Sharing the Gospel with the pope

As I looked out the window, there he was. I could not believe my eyes.

I was headed out to an area that I had not been to for a while. It is a popular part of town, especially for the younger crowd.

The bus was making it’s usual stops along this road that leads to this district that I was headed to. At this one stop, I looked out the window, and there the pope stood with his tall headdress(mitre) on. He also was holding on to his staff with it’s cross on it.

As I watched him get on the bus, he started to sit up towards the front, but his eyes caught mine as I was bending over to get a better look at him down the aisle. He turned and headed back to where I was sitting at the back of the bus. We smiled at each other and began to talk right away.

We talked for awhile, then I handed him a “Why do you need Jesus” tract. As he took it, he smiled and said “now I get it”. This is why I came to the back of the bus.

He shared how he had went to “Catholic School” when he was a kid and also church. He talked a lot about how he was raised etc. I told him how it was not about “Religion” and all of man’s ways. I shared about how Christ was the Way to The Father. Not Religion, nor church. He agreed, which really surprised me. We had one awesome visit. I can’t remember the last time I shared with the pope.

And now “The rest of the story”.
Remember when I said that when he had first came to the back of the bus, “we talked”? At that time, I noticed that he had a Portland Trail Blazers jersey on. Come to find out, he said that he was “The Blazers Pope”. He had just spent all night camping out for play-off tickets. He had scored tickets for the first two games at home as was very happy.

Through it all, I had one awesome opportunity to share Christ with this guy. He listened well and I am believing that good seed was planted that day.

This all happened in the city that has signs everywhere that say, “Keep Portland weird”. I am blessed to be a part of what God is doing here in his Kingdom. I wouldn’t trade it for the world, no way.

8 Responses to “Sharing the Gospel with the pope”

  1. Grace Says:

    Thanks for your visit to my blog. And thanks for commenting. Feedback is most welcome…as I’m sure it is to most bloggers. I’m glad to discover your blog as well. I’ve read a few of your posts. What a blessing!

  2. Richard Says:

    Grace,
    Like your name. Thanks also for stopping by. Glad you were blessed.
    I will check yours out some more.
    May you be blessed as you go out!

  3. Prodigal Knot Says:

    What an interesting little story Richard. It’s people like you, always looking for those God-given opportunities, that make a difference. Who knows what the ripple effect will be?

    I am so busy these days, I have no time for blogging and rarely as much time as I’d like for spiritual things. I’m running low so I’m praying for a break soon. Hope to see you again downtown, brother.

  4. timbob Says:

    Good evening. Every time I stop by, I’m reminded to seek any and every opportunity to share Jesus; although I allow too many opportunities to slip by. Souls are priceless and time is short. I pray that all is going well in your household.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  5. Richard Says:

    Prodigal Knot,
    Thanks Steve. I like to imagine what the “ripple effect” might be. Most times we don’t know, but that’s OK. I’m looking for my reward over there on the other side.
    Sounds like we better get together soon. Are you getting together with some other brothers?
    Good to hear from you!

  6. Richard Says:

    Timbob,
    Good evening to you also.
    Well, if this little blog reminds brothers and sisters to get out and to be aware of those around us to share the Good News, than Praise God!
    And yes time is very short.
    Thanks for your prayers!

  7. Prodigal Knot Says:

    Richard,

    Just did a prison/jail ministry with some brothers down in Fresno. Very faith stretching, much like your first mission trip. Would love to meet up when it’s good for you.

    God bless!

  8. Richard Says:

    Steve,
    Awesome! So you were down in Fresno. I will look forward to hearing about it when we meet.
    God bless you also!

Leave a Reply

