I don’t wanna go through the motions

Many songs have blessed me over the years, but in the last six month’s I have faced the most difficult trial and test in my whole walk with God. Songs and music have taken on a whole new meaning to me. I have been blessed as I go through the fire.

This song was written by Matthew West as he was going through his own toughest trial. He was having surgery on his vocal cords, not knowing if he would ever be able to sing again. And if so, what would it sound like? Now to someone who uses his voice to bless God and others it must be huge. Just like all trials, we can’t relate unless we have personally been through what the other person is going or has gone through.

I am just thankful to God that we have songs to listen to, that speak to our own need in the time of need.

Here it is:

“This might hurt, it’s not safe
But I know that I’ve gotta make a change
I don’t care if I break, at least I’ll be feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of life

I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day without your all-consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking, “what if I had given everything, instead of going through the motions?”

No regrets, not this time
I’m gonna let my heart defeat my mind
Let your love make me whole
I think I’m finally feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of this life………..

Take me all the way (take me all the way)
Take me all the way (’cause I don’t wanna go through the motions)
Take me all the way (I know I’m finally feeling something real)
Take me all the way…………”

There you have it.

I spent a few years in the middle of my born again life with God, going through the motions. I know what it is like. I have no desire to ever go back to that dead way of living.
I know one thing for sure. I’ve come too far to turn back now. Only by his grace and strength shall I continue on, by faith, so help me God.

God bless you all,
Richard

Leave a Reply

