A little but Big book

Isn’t it awesome to see God move in seemly small ways, but they have such big eternal value?

When I go out on to the streets, I choose to use public transportation. Why? Because it places you right where people are. All around you are people that Christ died for. His beautiful creation that He loves are everywhere.

One day last week, I got on the bus as usual and went to the back of the bus. I usually try and sit there for two reasons. Some of the seats face each other and also there are usually more people back there.

I sat down and immediately noticed the man across from me had a small book that he was reading. I looked at the title on the front and it read, “As a man thinketh”. I thought to my self, “As a man thinketh, so he is in his heart”.
I smiled and yelled out, “I like the title of your book”. He said “thanks”. I said, ” As a man thinketh so he is in his heart, right?” He said, “yeah” and opened the book up to the first page where he showed me that same verse. The book called it something other than a proverb, which led me to believe that it wasn’t a Christian book.

Now the awesome thing about public transportation is that other people get to hear and watch what is going on. And many times it is way better than the average church service ever dreamed of being.

One time, I remember being on the local train and in comes a guy in a wheel chair. Spread out on his little table was a Bible wide open. I was with a couple of other brothers and one of them yells out, “hey, I see you have God’s word out”. He smiled and said, “oh yes”. Well, off it took and many got to hear the Gospel right on the train. All because of God placing people together at the right time under the right circumstances. Isn’t He awesome! They aren’t just happen chances. No they are divine and I see it all the time.

Back to the guy with the little (but big) book. After he had showed me the verse in the book, I pulled out one of my post cards that has the title of “why do you need Jesus?” I handed it to him and said that this is also about the heart. I said that Jesus told us that out of the heart proceeds, evil thoughts etc.

Another guy gets into the conversation and before long, there is four of us in the back of the bus talking about God with probably another four or five listening. All because of God directing and orchestrating the whole thing. It all started with a little book that God decided to use that day.

I want to take this opportunity to encourage others to use public transportation and see what God can do. All it takes is being open to His Spirit, and saying “here am I God, use me.”

God bless you as you go out!

11 Responses to “A little but Big book”

  1. Barak Says:

    “Ask ye of the Lord rain in the time of the latter rain; [so] the Lord shall make bright clouds, and give them showers of rain, to every one grass in the field.” – Zechariah 10:1

    By: sword44.blogspot.com

  2. Jerald Says:

    Great idea Richard.
    I’ve challenged some of the small groups in our fellowship to do a similar thing by taking their gatherings to public places – you know, malls, restaurants and yes, even bars and pubs.
    The results should be interesting.

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Barak,
    Thanks, good word.
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Be blessed as you go.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Jerald,
    Great! Wherever people are gathered is the best place.
    Thanks bro.

  5. fireball3316 Says:

    that is awesome! i love how you just GO and do – you have some awesome conversations! its real encoruaging! blessings, fireball

  6. timbob Says:

    Hi Richard. An interesting thing has transpired at work. Currently, CR, Sabin, Regina, Brian Pipkins, Leon, and myself are all in the same department and Jesus is the topic on this assembly line of axles. Others hear, new saints are encouraged, and while I’m certain that we won’t be together like this for very long, it’s currently a time of refreshing. It almost seems as though not only are the pre-saved (great term) hearing the gospel, every saint is being strengthened right where they are in need of strengthening. Plus a number of new-hires are in this department.

    These are exciting times and everything that I see makes me all the more convinced that the Lord is doing a short work on the earth. may we all be in our spiritual battle stations.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  7. rjperalta Says:

    Fireball3316,
    Praise God. It is indeed awesome to see God work out there. I would not trade it for anything. In the coming days we will see more young people (in their twenties) being led by His Spirit and doing the works of God. It starts with hearing, then doing. One thing that I cannot under estimate and that is obedience.
    May God be with you and yours as you go forward for Him.

  8. rjperalta Says:

    Timbob,
    Excellent testimony at the workplace. What better place than right where the rubber meets the road.
    Yes these are truly exciting times. The opportunities are endless for those who have their eyes open.
    Amen to your comment, “may we all be in our spiritual battle stations”.
    Continue to be blessed as you go out!

  9. ProdigalKnot Says:

    God Bless ya Richard! I have seen the same wonderful interactions on the MAX and have been reminded by the Spirit that oftn the “real” audience isn’t always the ones you are talking to!

    I look forward to working with some brothers in the near future in public discussion of the Gospel and God’s Word. That is real fellowship and beats the usual church services for pure communion and sharing.

  10. rjperalta Says:

    ProdigalKnot,
    Yes brother! God has an audience doesn’t he. May He bless your fellowship.
    Hope all is good and well with you brother.

  11. The Tract Collector « Grace County Says:

    […] A LITTLE BUT BIG BOOK […]

Leave a Reply

