To God be the glory, for great things He is doing!(Part#3)

In the last post, I had forgotten to mention that on my way to the city in the train, I needed to stop off and use the bathroom at a local store. After that, the Lord wanted me to go to a bus stop close by that I had been to several times before.

After praying, I jumped in and started to preach The Good News on one corner. One young kid didn’t like it, so he sounded off. (I spoke with this kid later, he is one step closer to Christ now) Then a young black guy came over to talk. He listened real well as The Holy Spirit moved upon his heart. It took probably close to an hour before he made the move to receive Jesus. But he did! Praise God! He went off changed by the power of God!

I called him that night on the way home. He said that he was at home resting. Now this was Friday night close to 8:00pm. He was saved from drugs and may have been either in a gang, or had came out of one. But glory to God he is changed! He said to me as we parted on the phone, “pray for me, I just want to live”. That tells it all.

Back to where I left off in “Part#2”.
It was 4:00pm at the train stop and it’s Friday night and there are people in need of hearing The Gospel everywhere as they wait for the train to go home from work. I started in and before long James showed up. We took turns preaching and God’s Spirit was moving as several came up to either take a tract or talk.

Then the distractions came once again. This young guy who had a plastic cup full of wine, starts to scream and yell and gets in our faces. James calms him down as I finish. I went over to him and tried to talk with him. He seemed surprised that I would have come over to talk with him after all his yelling and carrying on.

As we talked, God through His Spirit began to speak to him, a little at a time. He said he had to go use the bathroom, and asked if I would be there when he came back. I assured him I would. I miss out from time to time, but I knew there was hope for this guy. He came back with more wine and seemed to be even more intoxicated. What I really liked about this encounter was that the fact that he was still drinking, but God was still coming after him. I could see transformation taking place.

Now James comes up to talk to him, and gets real straight with him. The guy blows a gasket big time, screams and yells. The crowd turns and begins to listen in as to try and figure out what is going on. The guy storms off. I thought we had lost him then. James begins to preach again.

Minutes later he returns in a huff. I with the help of God, calm him down, and once again we(the Spirit and I) start to share Christ with him. He shares a lot of his problems and fears. Now, it was pretty obvious that this guy was a outcast by others, by the things he shared with me. But God was loving on him big time. I could see His love being poured out on our soon to be brother.

He takes off to smoke a cigarette across the street. I shared with James what was taking place. When he returned glass in hand, James apologizes for some of the things that he had said earlier. They hugged and forgave each other. It was powerful to behold.

James starts in again, sharing God’s love and power to change lives to the crowd. The guy who I will call Dan, comes over to me again. This time I am noticing that he is listening more and getting closer to The Kingdom as we spoke. All of a sudden, HE TAKES THE CUP OF WINE AND THROWS IT 30 FEET DOWN THE BRICK WALKWAY. Wow! I was taken back! HE THEN BEGINS TO SING THE SONG, “CREATE A PURE HEART IN ME, O GOD, AND RENEW A STEADFAST SPIRIT WITHIN ME” He sings every word of the song. I noticed that he was sobering up as he was singing. God was moving!

He finishes the song and immediately DROPS TO HIS KNEES AND STARTS TO REPENT BEFORE GOD AND CONFESS. It was really powerful to hear him repent before God and ask Jesus for forgiveness and to be his Saviour and then his Lord. I knelt down with him and prayed for complete deliverance through God’s Son, Jesus Christ. (now remember, this is all taking place in a public square with lots of people standing around watching and listening) Praise God!
We finally stood up together and gave praise to God! He is Born of The SPIRIT OF GOD!

I will continue with “part#4. Wait and see what happens next. It’s a real testimony, glory to God!

5 Responses to “To God be the glory, for great things He is doing!(Part#3)”

  1. brotherjohnny Says:

    Richard, this is amazing.
    These are some of the things the church needs to hear. What an encouragement.

    I’ll share this with my brothers and sisters.

    The Lord is truly working through you!!!

    What a blessing, brother.

    Is there a place to baptize nearby?
    Praise the Lord!!!!!!!!

  2. marie Says:

    Praise God for His Goodness! Thank you for sharing this with us! What an awesome testimony of God’s power.

    The LORD protect you as you go out into the world to preach His Word to the lost and lonely. The LORD bless you and speak boldly through you Words of Life to those with ears to hear. The LORD give listening ears to all you come in contact with that they may be saved to Life Eternal.

    I thank my God for you, Richard and pray that He will grant you the desires of your heart!

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Brother Johnny,
    Yes, it is truly amazing to watch and be a part of what God is doing. Tell other’s so they can also join in to what He is doing.
    As far as baptizing goes, we will be looking for a place close by. The fountains downtown get shut off in the winter so that’s out. God will provide though.
    Thanks.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Marie,
    Thank you for your prayers.
    You are blessed of God.
    May you continue to be fruitful for Him.

  5. Spiritual Warfare And Deliverance On The Subway Part 3 « Jesus Christology Says:

    […] by Job on February 15, 2008 To God be the glory, for great things He is doing!(Part#3) « The Word on the Streets To God be the glory, for great things He is […]

Leave a Reply

