“Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”

Especially in these last days it is going to be very important to look beyond the external.
As I walk through this life, I am becoming increasingly more aware of the type of people who God is speaking through today. At first glance we would all say no way. However, this type of experience is becoming more and more common. I believe we will see more unusual people being used by God to do the most unusual things.

I would like to give you an example, so you can get an idea of what I am talking about.

Yesterday as I was riding the bus, a man got on the bus carrying a McDonald’s bag of food. I was sitting in the back of the bus watching him up front put his money in the money drop. He was saying something to the bus driver. He walked towards the back, then turned around and went up front and put some more money in. I had noticed that the bus driver wasn’t happy. She had stopped and picked him up at a place that wasn’t a bus stop. It was her choosing, but she still wasn’t pleased with the man for some reason.

As I watched all this take place and as he came walking pass me, I must admit that I figured that he might well be another man with some problems such as bitterness, anger and possibly mental. I do meet a lot of people who are way out there mentally. That doesn’t stop me though, unless the conversation turns demonic or foul.

I looked at him and said, “how’s the day?” He said, “OK”. We went on and he didn’t say much. I handed him a “Why do you need Jesus” card. He took it and smiled. He said, “I have Him”. I thought to myself, O yeah.

And then he began to download some of the most interesting things that I haven’t heard spiritually from a person in a long time. All of it was deep and right on. He talked about how God has given us “a will” and how He made us creatures of choice etc. I wish I could have had a tape recorder to record all the things he said.

We got to one of our stops and both of us got off. He continued to speak some very profound things, unlike the typical religious Christian stuff. He was speaking spiritual depth. Way beyond the average.

He also shared briefly some of his past experiences with drugs, street life etc. He had spent most of his working days as a stone/brick mason. When I shook his hand and he showed me his blisters on them, I knew that he knew what it was like to work physically hard.

My bus showed up but I didn’t want to leave him. I was being downloaded upon. I went up to the bus driver and asked when he was leaving. He said, “six minutes”. I walked fast as I could back to the guy hoping to hear some more.

NOW THIS TOPPED IT OFF FOR ME. He said to me, “Can I see that Bible that you have tucked between your back and belt?” I paused and looked at him for a second and thought to my self, “how did he know that?”
Now, I want you to know that what I was wearing that day would have been next to impossible to figure that I had a bible tucked in there. I had on long jeans and a long untucked shirt with a tee-shirt under that. Both were hanging well over the bible that I had there.

So I asked him, “how did you know that I had a bible there?” He said, “I have been gifted with seeing the unseen”. He said that it happens all the time.
He went on to say, “can I see it?” I said sure and handed it to him. He turned immediately to Psalms 24:7-10. He read it out loud to me and it rang in my spirit.

“Lift up your heads, O you gates! And be lifted up, you everlasting doors! And the King of glory shall come in.
Who is this King of glory? The Lord strong and mighty, The Lord mighty in battle.
Lift up your heads, O you gates! Lift up, you everlasting doors! And the King of glory shall come in.
Who is this King of glory? The Lord of hosts, He is the King of glory.”

The bus started up and I said good-bye to him and shook his hand. I got on the bus and broke out my bible and read these verses over and over again. They were food to my soul that I needed for the day. It was just what I needed to read.

And it all came through a man who I thought at first was a little suspicious. I gave him my attention and listened, and God spoke through him. This again is how God works nine times out of ten.
THROUGH PEOPLE! BE LOOKING. BE LISTENING. BE AWARE. AND OF COURSE, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”

8 Responses to ““Don’t judge a book by it’s cover””

  1. brotherjohnny Says:

    What a wonderful testimony, brother!
    How often we are decieved by outward appearances!

    If we could only keep in mind the kind of men that Jesus selected to be His own personal ambassadors during the first century.

    This word gives me hope personally.
    Thank you.

  2. Scotti Says:

    Wow! Praise the Lord!

  3. Richard Says:

    Brother Johnny,
    Well, bless The Lord!
    Good reminder about the kind of men that Jesus selected.
    Glad for the hope bro

  4. Richard Says:

    Scotti,
    Thanks for stopping by. And yes, “praise the Lord!”

  5. Brad Says:

    Amen Richard! I love that Psalm 24! The Lord of Glory is our King of Kings and Lord of Lords!! Let us always keep Him as King and not establish our own earthly human king!

    Excellent testimony, I know what you mean and had somewhat of a similar situation with a man who at first did not speak, but just stared at me. when he did speak, it was short but full of deep Spiritual understanding, although at the moment he seemed discouraged. God uses the weak to confound the wise!! How marvelous is that?

  6. Richard Says:

    Brad,
    Yes, “let us keep Him as king”.
    I also am blessed to get to see and hear “the weak” speak the things of God. So deep they are! Bless Him!

    P.S. It’s so good to hear from my brother in the “blog” world now.

  7. Loretta Says:

    awesome..praise the Lord

  8. Richard Says:

    Loretta,
    Yes, bless The Lord!

Leave a Reply

