opportunity to share where ever he is and he just bubbles over when he retells the situation and how it unfolded. He is blessed and full of the Holy Spirit. It might be a stranger on a corner where he is waiting for a stoplight, anywhere. Once he was called to pull off the road into a parking lot to talk to someone. It was a real hoot how well it was received. It was almost like he was an answer to a prayer for that person.

    The most common way for me is when I’m working with someone. After a while I’ll ask if they have a church, with the intention of inviting them to mine if they say no. This sometimes leads to sharing and revealing God’s gift to others in meaningful ways. I try not to miss any of these opportunities, but I’ve never just walked up to someone like Wayne does. Like you do.

    Once in a while God kind of thumps me on the noggin and tells me that I’m not listening to Him very well and that usually leads to me doing a little more. Not enough. I applaud what you are doing. I’ve been considering going with my friend the next time he hits the islands with one of his mission trips.

    At 70, I tend to write more than do. My only regret is that I had to wait nearly 60 years to find out what God had in mind for me. I have so little time, but I reckon it is the time He allocated, so it should be sufficient.

    Have you ever had a vision? From God? I’ll bet you have.

    Grace and Peace,

    Jim

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Jim,
    Thanks for your reply.
    To just give you a little encouragement to try, I add the following:
    Pray and ask God, if I step out the door for a walk this morning, can I talk to someone that you place along my path. Take off for a walk, and expect to find someone out there. When you see a person in the distance, pray and ask God as to what to say for starters. He will help you, even if all you say for starters is, “God bless you”. He can use that. Just be willing and not ashamed. He gives the grace.
    Yes, I can relate to your friend, Wayne. It’s Awesome !
    Praise God we are never too old ! The enemy would like us to think so.
    I have had some visions. If something comes to mind to share with you, I will.
    May you be blessed as you “GO” out.
    Richard

  5. Oldtimer Says:

    Richard, virtually eveyone I know that does the work of the Holy Spirit as you do, that walks the path as you do, has had visions. I thought I was the only one until I started asking around my church. Probably 1 in 5 have, and this is a Prysbyterian Church.

    Here are links to a couple of mine:
    http://extraordinaryvisions.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/god-partially-revealed/

    http://extraordinaryvisions.wordpress.com/2007/06/05/crossing-over-timeless-heaven/

    Grace and Peace,

    Jim

  6. rjperalta Says:

    oldtimer,

    Thanks. I will check out yours.
    You may also want to check out the following blogs:
    Faith walk
    Christ formed

    Be blessed,
    Richard

  7. Loretta Says:

    Thank you for this helpful post! It is so true.

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Loretta,
    You are welcome!
    God be praised!
    Grace to you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

