Is the “Great Commission” hard to understand?

Is it complicated? Should we add or take away from it?
No. Just do what it says, period. If we do, some awesome things will take place.

In the book of Matthew it says, “All power is given to me in heaven and in earth. Go therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to obey all things that I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, even to the very end of the world.” (28:18-20)

In the book of Mark it says, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.
And these signs will follow them that believe; In my name they will cast out devils; and they will speak with new tongues;
They shall take up snakes; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.” (16:15-18)

GO – TEACH – PREACH – BAPTIZE

What is so hard to understand about these? We have all heard them over and over, haven’t we?

GO means to get off your bottom and get out into the world.

TEACH (in this context) means to teach them whatever Christ commanded. I won’t get into that in this post, but it would do us all some good to review what Christ commanded in the gospels.

PREACH means to “herald” or “cry out” or “proclaim” the Gospel (the good news of Christ) to every person (yes, it does say “every”).

BAPTIZE means to get them “fully wet” or “cover wholly with a fluid” in the name of the Father, Son and the Holy Ghost.

Help me out, is this hard to understand?

And you know what? If we DO this “Great Commission”, Christ said himself that he would be with us and that signs would follow them that believe. What would these signs be?

Devils would be cast out of people. Speaking in new tongues would happen. If we handle any snakes, IE any “sly cunning” or “malicious persons” or “satanist” they shall not hurt us. If we drink anything that’s deadly, IE poison etc. it shall not hurt us. Isn’t this comforting to know? What should we be afraid of?

Now here is a really good one. “They shall”. This is no maybe, they will. THEY SHALL lay their hands on the sick and THEY SHALL recover. Don’t you love this?

Well, there you have it. It’s pretty self explanatory, isn’t it?
May God help us all.

11 Responses to “Is the “Great Commission” hard to understand?”

  1. Brother Johnny Says:

    Although I have a coupke of different thoughts on this, I’d like to say first that I agree.
    Those of us who know Christ, and who know the good news ought not let anything stand in the way of our proclaiming Him (with the exception of God Himself of course) to those who are in the dark.

    On the other hand, I have often wondered what happens to all the folks who recieve Christ at the various churches, or even evangelical crusades.

    To really get what I am saying, you may need a bit more background on me than you already know.

    I don’t believe in the current model of church that is used in most of christendom.
    This poses a problem for me (although admittedly not an excuse), as the last thing that I want to do is to introduce someone to Jesus Christ and then turn around and load them down with a ton of baggage that will do nothing but burden and confuse the poor soul.

    I do know of a way, as it is the way Paul went about it, and that is to go, preach the gospel, and plant churches myself.

    I have had a sure call on my life for some time now, but as to what that is exactly, has been something of an adventure in itself.
    All I can say is that I see things so much more clear now than I did ten years ago.

    It’s all coming to a head and I believe that I will know precisely what to do ‘before I know it’.

    I am praying for God’s clear revelation on this matter even now.

  2. brotherjohnny Says:

    Sorry, didn’t mean to unload all of that on you bro.

    Looks like you have yet another chance to ‘listen’!
    Anyway,…

    When I read the new testament, and I look at the areas where ‘church’ is concerned (which is quite a bit), I see something totally ‘other’ than what passes for church in the present day.

    There are exceptions, of course, and there are some, I am sure, who are much closer than others….
    and even still,…I’m not really one for ‘re-creating’ the first century life or anything…
    but there is this element of FREEDOM involved with the Lords people that has been covered up by the clergy/laity dichotomy (which is false) that I just can’t close my eyes to anymore.

    I’m not sure if you are a ‘pastor’ or …something…of a church…, and so I don’t want to offend you or anything…. but nevertheless, that is where I am.

    Peace Brother…
    In Christ,
    ~Johnny

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Brother Johnny,
    Thanks for taking the time to comment.
    Sounds like we are in the same boat, as far as “the church” thing goes. Many have been saved inside four walls no doubt. It comes down to where is God calling you to labor? It sounds like you are close to knowing for sure. I believe it’s high time we know for sure, and get out there and do it. Time is short.

    I am a street minister, and my church (if you want to call it that) is out on the streets. Many people come by where ever the Lord has us. Some are believers and some are not. Some we see on a regular basis, others are first timers.
    You did not offend me with your status. I believe you are on the right track. Keep seeking Him to know that you know that you know that you know what His calling is for you. It’s High Time!
    Father bless our brother,
    Thanks,
    Richard

  4. brotherjohnny Says:

    Thank you, Richard, for the encouragement.
    I tell you the truth, I need all that I can get.

    It seems as if every time I begin to take this calling seriously, I am ‘re-minded’ as to all reasons why I am dis-qualified.

    The enemy is hard at work in keeping the good news from going forth.

    If only we could remember, in season and out, the reason for the hope that is within us.

    To me the reason that I have hope in me, is because Christ has done it.
    He has qualified us.

    He has made us accepted in the beloved.

    He is the hope that hope of glory that is within us.

    Keep me in your prayers, brother….as much as you remember, keep me before His throne of grace.
    Thanks again Richard.

    Hey…
    Where are you anyway?

  5. rjperalta Says:

    Brother you have my prayers.
    One thing I know is that the enemy of our souls is working overtime on all those that have a particular calling in the Kingdom of God.
    Prayers of Grace for you,
    Richard

  6. leewong Says:

    The tragedy is the church today — especially the church ministers and leaders — too much talk and, little or no action. The church ministers and leaders are not setting the example…they’ve become church bureaucrats…waiting for retirement?!

    The Great Commission is about ACTION. ACTION full stop.

    Glad we believe in the Incarnate God who is personally involved and not mere prophesying or talk!

    Thanks for this post and your comment.

  7. rjperalta Says:

    leewong,
    Yes, we have lots to pray about when it comes to the institutional church. I agree, it takes action!
    Thanks for your comment,
    Grace to you,
    Richard

  8. MichaelF Says:

    Thanks Friends;
    these comments are encouraging.
    But tell me: Why is it that we object to the Jehovah’s Witnesses calling when they seem to be doing and acting on our Lord Jesus’ command to preach in all the earth?
    Surely ther must be some good in the work that they are doing, despite some of their teachings?

  9. rjperalta Says:

    MichaelF,
    Have you studied the Jehovah’s Witnesses religion?
    We don’t need religion that was based upon man or woman. We need Christ, The Father and The Holy Spirit.
    Thanks for stopping by, and may The Holy Spirit lead you into all truth,
    Richard

  10. MichaelF Says:

    Hi Richard;
    No I have not made an in-depths study as to their religion. However I have spoken to them on the street and when they have come to my home. From what i can see from the way they carry out their ministry, they are certainly following he model that you have proposed at the outset of this discussion. I do not understand your comment as to their beliefs being based on a man’s or woman’s teachings. All they have done is show me from my own bible – king james – exactly the same scriptures that are referred to at the outset (matthew 28: 19,20). Of course we differed on the holy spirit and other teachings, but still they are out there doing the work that they fervently believe in as being commanded by our lord Jesus.
    As I said before, I thank you all for the encouragement of your comments as to getting the Lord’s will accomplished.
    I do hope that one day the whole world will be united in the true bond of Christian love and brotherhood.
    cheers
    Michael

  11. rjperalta Says:

    MichaelF,
    I will not take the time here in this comment to try and show you the falseness found with their religion. Except to say you are making a big mistake by letting them into your home.
    There are many differences with their religion.
    Just to name a few:
    They deny the deity of Christ.
    They deny the bodily resurrection of Christ.
    Their bible was translated from the King James in the 1800’s
    Their religion was founded upon a man, Charles Russell.
    You need to see a comparison of The Bible and their translation.

    Unity must be found upon The Father, Son and The Holy Ghost.
    May His Spirit guide you into all truth,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

