The charge of the Lord our Master

I came across this quote this morning while in study.

“Charles Wesley was so moved by Matthew Henry’s comments on Leviticus 8:35 that he based one of his most famous hymns on this.” (which one, I don’t know)

Henry had written: “we have every one of us a charge to keep, an eternal God to glorify, an immortal soul to provide for, needful duty to be done, our generation to serve; and it must be our daily duty to keep this charge, for it is the charge of the Lord our Master, who will shortly call us to an account about it.”

I hope you are blessed by this.

5 Responses to “The charge of the Lord our Master”

  1. Prodigal Knot Says:

    Hey brother!

    The song was “A Charge to Keep Have I”. You can hear the music at http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/c/h/chargkeep.htm

    A charge to keep I have,
    A God to glorify,
    A never-dying soul to save,
    And fit it for the sky.
    To serve the present age,
    My calling to fulfill:
    O may it all my powers engage
    To do my Master’s will!

    Arm me with jealous care,
    As in Thy sight to live;
    And O Thy servant, Lord, prepare
    A strict account to give!

    Help me to watch and pray,
    And on Thyself rely,
    Assured, if I my trust betray,
    I shall for ever die.

  2. Jerald Says:

    For me it’s the idea of a daily or continual task to serve the LORD. As will be in eternity, so we begin now to praise and worship the King of kings continually.
    Not only am I blessed but convicted as well.

  3. timbob Says:

    Good evening. May we all take seriously the task at hand as souls are hanging in the balance. Always keeping an eternal perspective.

    Thanks for posting. I pray that all is going well in your household.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus.

    timbob

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Jerald,
    Yes indeed it is a “daily and continual task to serve the LORD.”
    Thanks for the comment, and God bless you.

  5. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    Good evening to you as well! Yes we all need to take it more seriously.
    Keep us in prayer, the enemy is fighting hard,
    Thanks Bro.

Leave a Reply

