Are you a secret disciple of Christ?

If so, it is because of the fear of man or pride. Either one will keep you from confessing Christ.

In the time of Christ, the fear of the Jews kept many from openly confessing Christ. In short, the fear of man did. They would be kicked out of the synagogue if caught confessing Christ. Let alone beatings and in some cases death. So because of this, they would go around “secretly”.

Here in America we suffer no real persecution for confessing Christ. Not yet anyway. What will happen here when real persecution comes? This question is to be answered now. Are you openly confessing Christ today? While you have the freedom with no persecution? If you can’t stand up now and be counted as “one of those”, what will you do when your life is at stake? If you can’t take it now while it’s easy, you will not make it then. Today is the day to prepare. It’s the day to ask yourself these questions.

If you can’t confess Jesus to your co-workers, friends and family now because of pride or fear, how will you fare when someone has a gun at your head? Are you fooling yourself?

“But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved praise from men more than praise from God”. (Jn.12-42-43)

We could say today,  “because of my co-workers, I would not confess my faith in Christ because of fear of losing my job. Or, my pride would be hurt. What would they think of me then? I would no longer be popular, I would then be labeled an “odd-ball” or a ” religious fanatic”.

The demons tremble when you confess Christ publicly. It shakes the kingdom of darkness. Your confession sets you apart. There is a separation that takes place when you openly confess Christ. It’s powerful! Try it!

Only fear of man and our pride keeps you from confessing Christ. The enemy of your soul is very content if you choose not to. I believe he smiles (if only he could).

Christ, speaking of persecution and fear in Matt. the 10th chapter said, “Whoever confesses (acknowledges) me before men, I will also confess him before my Father in heaven. But whoever shall deny me before men, I will deny him before my Father in heaven.” (vs.32-33)
Now that’s serious stuff! Did you get that? If this scripture didn’t sink in, you must read it again.

Did you know that by not speaking up for Christ in this sinful and adulterous generation that you are deny him? You surely can’t be ashamed of him, can you? After all He has done for you? The very least you can do is talk openly about Him just as if you know him personally, right? Just as He is your best friend, or is He?

“If we deny him, he will also deny us” (2Tim.2:12)

If we are not confessing Christ, then we are ashamed of him, point-blank. In the end, Christ will be ashamed of us when he comes back with the holy angels. (Mk.8:38) Now I know that is not what you want, right? So what is the thing to do then? CONFESS CHRIST WITH YOUR MOUTH, TODAY! He will bless you, for sure!

In order to “confess Christ” you must deny yourself. Your pride must go. You must get to the place where you no longer care what they think of you. If they hate you, that’s OK. If they no longer want anything to do with you, then that’s OK. If your friendship has to go, then it’s OK.
You must deny yourself and take up your cross and follow Christ wholeheartedly (Mk.8:34-38)

When you take up your cross, you are headed up the hill to be crucified. There is no turning back. You no longer think about how you look, or what they say about you. Our lives are to be on the cross daily, thus we “die daily”. Pride should die daily also.

In closing, there is no time to be a “secret disciple”. The day of “straddling the fence” is over. You are either confessing Christ and not ashamed of him, or you are being “secret” and in reality, ashamed of him. I know that is hard to hear, but it is true.

And the good news is, you can “Repent” today and get on track while there is still yet time. It’s still day when we can work.
Amen.

13 Responses to “Are you a secret disciple of Christ?”

  1. brotherjohnny Says:

    I think most ‘believers’ today confess christianity.
    It’s different.

    Way different.

    It takes a revelation of Christ to confess Him.

    It’s out there…there is a testimony, but it seems to be well hidden for the most part.

    We need to preach the pure gospel more often, brother.
    We need to preach Christ.
    We must give the people Jesus Christ.

    Too many have a mixed gospel….law seasoned with grace or grace seasoned with law.

    If the pure gospel were preached more often, those receivers of His Love would be singing in the streets of the glory of the Lord.

    The world needs Christ!

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Amen brother.
    God’s Spirit reminds me often about this. If I get off track, He is faithful to remind me. Blessed be the name of The Lord, Jesus Christ!
    Thanks,
    Richard

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Oh yes,
    So true about your comment, “most confess Christianity”. That’s easy. But Jesus is the dividing line.

    I was so blessed this past Friday, when my brother in the Lord proclaimed out on the streets when there was a bunch of High School kids around, “who will confess on Jesus Christ, right now, right here”. About three young people and one adult stood up and gathered together and confessed out loud in the midst of them all. It was awesome! The power of confession! The devils tremble at this!

    Be blessed,
    Richard

  4. brotherjohnny Says:

    Yes!
    Amen!!

    We can run those old scoundrels outta here with the holy and precious name of Jesus Christ!

  5. Are You Ashamed Of Jesus Christ? « Primitive Jesus Christology Says:

    […] Are you a secret disciple of Christ? […]

  6. Latasha Says:

    I am ashamed of what I’m going through and I just don’t want to die feeling that I hurt my family. I want to change lives in others and find peace in this battle with hiv. I don’t disown my father I love him. I don’t do the things that I should,but I know god understands. I just need strong prayers to help me find strength in all this and I don’t claim it at all it just stays in the back of mind mind what if its true.
    Please Help Pray for Me…….

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Latasha,
    Thank you for your request. I will pray for you.
    I have sent you an e-mail.
    May God’s grace be with you,
    Richard

  8. allan krisbaher Says:

    Professing Christ is easy for me, but being told I shouldn’t talk about it is
    like telling me not to breath. I play cribbage twice a week with a group of people at our local senior center. As I was getting to know them I professed my stand in the Lord. At first they didn’t say much, but after 2 months I’ve been told at least 3 times by 3 different people that they didn’t want me to talk about my beliefs anymore, and this supposedly by Christians. I’m in prayer about this and won’t give up, though I might try a new approach, such as letting my living for Christ be my example and see what happens. The ones who don’t want to here it are the ones that need it the most. Pray with me that God’s Spirit works in the hearts of all people and that they will begin to see the light. A brother in the Lord, Allan

  9. rjperalta Says:

    Allan,
    Thanks for your honest reply. This is so true of those who profess to know the Lord. Many times out on the streets, it is those that profess that give us a hard time. I think many times it is conviction that is working on them. They aren’t doing or saying much for God, so when they see someone who is, they fall under conviction. It is a good thing. Pray for them. God is working.
    Thanks for stopping by, and may you be blessed as you go out.

  10. Tom Says:

    What is confessing Christ?

    Is it more than just saying “I’m a Christian” or “I won’t do that thing, because I believe it’s wrong” ?

    That’s easy stuff because people simply say OK and leave you alone.

    Or is confessing Christ more like actively getting in everyone’s face over their sin and commanding them to repent? Bearing in mind that sin is both commission and omission and that no one is without sin and everyone falls short… are we to be pointing out people’s sin and failure to be perfect all the time?

  11. Richard Says:

    Tom,
    I think you missed the post, bro.
    In this post, I was talking about “confessing Christ” vocally. Speaking up and talking about Christ, not “church” or even “Christianity”, but Christ.
    We must remember to “speak the truth in love”. I don’t see where it does any good to “get in someone’s face” about their sin and command them to repent. There is a right way to do that, and that is in the Spirit. He will let us know what to say and do.
    Speak it in love, bro!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Eric Wollod Says:

    I know a Christian you guys can pray for. He believes you shouldn’t witness to the waitress in a restaurant because if she has a bad reaction next time you come in she might spit in your food or put a booger in it. I sent him an email about the fear of man saying trust the Lord and don’t fear the “boogerman” (bogeyman, get it?)

  13. Richard Says:

    Eric,
    Definitely the fear of man. There is no end to the examples of “fear” that keep us from witnessing.
    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

