What! Trouble and distress can be good?

Give me a break! I can hear them say, as they unload all their troubles and distresses upon us.

As you listen to them they unload everything. Wait upon God and ask Him what you should say to them. Give God time. The Holy Spirit is faithful to give you just the right words to say to them. Showing concern and taking the time to listen to them is huge in God’s economy. I have seen it work big time.

Remember, as hard as it is to fathom, God does allow “trouble and distress” to come into a persons life. It is for one good reason, and that is that it might draw them to Himself. It is that it might cause them to “turn” from their ways, and “turn” to God. It is that simple.

Over and over again in God’s word, we see how “trouble and distress” caused people to “turn” back to him. It is a major way that He works. I often say, “If God did not love you, he would let you go your own way and in the end crash and burn”. But no! He loves people so much that He allows “trouble and distress” to come into their lives. Why? So that they might “turn” to Him. Believe it or not, it’s God’s love at work.

Percentage wise, how many people could testify that they came to God when everything was going just fine. They had all things working for them, life was good, so they turned to God because of it? I gather that it would be a very small percentage.

Trouble and distress causes us to seek him, if we indeed let it, right? Oh sure, there is the opposite effect that we must mention to be fair. It can cause a person to run from God and shout, “If that’s the kind of God you are serving, I want nothing to do with him”.

In reality, isn’t that a selfish, spoiled way of thinking? If God makes everything good in my life, and I am prospering and all is well, then I will seek him, then I will serve him. Think about it for a moment.

Down through out history, it has always been the case that “trouble and distress” causes one of two things, it either draws people closer to God, or away from him.(period)

“But in their distress (trouble) they turned to the Lord, the God of Israel, and sought him, and he was found by them” (2Chr.15:4).

So all in all, it is a good time to find Him. It’s a good time to turn. Share Him with those who are in “trouble and distress”. What a perfect opportunity. And history bares the fact that many have come to Him because of it.
Praise Him!

8 Responses to “What! Trouble and distress can be good?”

  1. Scotti Says:

    Excellent and practical advice. Thank you and have a blessed day.

    Scotti

  2. marie Says:

    It truly amazed me when I did a Strong’s search on the word “sake” how many of the verses were about the trials we would endure “for His Name’s Sake”.

    Ps. 44:22 But for Thy sake we are killed all day long…
    Ps. 69.7 Because for Thy sake I have bourne reproach…
    Matt. 5:10 Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of Righteousness…
    Matt. 5:11 Blessed are you when men revile you…….on account of Me.
    Matt. 10:22 And you will be hated on account of My Name…

    The list goes on…

    Of course, these are Christians that are enduring trials, but the amazing thing to me is that it is ALL for His Name’s Sake.

    I have a list of all like verses with “for Thy Name’s sake”, etc., that I compiled from the Strong’s search. I would love to e-mail it to you if you would like a copy. It blesses me to read all the verses out loud – and reminds me why I am here – For His Sake and not my own.

    Many blessings!

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Thanks Scotti!
    Glad you where blessed and are blessed.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Marie,
    Amen! For His name sake!
    Yes, e-mail them to me,
    Thanks,

  5. timbob Says:

    Greetings. Without a doubt, ther bible is filled with examples where things were prosperous in the pghysical realm and people forgot their God. Likewise, many examples exist where trouble brought about a returning to God.

    I think that one of the reasons that I ponder end time events so much is that it causes a drawing closer to the Lord Jesus. Thinking on what’s ahead on the prophetic timeline should be sobering to us all and cause both a drawing closer to the Lord and an increased commitment to being about the furtherance of the kingdom.

    Indeed all things work together for good for those who are in Christ.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    Thanks, good insight brother.
    God’s grace as you continue to go,

  7. Loretta Says:

    I don’t want distress, suffering, pain in my life. But I’ve come to understand that God is using it for good, to draw me closer to Him and to keep me trusting Him. He does this with us all: His beloved sheep.

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Loretta,
    Amen! As hard as it is, it is working good even if we can’t see it for now.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

