Be aware of your surroundings

Many times God is always reminding me to keep alert of those around me.

Our lives are not our own to do and go as we please. We need to always be asking Him to keep us aware of our surroundings. To help us keep our eyes and ears open. He has plan and purpose for us in all we do.

Today while out on the streets, I took a short break in the action and went to the local Safeway to grab something to eat. As I left the check-out counter, I headed to the area where you can sit and eat. I found a chair, but is was off away from most of the people. I looked around to check again and see if I could find one closer to people. So I sat down to eat. Within minutes, a young guy sat down a chair over from where I was. I said, “how is your day going?” He replied, “fine, I’m on a short break for school”.
I asked him what school, and he said that it was one that I was familiar with. I asked him if it was a Christian college (already knowing that it was). He said yes, then I asked him if he was. He said yes he was.

As time went on, we both opened up to each other and shared what God was doing in our lives. He was able to encourage me, and I was able to do the same.
Now I could have easily sat down and ate my lunch and kept to myself, but is this what God wants from each one of us? To always keep to ourselves? To keep in our own little world? Many times I have seen that all it takes is just mentioning a few words to a person and God takes it from there. How awesome is He if we will just use what He has given us for Him. Basically our mouth’s.

As I have said on many occasions, “He is all about people”. “People are the apex of His creation”. “He loves people so much, that He sent His Son in the form of a human being. He could have sent Him in another form. Something or someone beyond imagination or description”.
We must remember, God has saved us for reason and purpose. He wants to flow through us to reach others. Someday, you will be blown away by all the people that through Him you had an effect on.
To God be the glory, great things He has done!

16 Responses to “Be aware of your surroundings”

  1. ProdigalKnot Says:

    This is the key brother: “just mentioning a few words to a person and God takes it from there”. Salvation is of the Lord and He gets ALL the glory!

  2. Joe Says:

    Thank you for this good word today. I have been asking God to put people in my path to speak to about my faith. Perhaps He has been all along, and I’ve been too busy or too wrapped up in my own world to notice.

    I needed this encouragement. Thank you brother !

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Steve,
    Very true bro. Yes He gets the glory!
    Great grace upon you.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Joe,
    I glad you were blessed. Yes, it is all too easy to be consumed by the task at hand. By his grace He can help us as we go about our day to always be aware.
    God bless you as you go out.

  5. fireball3316 Says:

    love the last paragraph! isnt it amazing that God calls us his partners in the harvest! that he uses us to demonstrate the love and grace of God! wow! blessings, claire

  6. Jerald Says:

    It sounds like an “incarnational” approach to me. This term is mentioned in the book I’m reading by Hugh Halter and Matt Smay called “The Tangible Kingdom.” It’s a good read and would fit nicely into your ideas on interacting with people.

  7. rjperalta Says:

    fireball3316,
    It is truly amazing! I am humbled at how He works.
    Blessings as you go out!

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Jerald,
    I like the the title, “The Tangible Kingdom”. I will have to check it out.
    Thanks,
    Grace to you

  9. Steve Says:

    You guys have been used hugely.

    Those visions were empowering. They were LIFE itself. Incarnational.

    To affirm. To let you know. HE uses you.

    That’s it’s all true, every last word spoken by the WORD.

    Be so blessed, both of you!

  10. rjperalta Says:

    Steve,
    Thank you. To God be the glory!
    May you be blessed also.

  11. timbob Says:

    Good evening. Just trying to play catch up in the blogosphere tonight. I think that in many cases we just don’t think of these issues and this results in many missed opportunities to share the gospel or encourage another. Like taking an isolated seat instead of seeking one that’s closer to the everlasting ones. I’ve done it more often than I like to think about and it’s an area where growth is needed.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.

    timbob

  12. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    It’s good to hear from you! Hope all is well with you.
    May God continue to stir up our hearts with His love for others.

    You also be blessed this evening!

  13. Born4Battle Says:

    “Someday, you will be blown away by all the people that through Him you had an effect on.”

    Amen. . .that is a huge statement and great encoragement for believes who regularly discuss/share their faith with other. It is such an easy thing to do. “God stuff” should be my favorite discussion topic – after all the Gospel message is the most important message for man in all eternity.

  14. rjperalta Says:

    Born4Battle,
    Yes! “God stuff”! This world offers nothing of any real lasting value. As I have said many times before, Jesus taught that what is in the heart comes out through our mouth. If the world and it’s ways are in there, it will come out for all to hear.
    Good to hear from you, bro.

  15. The Tract Collector « Grace County Says:

    […] BE AWARE OF YOUR SURROUNDINGS […]

Leave a Reply

