The example of a child

Today while I was preaching at the local square, a child of about two years old came up to me and stood at my feet and looked up at me as I was sharing The Gospel.

I have seen this before and it is very precious to say the least. It just goes to show us how God can move a little child to come up and be an example, but adults often stay away. The child is not bound by fear, or what other’s may think. He just steps out and gives it no thought.

I handed him a tract as his parents looked on and smiled. He ran back and handed it to his mom.

What a perfect example of what Jesus taught about in Matthew chapter 18.

There were people all around this area where the child was. People from all walks of life. The rich, the poor, the homeless. The only one at that time to come up and grab a tract was a little boy. The only one who was humble enough to receive, was the child. What does that tell you?

“At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”
He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”
(Matt.18:1-4)

There is a humbling of ones self to be able to walk up and take a tract from someone who is preaching The Gospel. We know that the Spirit has to first draw them, but there is a stepping out by faith that also takes place. A step of faith and humbling ones self is action that follows the moving of The Spirit of God.

I asked God to bless that little one today. May he rise up and be all God has chosen him to be.
Amen.

4 Responses to “The example of a child”

  1. timbob Says:

    Wow; you have been busy posting lately. This one is astonishing, and yet very common. Of all the people in the vicinity, the only one to come forth was a young child. Pride is a destroyer, but simple childlike faith in Jesus is the way of eternal life. Matthew 11:25 comes to mind.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. rjperalta Says:

    timbob,
    Well, amazing enough I have posted a few lately. You know how it is. If something is burning on your heart, you want to share it.
    You also, have a blessed weekend.

  3. Born4Battle Says:

    Someday I would like to know the impact of that tract – on the little child, his Mom and family, even where it went and into whose hands it might have ended up if discarded. I would also like those who believe that we need to spend weeks, months, etc. building up a ‘loving relationship’ (means don’t mention sin or other unpopular topics) before we share the gospel message (which then still includes omitting the aforementioned unpopular topics and is NO gospel).

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Born4Battle,
    Someday, I believe we will get to see it all. What an awesome time that will be. It keeps us from getting the big head now. Most of what God does through me, others don’t know about. I’m fine with that. When I do share, I just want God to get the glory. This has kept me from sharing a lot of what happens out there. By God’s grace he will continue to help me as to what to say and how to say it.

    I agree with your comment regarding, “building a loving relationship”. It is Spirit led evangelism.
    Grace to you.

Leave a Reply

