What a friend

Recently this old hymn came to me as I was dealing with the struggles of life.

Everybody is dealing with stuff in their lives. Some of which is trivial, other is very important and some very serious. The key is how do we handle it. Do we worry? Are we anxious?

Somethings we bring on ourselves. Others just happen with no apparent reason. Somethings God allows into our lives for reason. He has purpose for all he does, or allows.

We must get to God in prayer, for herein lies the secret. Peace amidst the storms of life can only be found in the hollow of His hand. Under the shadow of His wings.

This song has been a great blessing to me over the last couple of weeks as I go through the fire of refinement. One thing I have found out in this life and that is, that it is a fight. The calling that The Lord has given me for this life has been my biggest fight to keep. The devil has won once in my life, but by God’s grace he will never win again.

Fight on dear brother or sister! We must draw closer to Him in prayer daily. This is a battle, like it or not. Satan has a plan also. He wants to not only take you out in the end, but get you off track in this life. God has a special purpose for you personally while here on earth. If you are off track, Satan is smiling all along the way. And it’s more than just, eat, sleep, work, then play. The world paints that picture. The world says, “get all you can at whatever cost”. It yells out, “you deserve it”.

Jesus said, we are to be in the world, but not of it.(Jn.17) What does that mean to you? Take a few minutes and grab the concordance and look at all the scriptures that talk about not loving the world or not being of the world.

This materialistic society is getting worse by the minute. And we all need to take inventory daily of our lives and check and see which way we are going. Are we going towards God and his ways, or are we going towards the world and it’s ways?

Quite frankly I am sick of this world. I have found one cure that makes it possible to survive, and that is living in The Spirit of God daily. But it is truly a fight every inch of the way. We must keep at the foot of the cross daily. Daily close to Him, or the world will eat you up and keep spitting you out over and over again. That is just the way it is, like it or not.

How are you doing with you calling? Your purpose that He has for you? Are you pursuing it?
For some of you, do you even know what he has called you to?

Anyways, here is the song. May you read it slowly and be blessed by it.

What a Friend
What a Friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!
Oh what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble any where?
We should never be discouraged, take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness, take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy laden, cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge, take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee? Take it to the Lord in prayer;
In His arms he’ll take and shield thee, thou wilt find a solace there.

God bless you as you go out.

8 Responses to “What a friend”

  1. code Says:

    hi – nice to see you’re still around đŸ™‚ sorry to hear the pressure is on, but you’re right, it is for everyone especially if they are following Christ. it’s hard to keep your eye on the ball at times. so many times, i fall short, but thank goodness for God’s grace and mercy.

    i was told once that there is no where in the scriptures which says that God is our friend. it’s just a song.

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Code,
    Hi Ai Loan. Yes the battle is on, praise God!
    Well, it says that Jesus is a friend of sinners, that’s good enough for me. He is my best friend.
    May He bless today and always.

  3. godwordistruth Says:

    Thanks Bros.
    Certainly, this world is not our home and we are just passing through!

    Romans7-24 O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

    When we experience real struggles in our fight against sins and the world, we will have the assurances that we are His sheep. We are humbly reminded why we can’t save ourselves in the first place and why we need His word and grace. Our God did not leave us alone with help, our Lord Jesus Christ sent His Holy Spirit.

    I often tell my children that our is God is Big and nothing is bigger than God, if God is for you, you can trust Him and you will be fine !

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Godwordistruth,
    Yes, very true. Thank you.
    May you be blessed as you go out,
    and thanks for stopping by.

  5. eternallyhopeful Says:

    You remind me of Peter Marshall…………. Catherine Marshall is one of my favorite authors – he was her husband. I’ve read all her nonfiction. ‘A Man Called Peter’ came to mind reading this post. It reminded me when I was taking classes at Wheaton College feeling called to ministry fulltime. Fr. Lyle introduced me to Catherine’s writings. Also, your hymn quoted above this also reminded me of this time. When I was there, our church was contempory also mixed with hymns. During a time of great pain in my life, I really got into listening to hymns. There is something very peaceful there………….. Anyway, I could go on. This post just stirred up many memories (good ones) for me. If you have never been to the Billy Graham museum at Wheaton College – you should put it on your list of places to go – in reading your ministry I’m reminded of many of these evangelists from the past w/ the history shown in the museum. And, yes, what a friend we do have in Jesus. When all other friends disappoint, he is always there. I praise God for that! I also praise God that this is something that I know deeply in my heart. I pray that God blesses and strengthens you as you continue to minister. I imagine this can be time consuming and at times draining. I’ve only done it a small few times and alone (though safely w/ God) and downtown Chicago of all places. Though I would like to have the time to do it more, not possible. I pray for God’s guidance on your life and ministry…………….. You should really write a book. God bless, Roxanne
    http://www.eternallyhopeful.wordpress.com

  6. Richard Says:

    Eternallyhopeful,
    I have heard of “Catherine Marshall” but don’t know anything about her husband.
    What was your calling into ministry back then?
    I agree, hymns have a special place. I can’t help but think the reason a lot of those old hymns are so deep and rich was because of what they went through when they wrote them. The sufferings and hardships.
    If I ever pass that way again, I will have to look up the museum.
    Thanks for your prayer regarding the ministry that He has given me. Yes it does get draining. I have to spend lots of time with Him to regain my strenght. As you well know, it’s a spiritual battle and it’s fierce.
    Thanks for the comment and may you continue to be blessed

  7. eternallyhopeful Says:

    Richard –

    When I first went to Wheaton College, I was good at ‘doing’ church. My ministry was I wanted to be employed by a big mega church in this area in the children’s ministry. Though, as I began studies, God took me a totally different route. I ended up leaving that church and it became a really heart journey. At times heart wrenching…………. but bringing me much healing. This was before my separation. My ministry then switched greatly to this hearing and following God. I went out praying w/ strangers for healing, and journey downtown, and nothing that I could document on a resume for any ministry position. I don’t know where God would have led. I ended up only finishing half of my studies and then became an entirely different journey………….. through separation and divorce. Alot happened during those years. I’m always one to finish what I start. Now, I guess my calling is continued to be confirmed as writing………….. other then that I just do my best to try to hear God and surrendering my heart to him. So, not really clear cut, but I know God is leading me someplace. Talk to you later, Roxanne

  8. eternallyhopeful Says:

    Oh, ‘A Man Called Peter’ is basically the first book Catherine Marshall wrote following her husband, Peter’s death. She did publish another before but that was just documentation of Peter’s sermons and the like. After publishing ‘A Man Called Peter’ many would read and go into the ministry. Now, her writing isn’t all popular today, but to me it is better then a lot out there today. Hey, my spiritual father, Fr. Lyle likes old books so he got me into it all. You should read the book. It is very powerful. I should reread her books. I think my writing is much like hers. She did remarry an editor after the death of her first husband, Peter. Well, you can read the book yourself – much better then me telling you all about it. : )

Leave a Reply

