No chastisement, No son

God blows me away so often, as to how he speaks through people. Today riding home on the bus, He put a man in my path that would later say something that would be profound to me.

I saw that he was carrying some window washing tools, so I struck up a conversation with him about window washing. We talked for a bit, then boarded the bus. We sat in the back as I usually like to do. After a while of talking, I pulled out some “Why do you need Jesus” tracts and passed them around to him and the other two guys setting in the back. They were all blessed, and two of them thanked me.

The window washer guy (Kevin) was so blessed that he could hardly contain himself. One of the other guys confessed that he had a drinking problem as he showed me his can in a paper sack. He said that God was working with him to get him to the place to give up all to him. Awesome is God! I love how He works!

Now this struck me. Without me mentioning anything about what I have been going through in my life, he blurts out, “God chastises those who he loves”, “without chastisement, we are not a son”. Wow! that was powerful to me because of all the training, learning, calamity and misfortune I have been going through.

So when I got home, I looked up the scripture and begin to study it’s meaning with the hope of learning more of what I have been going through. If you are being sent through the ringer, this may well be for you also.

Hebrews the 12th chapter:
It starts out with, “we are surrounded with so great a cloud of witnesses,”. If we look at the previous chapter 11, we see some of what they endured by faith. It makes me look pretty small.
“let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith,” The only way we can make it through the trials, the chastisement, is to FIX ourselves upon Jesus. It is the only way to make it, period!

How did Jesus endure all he suffered? “who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross,” He saw ahead, he looked ahead at the day when he would be with The Father at his right hand of his throne.

Once again, here is the key, “For consider Him who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself,” God allowed it all and had purpose in all that He did. He is a God of plan and purpose.
Now why should I consider Jesus and all that he went through? Why should I run to Him? Because if I don’t, I will become weary and discouraged in my soul. (vs 3) Discouragement has knocked more than once at my door. By God’s grace, I do not want to open that door.

Then the writer of Hebrews goes to book of proverbs and quotes, “My son, do not despise the chastening of the Lord, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by Him; for whom the Lord loves He chastens, and scourges every son whom He receives.”

So I see here, if God loves me, he is going to chasten and scourge me. Oh, but they never told me about this when I signed up.

Let’s look at a couple of word meanings here:
Chastening means, “discipline, correction”.
Chasteneth means,”to train children, to be instructed or taught or learn, to cause one to learn”.

So if I am his son, than I will receive discipline and correction. He will train me as a father trains his child. He will cause me to learn, because of His love for me.

How about the word, “scourgeth”? Now, I will warn you on this one, it’s going to hurt.
The root meaning means, “a whip, scourge, a calamity, misfortune, especially sent by God to discipline or punish”.
Now before you dump cold water on this one, you might need to be reminded that His word is true and exact in all it’s ways. It is not according to what you or I think it should mean. God’s ways are so much higher than we give it credit for. He sees what is best for us and it is most always not easy.
Yes, that is what He said. You mean to tell me that God would send “calamity” and or “misfortune” my way? Maybe we need to revisit the Old Testament for a while and learn a little bit about God?

Verse 7 continues on with more tough stuff. “If you endure chastening, God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom a father does not chasten? If we are a son we are going to be chastised, bottom line.

What happens if we don’t have chastening? “But if you are without chastening, of which all have become partakers, then you are illegitimate and not sons”. There you have it, “No chastisement, no son”.

“Furthermore, we have had human fathers who corrected us, and we paid them respect.” I know I did growing up. I was “scourged” from time to time.
“Shall we not much more readily be in subjection to the Father of spirits and live?” Good question!

“For they (our earthly fathers) indeed for a few days chastened us as it seemed best to them, but He (God) for our profit,” Everything that God does to us, is for our profit. Even while it is taken place and we cannot understand what He is doing, He still knows what he is doing and it is because we are his sons.

Now why is He doing all this? “so that we may be partakers of His holiness”. It goes on to say, “Now no chastening seems to be joyful for the present,” I can honestly say that it hasn’t been joyful for me. “but painful;” I say Amen! “nevertheless, afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.”

There you have it! Afterward, when it’s all said and done, it yields, it brings forth fruit of God’s righteousness in our lives, Why? because we have been trained by it. Chastisement trains us, it causes us to learn, if we let it.

May the grace of God be upon us all as we go through the fire to become sons of God.
Amen.

6 Responses to “No chastisement, No son”

  1. Scotti Says:

    Thank you for this necessary post, Richard. We don’t often want to hear these words, but they are written in Spirit and Truth.

    Three times this week at different locations and times, I have heard the song “It Is Well With My Soul”. It was such an unexpected blessing and a wonderful reminder that even through my trials, God has me in the palm of His hand.

    “Whatever my lot, God has taught me to say, It is well, It is well with my soul.”

    Keep standing firm in the faith.
    Scotti

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Scotti,
    I’m glad you were blessed by it. Oh, that is a good song of old. It never runs out. So true.
    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. ProdigalKnot Says:

    Hey Richard!

    I’m still waiting to buy you lunch, once you get out of the corner, that is! 🙂

    As for all this “training” keep in mind that this scripture also tells us that trials and even rebuke are meant to show us that we are sons, not just to test us to prove to God something He already knows.

    He’s adopted us and these things are used by God to prove to US that we are His kids! That, in turn, is supposed to give us the confidence to press on.

    Bless you brother!
    Steve

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Steve,
    Thanks, very true and well said. Oh boy, without confidence we wouldn’t even make it out the door in the morning. Praise Him!
    Bless you!
    P.S. Lets do lunch next week if that works for you. I will e-mail you.

  5. fireball3316 Says:

    ooooooh good post richard! challenging! i’ve been reading “the heavenly man” about brother yu – and it is so about the same thing and hitting my heart – we must give it all to Jesus who gave it all for us, and we bow our lives and our will down to him and he works in us. may God give us the grace to bow and the grace to stand and the grace to be his children. blessings, claire

  6. rjperalta Says:

    Claire,
    Glad you were blessed. Yes, may we have more of His “grace to bow” and “grace to stand” and “grace to be his children”.
    All by His grace!

Leave a Reply

