Free ticket to Heaven

I believe those who have been born with mental and in some cases, physical disabilities are blessed by God and are on their way to heaven.

They are sent here with no choice of their own as to how they came. God has placed them here for many different reasons, many of which we don’t understand and won’t this side of eternity.

Many times my heart has been melted when I have had the opportunity to see or visit one of these special beings. Today was one of those special days.

I had just turned the corner (at work) with my cart filled with food items to stock the shelves. There was a man in a wheel chair waving his arms and trying to talk to me. I stopped to try to understand what he was trying to say. I listened for a while and smiled. The man who was pushing him made some comment as to how difficult it was with taking all three of them shopping. There was two other gentleman with him. The other two were able to walk but also had been mentally challenged. The one at the rear, made a comment regarding the difficulty in steering the shopping cart. We laughed and talked.

I said “God bless you all” as they headed off. What came to my again was “free ticket”. I was particularly blessed with the man who had taken on this responsibility to watch over all three. He made a comment as he was leaving, “you ought to see it when they throw forks at each other”. Oh my I said, having no idea what it must be like.

Tears came to my eyes again as I thought of these precious people trying to make the most of this life. Someday they will have new bodies and minds. No more sickness, no more sorrow, no more pain and no more difficulties.

And oh, the rich reward that awaits those that take care of the least of these.

May God again bless all three of you, and the gentleman that was caring for them.
Amen

8 Responses to “Free ticket to Heaven”

  1. timbob Says:

    Greetings brother. I believe you are correct on this. I think of the age of accountability and one who is mentally challenged may never come to a point of accountability. I think of our son Matthew who is autistic. I don’t undestand the situation and sometimes don’t even know how to pray for him but the Lord knows exactly what he needs, what he thinks, and understands completely the what, the why, and the conclusion of it all.

    He’s not just slightly autistic; it’s a moderate case at best and he’s presents challenges that most people cannot fathom. I do think that one reason for such situations is a trial for those who are in contact with them. I think of when Jesus said that the poor would always be with us. Their presence makes manifest the hearts of those with means to offer assistance. When churches build multi-million dollar cathedrals while the city parks are filled with people who haven’t eaten for three days, something is very wrong. (Sorry…I got carried away.)

    Thanks for taking time to offer up this observation and also for staying in touch. Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    Very well said. You can relate because of your son. May God continue to pour out his grace upon you and your wife.

  3. j. deep Says:

    Dear brother,
    very good thought. You have a compassionate heart for the physically challanged. May the Lord use you for these people.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    J. deep,
    Thanks. God is always working to soften my heart.
    May you also be blessed as you go out.
    Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Job Says:

    rjperalta:

    You make a compelling case. Do you have some Bible passages handy to base this doctrine on? My reason for asking is this practical issue: what would be the threshold of mental incapacity? For there are degrees of mental handicap. Do not get me wrong: your thesis could fit right in with a strong view of predestination, election, and God’s sovereignty. (A case could be made there … I am just not the one to make it at this particular time!) So I would be interested to know if there are any Bible passages that would be useful in creating and defending this doctrine. (Another point: an issue similar to this was the subject of a very brief debate on my own site some months back!)

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Job,
    Yea, it’s called compassion. Like when Christ looked on the multitudes. If we are not careful we will live in a “doctrine box”. If it doesn’t fit OUR doctrine, then we don’t want to hear it or see it.

    “what would be the threshold of mental incapacity?” Who’s the judge? God.

    My whole point in this post is those around us that are challenged with disabilities. Those who are born that way with no choice of their own.

    May the Spirit of God move us when we come in contact with those who are much less fortunate then we.

  7. ProdigalKnot Says:

    Good reply Richard!

    Compassion is the doctrine of Christ!!

    I think you are close to the truth in calling these people “special beings”. They may very well be angels in disguise.

  8. rjperalta Says:

    ProdigalKnot,
    Thanks. That is a good thought to consider, they may well be angels.
    May God bless you as you go out.

Leave a Reply

