Ya gotta want to

Most people if they were honest would find it difficult to share the Gospel. If asked, “can you share the Gospel with a perfect stranger” they would be shocked at the thought.
Herein, is where I would like to encourage you.

Now what I am about to share with you is not the “spiritual” side of evangelism. There is much to say regarding that, but that is not what is upon my heart in this post. I want to encourage those who are quite frankly afraid to speak to people, much less say something about Christ.

If you are one of those, I trust that this post will encourage you to at least take the first step towards speaking out to somebody you don’t know.

May I suggest first, that after you have prayed about your fear, or inability to speak with others, that you make it of top concern to conquer your fear when you set out each day. I have found that you have to “want to” first, before anything will happen. It must be your priority.

Basically, you start first with little stuff such as “how are you today”, “oh I like your car” (boat, house, coat etc). I am always amazed at how God opens up a conversation, when and after we take the first step. If we are the “believer” and they are not, then who do you think should take the first step? And just to encourage you, you have the power of God in you. The Holy Spirit.

It’s OK to first get comfortable with just breaking out and talking to strangers about everyday stuff. If at first you don’t have the opportunity to share Christ, don’t get discouraged. You are conquering the first and big fear of just being able to talk to somebody you don’t know, and that’s big.

And just like anything in life, the more you do it, the easier it will become.

After you have somewhat mastered the ability to talk to strangers on a regular basis, then you will be able to go to the next step and share Christ with them.

Now, this is where I believe that a lot of the time after talking with them about “natural” things you need to just say something like, “by the way, do you have a relationship with God” or “I have really enjoyed talking to you and I have to ask you this question” (do it with a big smile). The Holy Spirit can personally give you the “ice breakers”(such as it is called) to use.

Now the more you do it, the more God will help you with what to say. Also, the more you will get used to outright rejection. But remember how they rejected Christ and sent him to the cross. No one truly enjoys rejection, but believe it or not you can get used to it. (believe me) And you can “count it all joy”.

And know this, I believe God smiles each time you reach out and speak with them about His Son. Plant that in the back of your head, if you need to.

And yes, practice makes perfect. It truly does! The more you share, the easier it will become. And never forget you have “the power” to testify of Him. “…and you shall be my witnesses”. The Holy Spirit makes it possible, but we must step out and be willing. He doesn’t twist our arm, and say you must, or else. He wants a willing son or daughter.

After a while, anticipation and excitement will enter in as you “go fishing” daily. You will find the blessing of being “fishers of men”.

And, “Ya gotta want to”

2 Responses to “Ya gotta want to”

  1. brotherjohnny Says:

    “Ya gotta want to” is such a universal principle!

    Recently I have discovered what it means to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ!!!
    It is the secret of being delivered from temptations as well, but the key is that you truly have to want to be delivered form those temptations in the first place!

    Now don’t get me wrong!
    I haven’t mastered this thing, and, in fact, to my shame, I don’t practice this all the time, but I have found it to be most effective AS LONG AS I WANT TO BE DELIVERED.

    When the tempting thoughts come to my mind, I simply say (usually quietly to myself), “Lord” or “Lord Jesus”.
    And the temptation disappears!

    I know that this sounds like such an elementary thing, but to me it has been rather amazing to have something so practical in nature work so well spiritually.

    Many of us need to pray that we would want to ‘want to’!!

    Thank you, brother, for this post. I hope to discover more of the Joy of bringing Jesus Christ to the lost.

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Brother Johnny,
    So true, thank you!
    I use the words, “In the name of Jesus Christ” when tempted. It like yours, works! Praise Him!
    And it is no “elementary thing”. It is powerful. I will take it any day over the high and lofty stuff.
    Thanks, and God’s blessing upon you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

