Unrelenting Love

The other day as I was sharing the Gospel out on the streets, I began to share about God’s unrelenting love. Now I can honestly say that I have never used that word before. I wasn’t even sure about it’s true meaning. All I know is that the Holy Spirit prompted me to share it with those who where listening that day.

The word “unrelenting” means: not softening or yielding in determination. Not letting up or weakening in vigor or pace.
That’s a good description of God’s love for us. His love is unrelenting. Nothing can change it’s determination for us. God does not let up on us. His love for us is not weak, nor lacking in vigor or pace.

God is love. And He always pursues us with it.

How about the Psalmist David as he described God’s perfect knowledge of man. As you read this, how could you not see God’s unrelenting love?
“Oh Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off.” (Psalm 139:1-2)
I will not take the time to list the whole Psalm, but it’s worth reading again. It has verses like,
“Where can I go from your Spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence? If I ascend into heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.” (vs.7-8)
“If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me. Even the night shall be light about me;
Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, But the night shines as the day; The darkness and the light are both alike to You.” (vs.11-12)

Do you get the picture? Always there. Always pursuing. We can’t escape His love. We can’t get away from it. God never stops loving us. His love for us in indeed relentless.

Along with being relentless, His love is also many times tough. Apostle Paul can testify to that. He was a good example of God’s tough love. Before coming to Christ, he persecuted the Christians. He had them killed. Such was Stephen’s case. He was against Christ and anyone who had anything to do with him. (Read Acts 7:58, 8:1-3)

But when Jesus came to him, he struck him (Paul) down to the ground. Now that’s pretty tough, isn’t it? That was our loving Jesus who did that. He knew what it would take to get Paul’s attention. And He knows what it takes to get our attention.

God’s love is not always “mushy, mushy”. But rest assured, He knows how to reach us. Always remember, that it’s always motivated by His relentless love.

I believe one of the most misunderstanding parts of God’s nature, is His love. We view it through a glass dimly. But one day, we will know and understand it. Till then, rest assured that all He does wither we understand it or not, is motivated by His Love. He wants to spend all of eternity with us, so what’s a little tough, difficult, relentless love being poured out upon us? ETERNITY IS TO GAIN WITH HIM! SOMEDAY IT WILL BE WORTH IT ALL!

4 Responses to “Unrelenting Love”

  1. Prodigal Knot Says:

    Good message brother!

    Our God craves fellowship with us! He desperately desires that we should come to our senses and be reconciled to Him. Who wouldn’t want to spend eternity with a being who loves us enough to give up everything and be rejected by His own and suffer as a criminal in order to make that possible?

    God bless you Richard!

  2. rjperalta Says:

    Amen Bro!
    This was a different kind of post for me. I do believe that God was revealing some good stuff that day.
    Thanks, and hope all is well with you.

  3. Jerald Says:

    I still don’t understand the idea that “God is love.” The one that the Lord Jesus loved is the one who wrote that but it’s still not easy to fathom what it all means.
    Thanks for writing on this. We all need to be remind of the place that love takes us and what Love has in store for us when we accept it.

  4. rjperalta Says:

    Jerald,
    I will be the first to say a don’t understand God and his love. My pea brain cannot wrap it’s self around that. Someday we will though. Someday we will see clearly.
    Thanks for your comment and stopping by.

Leave a Reply

