” You don’t understand, I’m caught in a trap!”

He grabbed me by the shoulders and sobbed, looked into my eyes pleading for help and yelled, “you don’t understand, I’m caught in a trap”

Street ministry takes on many different turns in a given day, week, month or year. People from all walks of life need Jesus. That is why it is extremely important to know that you know, what you are called to do. I am increasely aware of how important it is in these days to be right where God has called you to be. It not time for “hit and miss” nor of “playing games.” This is not time to just “play church”. These are serious times. The devil knows his time is short and he is working overtime to “kill, steal, rob and destroy”. That’s his business. If he can just watch you go to church, go to work, go play, and then do it all over again, then he is contented.

Then there is Bradley. He is a 28yr old heroin addict. He lives on the street along with his friends and their dogs. Many of these guys and girls are so filled with demons, all that they can say as they pass by is “hail Satan”.

But this time, Bradley was different. He had a deep yearning in his heart to be set free. He didn’t want the usual, “we’ll let’s have prayer and I will tell you about our church”. In fact, he mentioned that churches won’t accept him. This certainly is not the first time I have heard this. I have heard on numerous occasions of them telling me things like, “if that is the way your going to dress then you are not allowed in here.”

He had a desperate cry for help while tears ran down his face. Several times he pointed to his wrist which had a tattoo of his 18mo old son on it, which he’s never seen because of his addiction and his girl friend wanting nothing to do with him.

See the problem is that we as “the church” can’t even began to relate to a human being like this. One that is caught in this endless demonic trap of drugs and the street life. Unless of course you have been there yourself. But most of us haven’t.

Here is a guy that can’t go a day without another hit. His body won’t let him.

His inner man cries for help, but all the time Satan has him bound.

He said repeatedly, “do you know how many times I have been resuscitated!” as he shows me his arms with the IV needle marks and left over bandage residue.

Another guy that I have not seen in a year or so comes to my mind. He also was battling Heroin. I remember him telling me every so often that he was in the hospital again and almost died. Over and over again is this repeated cycle. I remember one time, he ran into me outside a local mall headed into the mall to steal again to support his habit. That time fortunately, he decided not to go ahead with it because he was convicted by The Spirit.

Well, back to Bradley. I prayed with him. We hugged some more. He also prayed a desperate prayer for salvation and deliverance. I gave him a Gospel of John and parted. I hope to see him soon.

My heart was and still is grieved for those like him who so desperately want help but are caught in the trap.

That day The Lord renewed a long standing vision within me of a place outside of the city where people like Bradley can stay and start a new life with Jesus. A place removed from the city and it’s demons in people there. Most will end up dieing in that cesspool unless someone reaches out and does something by the power of God. Deliverance must come! And they need a place to get away from their present environment and heal. A place where they can smell the country air and work with their hands in the earth that God created. A refuge, if you will.

I went out to find that place today.

May it be so to the glory of God!

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us;” (Eph.3:20)

12 Responses to “” You don’t understand, I’m caught in a trap!””

  1. Scotti Says:

    My heart is breaking for Bradley and I will pray for his deliverance and salvation. May the Lord bless you and keep you as you serve him whole heartedly on the streets.

  2. Richard Says:

    Scotti,
    Thanks so much!
    May God richly bless you!

  3. timbob Says:

    Hi Richard. There are so many things running through my mind at the moment. First of all, however, I will keep Bradley in prayer. He’s crying out and I believe that he will soon be delivered.

    How sad the state of the church is today; that being the embodiment of what most refer to as church. You stated it perfectly. Many of us go to church, go to our jobs, go play and repeat the cycle. Day after day, year after year while the clock is running. All the devil has to do is run out the clock on these priceless souls and it’s game over. Meanwhile many of the professing saints are engaged in material acquisitions, political activism, and diligently maintaining a form of godliness. Unwilling to step in on behalf of the countless Bradleys who live in every community and are crying out for deliverance.

    Earlier tonight at work, something hit me that, while I know it’s scripturally accurate, the extent of it became more real. Quite simply (and very tragically) the majority of folks that we rub shoulders with daily will not come to Jesus and be saved. The thought all but stopped me in my tracks as I began to think of how many folks I know who are not saved; not to mention the anonymous ones that we pass by every day. If we understood even a portion of the tragedy that’s unfolding before us, I don’t think we could handle it. These are serious times; very very very very serious times and I’ve been AWOL way too often.

    May we all strive to be exactly where the Lord would have us and be doing what he would have doing as these final days are quickly running out. Sorry for the long comment, but this post ties in with much of what the Lord was working on my heart about earlier this evening.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  4. Richard Says:

    Timbob,
    Excellent comment! Very insightful and thought provoking. Sobering thought, “those who we rub shoulders with daily will not come to Jesus and be saved.” Yes, but we don’t know who He will save and who He will not, do we?
    Another good and sober thought, “to think of how many people I know who are not saved.”

    Father, we pray that this day you would move on our heart’s to reach out to those you are calling to come to you. We ask that you would give us your compassion and love to share with them. Amen.

    Thanks again bro

  5. Tangible Manifestations of a Life Transformed « Grace County Says:

    […] YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND I’M CAUGHT IN A TRAP (Richard Peralta) […]

  6. Prodigal Knot Says:

    What a convicting post, Richard!

    It makes me wish I were there with you and we could call down the power of God to free this Bradley from the chains the devil has him in. I believe that God can completely deliver a person from these things. The problem is…most of us don’t really believe it can happen because we think we aren’t good enough for God to work through us.

    I am afraid to ask God to heal a cripple or free an drug addict. Because I’m afraid I don’t have enough faith for it to happen. Because I (we?) have bought into the idea that MAN has the means and the 12 step plans for getting people out of these things.

    Well, if man can have success with his treatments, how much more successful can God be if we only believe? In concert with your earlier post about unconfessed or unforsaken sins, we cannot expect God to work powerfully through us if we are not completely sold out to Him and honest with Him. And….God’s power is made perfect when we are weak, right? Because God gets all the glory.

    Let’s not throw out all the churches, however. There are churches who would accept these people showing up on Sunday morning. The one I attend being one of them. I used to pre-judge people myself, based on how they looked, what they wore, and how they lived. Being downtown and reaching out to these people has changed my otulook and also that of many others. If we can’t love the unlovable, who will?

    Love ya, brother!
    Steve

  7. Richard Says:

    Prodigal Knot,
    Thanks Steve for the right on comment.
    I also believe that God can and wants to completely deliver people like Bradley. It is coming and I can hardly wait. From what He has showed me over the last four years, it will mainly be coming through guys in their twenties. This I know.
    Instant deliverance is coming that will blow the 12 step out of the water.
    Yes, I agree that there are churches that will accept Bradley out there. May many more rise to the occasion.
    Praise God he is helping us to not judge on the outward!

    Love ya too, bro

  8. timbob Says:

    Hi again. This was a strange night. A short while ago, I was outside under the stars in prayer. It’s a dark and holy night with a clear sky wherein it’s as though one can see straight into the everlasting. It’s a time when I’m closer to the Lord than any other. Off in the distance, I could hear a couple of owls calling to each other; one sounded like it was in the woods on Garth Kletts property while the other sounded like it was more to the north. There were deer across the road; really close to the house, the crickets were chirping and an ever so slight breeze was blowing.

    As I was praying, I suddenly remembered Bradley. I also remembered your desire to find a place out in the country where one could excape the urban sprawl. I’m praying that the Lord will provide such a place and I’m praying for Bradley. And I’m praying that the Lord will send forth laborers into the harvest who aren’t afraid to get their hands dirty. For the past few days something has been on my mind and the comment by Prodigal knot touches on it. Our gospel is not in word only, but in power. There’s power in the blood of Jesus to set the captives free. We can pray over one who’se bound by heroin, lust, depression, mental instability, and what have you, and they can be miraculously set free.

    As such, Prodigal Knots pondering is right on. “Are we afraid to ask God to deliver one who comes up to us and says, “you don’t understand, I’m caught in a trap?” These captives need for us to not be afraid to ask, but to know that our God is able to exceedingly above all that we ask or hope for. This has been a convicting post. And a timely one. Lord willing, on October 30, I’m planning to spend the entire day in Chicago and this trip has a strange “feel” about it. (Sorry; that’s the only way that I know to explain it) I must be ready spiritually for whatever transpires on that day. And not only that day, but every day before and afterwards. We never know when we are going to round a corner and meet someone who is at their wits end and needing a supernatural deliverance.

    Sorry for the somewhat scatterbrained comment. Thanks again for the continuing reports from your neck of the woods. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  9. Richard Says:

    Timbob,
    Amen, I agree. Instant deliverance! Just like what Jesus did. “And greater things than these will be done in my name”
    Bless the Lord! These are awesome times to be living in!
    Bless you!

  10. Loretta Says:

    I am meeting many people in this situation in my (urban) neighborhood….. and i hear you on the ‘church’ situation/ concerns. God has a lot of church just happening on the streets now– and more and more i believe in the future.

  11. Richard Says:

    Loretta,
    You are right on! Some of the most awesome “church” gatherings that we experience are on a corner somewhere in the city. I have been to a lot of “church services” in my day, but nothing compares to what I see happening in the open. And as you said, “more and more i believe in he future”.

  12. God works through people! « The Word on the Streets Says:

    […] WOW!  I have not been faithful in praying about this house. This past summer, the Lord led me to the town where this house is going to be. It was after He brought up the vision again through an encounter with a man who was caught in the trap of drugs and city life. (See my post )https://rjperalta.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/you-dont-understand-im-caught-in-a-trap/  […]

Leave a Reply

