God works through people!

This is all the more reason why we need to always be alert of the people around us.

My only reason for sharing stories like this, is that it might motivate the readers to be aware of people in their path.

God never ceases to amaze me, as to how he works through people. Today, after coming from the court-house, I was led to make a visit through the local park in the downtown area where I live. After using the bathroom, I followed a walkway and noticed a man sitting on a bench. Our eyes caught each others from a distance. I walked up and said hello and handed him a tract. He smiled and said that he already knew him.

He asked me what I was up to, then I asked him. He said that he was waiting for some other brothers, and that they were going to go around the park and evangelize. He said that they have been meeting on Wednesday’s and doing this.

He asked me some more about what I do, and I clued him in. Then he stood up and asked me what he could pray for me about. I told him, then he started in and prayed. I really sensed the Holy Spirit working through his prayers. When he finished, I asked him the same, then prayed for him.

When we were finished praying, he turned to me and said, “have you been praying for a house?” My initial response was, “uh, I do believe that some day he will bless me with one”. I told him that I really haven’t been praying for one. THEN, IT DAWNED ON ME!

I told him, wait a minute! YES! THE LORD WAS GOING TO GIVE ME A HOUSE IN A DISTANT TOWN, AND THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE USE AS A  TRANSITIONAL/DISCIPLESHIP  HOME FOR GUYS FROM THE CITY TO COME AND LIVE IN THE COUNTRY FOR A PERIOD OF TIME.

WOW!  I have not been faithful in praying about this house. This past summer, the Lord led me to the town where this house is going to be. It was after He brought up the vision again through an encounter with a man who was caught in the trap of drugs and city life. (See my post )https://rjperalta.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/you-dont-understand-im-caught-in-a-trap/

So now it dawned on me. God has used this man to remind me of His faithfulness. You say that it was just a coincidence? How did this complete stranger know to say anything about a house? We weren’t having a “house” conversation prior to this. Nothing was mentioned about a house!

It was God once again moving through a person to get a message across. He does it all the time. It was a prophetic move of God. If I would have been, “petal to the metal” when I came out of that bathroom, I would have missed out! How often does this happen? How often are we too much in a hurry? How often do we rush pass people?

The icing on the cake was, that after we had talked about the house, the other two brothers showed up and we had one awesome time of “church” in the park. We had prayer and then parted.

You can’t put a price tag on these kind of “God encounters”. As I always say, “nine times out of ten, God works through people!” Be on the look out!

8 Responses to “God works through people!”

  1. timbob Says:

    Hi Richard. I’m just doing some catch up as I haven’t been by here in a while. I’ll be praying about this house outside of the city. It’s awesome the way that the Lord works through others in this manner. It’s also a real blessing to encounter other saints who are sharing the gospel and not interested in debating. Now that I think of it, in all the time that I’ve spent in Kalamazoo and Elkhart, I’ve never come across another person who was out evangelizing. I’ve come across professing Christians who wanted to out-manuver me on theology, but never any who were sharing the gospel.

    Except for one. On our last trip to Chicago, CR and I came across a guy by the Adams street bridge. It was a brief encounter as we were headed into different areas, but what a blessing to find a like minded saint.

    The post about the village in India was encouraging on one hand and eye-opening on the other. We often don’t consider what the saints in other countries must endure for the cause of Christ. But I know that the time is coming when such persecution will no longer just be “over there.”

    I love the picture of the street preacher and the crowd gathered around. The one guy even brought out a chair to listen in. The Lord is leading me to be more vocal in the months ahead and I’m pondering the purchase of a megaphone. Time is so short and it seems as though the first half of this year must be utilized to the utmost. Please keep this situation in prayer.

    Thanks for the awesome postings. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  2. eternallyhopeful Says:

    Have you read the book, The Church that Never Sleeps by Matthew Barnett. I have read it several times. I think you would enjoy it.

  3. Richard Says:

    Eternallyhopeful,
    No I haven’t, but I will check into it. Thank you for your consideration.
    I hope you are doing well.
    “Father, bless our sister, in Jesus name!”
    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Richard Says:

    Timbob,
    Wow!
    I just had this quite lenghtly comment to send to you, and “wham” it went by by. Oh well, I have to go for now. I will reply later.
    It’s good to hear from you brother!

  5. Richard Says:

    Timbob,
    Thanks for your prayers regarding the “transitional” house.
    I am very aware of those believers who all they want to do is argue doctrine. Almost every time I go out one drops by. The best I can understand it is that they feel convicted that they aren’t doing more themselves, so the only thing left for them is doctrine. The religious spirit has been around for a long time. Jesus had his greatest battle with those spirits. Just yesterday, I had a man come up to me and start going off about “hell” and “eternal damnation”. I didn’t mention anything about it. He just started in. After I feel minutes, I told him to move on down the road and that I was not going to receive his spirit. He left in a huff.
    One of the things that can have the greatest damage out there on the streets is when two believers are in broad daylight arguing doctrine. I believe that the devil has a smile on his face when this occurs. I am whole heartedly against it.
    Thanks for stopping by bro

    • Lanetha Battee Says:

      Wouldn’t it be somethin, that folks will be gathering at street corners, parks, parking lots,homes, etc. to hear about Jesus that transforms lives because of His Holy Fire Power being “present” to do “just that”. Jesus did not do His ministry “inside the synagogues only” He was very “open air” and public, He went about towns and villages preaching and “demonstrating” the gospel of His Kingdom. I encourage those who are involved in public witnessing to continue going out, you are being a great blessing, you also can be preparing the way for outpourings of God’s Spirit in these endtimes that will by no means be contained only in church buildings.

  6. Lanetha Battee Says:

    Wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

