Church on the bus!

Four black brothers got on the bus ahead of me. Three of them sat in the back. The other sat a few seats up. I sat in my usual side seat in the back.

I thought the usual, this is going to be good or not. As the bus left, I watched and listened. After about five minutes, I pulled out a tract and handed it to the guy who was closest to me. He took it. Then I got out two more and handed them to the other guys.

THEN CHURCH BROKE OUT!!!!!

The guy in the middle shouted out, “It’s the only way to get to heaven”.(this was in response to my tract that says, “Why do you need Jesus?”)
I said Amen!

Then all three guys began to share out loud (now I mean loud, loud enough for everyone on the bus to hear, including the bus driver)
The guy in the middle was sharing that Jesus is the only way to the Father. No one comes to the Father except through Jesus. (one of my favorites)

Then all three of these guys began to get real pumped up. The back of the bus was alive with the Spirit of God. One would preach, then the other. Scripture was flowing all through out the bus. There was probably eight to ten more people on the bus. No one, including the driver tried to stop “the service”. All that were there had no choice but to hear The Word for the next 20 to 25 minutes.

There was rejoicing like I haven’t seen in years. Truth was being poured out all over the bus. It was truly an awesome sight to behold!

The other brother that had sat up a few seats, was turning around and smiling. Finally he stands up and comes back to join us. Then he begins to share some spirit filled poetry out loud. We all could barely keep our seats. The guy in the back middle seat, had one leg on the seat, the other on the floor. Still no one tried to stop what God was doing on the bus.

The brother that came to the back, had to get off at the next stop. So we gave him “knuckles”, and off he went.

Two stops later, it was my turn to depart. I didn’t want to. This was so rich. I have had numerous “church” gatherings on buses, trains, street corners etc, but this was special. Just like God, so spontaneous.

I am a firm believer in that “church” is “wherever two or three are gathered in His name”. It doesn’t have to be in a “church building”. It can be in a home, a mall, a car, on a street corner etc, or even ON A BUS.

10 Responses to “Church on the bus!”

  1. pttyann Says:

    Wonderful post,you’re so right God shows up in the places some least expect him! And traditional church is becoming very bored real quick.

  2. Richard Says:

    Pttyann,
    So true! Thanks for stopping by.
    May you be blessed as you go out!

  3. Rachel Says:

    what an interesting story . . . must have been quite the experience!

  4. Richard Says:

    Rachel,
    It was. I try and share these stories with the hope that other’s will experience the awesomeness of God outside the box.
    Thanks for stopping,
    Blessings to you!

  5. Scotti Says:

    How awesome! This is what it can look like to ‘walk by the Spirit’. Thanks for the reminder that God is spontaneous! I tend to not be spontaneous by nature and your experience is a great example of how God can work in, through and around those that are willing to go with the flow..to walk by the Spirit.

  6. Richard Says:

    Scotti,
    This is exactly why I love to share these experiences. So other’s like yourself can be inspired.
    May He bless you with “spontaneity”

  7. ProdigalKnot Says:

    This reminds me to be thankful, and never disappointed, if the person I am witnessing to turns out to be a believer. I have found a few really good brothers and sisters this way. And the side benefit is that, as you experienced, the Word of God is shared and people get to hear it!

    My friend John and I always meet for lunch in public eateries and talk unreservedly about what God is doing and about scripture. I know people hear us talking and I can only pray that it causes some of them to think seriously about God and His Christ.

  8. Loretta Says:

    God is so Awesome! I’ve also experienced church– worship, praise, exalting of Jesus, rejoicing in Him with the brethren– on street corners and other public places. Church is wherever the Lord’s people are- where the Spirit is– this is such a gift from God, a blessing of encouragement from Him that He arranges it so that we can find and meet one another, this side of glory.

  9. Richard Says:

    Loretta,
    So true! “Church is wherever the Lord’s people are – where the Spirit is”.
    I say it’s real “church”. And as we know, “it’s not the building”.
    Bless you sister!

  10. God holds back time « The Word on the Streets Says:

    […] The lady across from me was really starting to come alive with the Spirit. She had received one of my tracts and was commenting about it. Soon we were engaged in an awesome time on in the back of the bus. (This is why ministering on the bus can be so cool. Other people get to listen and sometimes join in. It’s a community affair whiter they like it or not. Church on the bus is some of the best kind! See my post -https://rjperalta.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/church-on-the-bus/ […]

Leave a Reply

