“Silence is golden”

Today it dawned on me as I was talking to this brother on the phone. I would talk for a bit, then there would be dead silence for a moment, then he would talk for awhile.

How awesome is it when in our conversation, we take time to also listen. Without it, the conversation is “one sided”. If we where truly honest with ourselves, we would all say that we don’t like it when every time I talk to that person, they do all the talking. Everyone has something to say, we just need to listen long enough for them to say it.

So I just want to encourage you that the next time you visit with a person, whether on the phone or in person, if there is a moment of silence after you have said something, hold off from saying anything. It’s OK! Give them time to speak! If fifteen seconds pass and they don’t say anything, then you can talk. But try to refrain. It takes discipline, especially if your a yak-er.

Sometimes, I think it is because too much caffeine is involved. Anyways, remember that “silence is golden” especially when it’s for The Kingdom of God.

4 Responses to ““Silence is golden””

  1. Odale Says:

    And 15 seconds can seem a long time! I am going to make it a point to do this and learn to be comfortable when words are not being spoken…I have a friend who takes a while to get things out and that has taught me to be patient and allow others to finish. She has taught me in her perpsectives, as well!

    God Bless You and I continue to keep you and your endeavors in God’s Holy Name in prayer, Richard!

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Odale,
    Yes it did seem like a long time, but God was showing me that it was OK. He was causing me to refrain. He was teaching me through the process.
    Praise Him!
    God bless you also as you go out!

  3. Loretta Says:

    “too much caffeine”, lol. Thank you for the kind advice in this post.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Loretta,
    You are welcome. Glad you were blessed.

Leave a Reply

