The power of God to draw them

He got out of the car to get a coffee, but turned and went up to where I was.

I was waiting at the local bus stop to go to work. While I was standing there, two different people were approaching. I smiled at the first one and said, “can I share this with you?” She smiled and said, “no thanks” and went her way. The second guy also refused when I also tried to give him a “why do you need Jesus” card.

About that time, I noticed a car drive by and stop at the local “Starbucks”. I noticed a guy get out and walk towards the sidewalk. I just figured he was going to go inside and get a coffee like all the rest.

Instead of entering the door to the coffee shop, he heads up the sidewalk towards me. At first, I didn’t know quite what to make of it. He looks at me and says, “I will take one”. I smiled and handed him one.

We began a 15 minute talk that included several aspects of the Gospel. He had some far out thoughts that had to do with physics and the like. But with the Holy Spirits help, I was able to bring him back to the basics of the Gospel.

I also shared with him that it was no happen chance that he got out of the car and headed north instead of just going in and getting a coffee. He didn’t disagree as the conversation continued.

Once again, I was reminded how powerful God is and how much he draws people to himself. In this case, like many others, I believe that God’s drawing power which is motivated by his love, is so powerful that the person he is moving is not even aware at first, what is going on. It’s like God is wrapping his arms around them and is leading them in the direction that he wants them to go. By this action, He is sovereign and exact in all His ways. He makes no mistakes. For everything He does, He has plans and purpose.

We shook hands and smiled at each other. He walked back towards Starbucks.

Now here is the climax.

I watched him walk along the sidewalk and HE DIDN’T EVEN GO INTO THE COFFEE SHOP. HE GOT INTO HIS CAR AND DROVE OFF. WOW!

Here was a man that was headed for coffee this Sunday morning that got to hear about Jesus one more time. It wasn’t in his plans when he woke up. It wasn’t even in his plans when he pulled over and parked his car.
WAS THIS OF GOD OR WHAT?
One thing I know for sure is that there are NO “HAPPEN CHANCES” with God. That I know.

6 Responses to “The power of God to draw them”

  1. ProdigalKnot Says:

    Yes, this was probably of God and that man was probably seeking Him. Those are the people whose heart God will open to the truth. God seems to have directed this man’s steps (drew him) because he was looking. Most people don’t even start with the Bible or God. They disqualify both before they even begin looking, so they will not be drawn and they will not find.

  2. Richard Says:

    ProdigalKnot,
    I entertain no “probably” about it, brother. I see this type of God moving all the time. I believe there was a “seeking” that was taking place. It was His spirit seeking after God’s Spirit.
    I’m not sure if he was conscience of it when he pulled over and stepped out of the car though.
    In any case, it was the power of God at work upon this man. Praise Him!

    Blessings to ya bro

  3. Rachel Says:

    Fantastic. “It’s like God is wrapping his arms around them and is leading them in the direction that he wants them to go. By this action, He is sovereign and exact in all His ways. He makes no mistakes. For everything He does, He has plans and purpose.”

    This story so clearly showed this truth. I believe this is how God works -I don’t believe in a hard sell, scare tatics, guilt trips, or the like. I think those start the relationship on the wrong foot and often a relationship with someone or something other than God. When God is ready to open someone’s eyes to Him – He opens them and uses what/who is around them to lead them to Him.

    thanks for sharing!

  4. Jenny Says:

    Isn’t God good? He so graciously gave you an open door to share the gospel and followed up with the grace to help you keep the conversation directed toward the main thing. Great testimony to His faithfulness!

  5. Richard Says:

    Rachel,
    Yes! He is sovereign! And no comes to The Father unless He draws them.

    Bless you sister

  6. Richard Says:

    Jenny,
    Yes He did. Praise Him!

    Bless you sister

Leave a Reply

