Went out expecting today

I must admit, it isn’t everyday that I expect a soul to be saved.

But is it not God’s desire that all be saved and come to the knowledge of the truth? Is there not enough in His word that says that He is concerned with saving souls?

Today as I hit the streets, I begin to ask God to draw a soul to himself. I went believing that he would save a soul. I have done this before, however I must admit that it has been awhile since I went expecting that God would save a soul.

After prayer walking my usual course, I stopped by at one of my usual stops at a local square. Standing there as I do from time to time holding out a tract to get things in motion, I noticed an older man and woman coming towards me. One on one side and the other on the other side of me. The older man grabbed a tract and said something which I did not understand. Come to find out he was from the Ukraine.

Now I love these encounters. This man did not understand I lot of what I was saying, but the Holy Spirit was drawing him. I love how God can transcend the language barrier. I talked slowly and mentioned Jesus Christ while pointing to the tract that had on it the name of Jesus Christ.

After a while, it had dawned on me that this was the man that God had sent my way that was going to be saved. Joy began to fill me as I remembered my prayers that day and how my faith was stirred up for a soul to be added to His Kingdom.

I asked him if I could pray with him and his response was nothing that said no. So I did. After I finished, he smiled at me with untold joy saying something in an unknown tongue. I didn’t care, the angels were rejoicing for sure, that was all that mattered.

I was reminded of the scripture that says, “no one comes to the Father unless The Father draws them”. And so it was today. I had just gone too many days without expecting that God did want to add a soul to His Kingdom. After all, isn’t it all about getting saved (born again) and being a disciple of Christ?

Most of what I do has to do with “seed planting”, but maybe I am not expecting enough?
How about you?

5 Responses to “Went out expecting today”

  1. ariebedouin Says:

    This got me thinking about having the spirit of expectancy to see God’s people saved!

  2. Scotti Says:

    Praise the Lord! What an amazing testimony to the power of of the Holy Spirit.

  3. rjperalta Says:

    Ariebedouin,
    Amen, “the spirit of expectancy”. That’s good!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Scotti,
    Yes, praise God! Isn’t He AWESOME! and The power of His Holy Spirit!
    It’s good to hear from you.

  5. The Tract Collector « Grace County Says:

    […] WENT OUT EXPECTING TODAY […]

Leave a Reply

