God moves through our obedience

God is God. He will do whatever He pleases. But when it comes to reaching people, nine times out of ten, He uses people. I have seen it over and over again.

Since God is all about people, He will put people in our path (quite literally sometimes). He has reason and purpose for all He does.

In order for God’s will to be fulfilled in the earth, He uses His people to get the job done. The key to fulfilling God’s will in our lives is “listening” and “obeying”. If all His people would learn to do this on a regular basis, we would see a completely different church out there operating. But, for the time being, He is still trying to get their attention away from the world.

One example :
As I was walking to the bus today, I noticed a man ahead of me. I try to be aware of people around me. I believe this is a major key to walking in the Spirit (IE: be aware of your surroundings).

I asked the Lord, “If you want me to talk to this guy, cause me to catch up to him”. For he was up the road a bit. Sure enough, the next thing I knew, I was right next to him.

I said the usual, “how ya doin” (but didn’t just stop there). He began to talk and explain to me about catching the bus etc. We walked along talking about the weather, his job etc. All the time of course, waiting for an opportunity to share Jesus.

The bus came and I asked him if he was taking this bus. He said that he was. We got on, and I walked to the back of the bus as I usually do, hoping that he would follow. I sat down and noticed that he did not come to the back, but sat halfway back. So off we went.

I did some miscellaneous phone stuff, but after that, I continually asked God what do I do now. Do I go up there? If so, what do I say? You know the usual analyzation. I finally shut my mind off.

The next thing I heard was “get up”. So I did. Not knowing what I was going to say, I sat down behind him. The minute I sat down, I heard, “just ask him if he has a relationship with me”. So I did. He smiled and said, “oh yes”. I said, “through Christ?” (this is of top importance because of the teaching of “many ways to God”) He said, “yes”.

Then, he began to tell me about his girl friend. She has been praying for him, that God would put some people into his path to share and encourage him. I was the third person in the last few days that God had placed in his path. He was blown away about how God was doing this lately. He was very encouraged.

What if? What if I would have settled back for a nice peaceful bus ride? What if I would have just kept to myself? What if I would have said, “O well, I guess I wasn’t suppose to talk to him?

The point is, the will of God would not have been done for the given moment of time. He would have missed out. I would have missed out. And his girl friend would have missed out, not having her prayers answered.

Do you see how the kingdom of God works? Through people. It is all about people.

May we all seek to know more about being led of His Spirit. May we listen and then obey.
God bless you all.

9 Responses to “God moves through our obedience”

  1. God moves through our obedience Says:

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt God is God. He will do whatever He pleases. But when it comes to reaching people, nine times out of ten, He uses people. I have seen it over and over again. Since God is all about people, He will put people in our path (quite literally sometimes). He has reason and purpose for all He does. In order for God’s will to be fulfilled in the earth, He uses His people to get the job done. The key to fulfilling God’s will in our lives is “listening” and “obeying”. If all His people would learn to do […]

  2. Jason Says:

    The subject of your last two posts has been ‘obedience’. I respect this as it is exactly what Yeshua taught. But are you cherry picking what to obey and what not too? I know that I used to do that very thing. Some things were simply too inconvenient to obey. Others I believed, falsely, were no longer applicable. But I have come to realize the Truth.

    Obedience is not a one time thing that we do. It is a way of life. Rabbi Sha’ul (aka – Paul) said it best in Philippians 2:12:

    Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. (KJV)

    So, my dear friends, just as you have always obeyed when I was with you, it is even more important that you obey now when I am away from you: keep working out your deliverance with fear and trembling, (CJB)

    Notice the words “work out your own salvation” (KJV) and “working out your deliverance” (CJB)? This is a direct reference to Torah and obedience. And yet obedience to Torah is discounted and, in many churches, even condemned. Why is that when Yeshua said, “If you love me, you will keep my commands”?

    Yeshua is the only one in the entire world who was able to fulfill Torah. He set the standard and showed us the way. It is up to us to follow Him, to obey Him, and to strive to walk in His footsteps. But if we cherry pick what to obey and what not, then we are not doing as He instructed.

  3. timbob Says:

    Greetings. I was just thinking of Matthew 10:19 where Jesus tells us to not give thought to what we will say when the time is at hand. It may well be that the words wont be there until the very moment in which they must be delivered. We must simply be obediant and trust that God knows what he’s doing. This isn’t easy as our natural desire is to prepare our words and try to sound coherant. (This is a wrestling that I have.) In the above example, three people were blessed because of an act of simple obediance.

    Thanks for these two posts. I’m just pondering how many opportunities have been missed because of the tendancy to “think about things.” Perhaps I need to turn my mind off as you make mention of. Thanks again.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.

    timbob

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    Thanks for your comment.
    So true, our thought process gets in the way. I have found that when I receive the first few words from the Lord, then he backs me with the finish. If indeed, I obey what He is saying.
    God bless you Bro.

  5. rjperalta Says:

    Jason,
    Amen! No “cherry picking”.

  6. timbob Says:

    Greetings. Just stopping by. Have a blessed week in Jesus.

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Hi Timbob!
    Thanks for stopping by. May you also have a blessed week, in Jesus name!

  8. Georgiayk Says:

    favorited this one, dude

  9. rjperalta Says:

    Georgiayk,
    Glad you like this post,
    May you be blessed.

Leave a Reply

