God holds back time

I checked my cell phone and it was eleven minutes to nine! I was amazed at how He had moved and held back  time.

This morning as I was getting ready for work, a brother came to my mind that I know and had originally met on the bus going to work. The last time I saw him on the bus he had shared with me how his girl friend had broken up with him. So since that time we have talked on the phone a couple of times. However, today I sensed that I needed to see him face to face.

I usually take the bus right before the one that he is on. This is because it is Monday morning and usually very busy with lots of stops between home and work. I don’t like to cut it very close because of the chance of being late at work. Thus this is why I usually take the earlier one. But today was different. God was asking me to trust Him. Because my motive was right, I believed I could trust him to get me there on time.

The bus finally came as myself and others were waiting. It was running a little late, but I didn’t let it bother me. After all, I was trusting the Lord to provide. I got on and looked around as I walked to the back of the bus. My brother was no where to be found. I sat down and glanced up towards the front to make sure that I didn’t miss him. He was not on the bus. Great, I thought to myself. I really had this one right, didn’t I. Well, I didn’t let it get to me and looked around to see others that were on the bus. Soon conversations developed and God was moving. OK, now this is good, I thought.

After a few minutes had passed and a few stops, I pulled out my cell phone to checked the time. It was 8:31am. We were only a quarter of the way to work and all these stops were taking place. I was temped to doubt, but still believing that He could get me there on time.

The lady across from me was really starting to come alive with the Spirit. She had received one of my tracts and was commenting about it. Soon we were engaged in an awesome time on in the back of the bus. (This is why ministering on the bus can be so cool. Other people get to listen and sometimes join in. It’s a community affair whiter they like it or not. Church on the bus is some of the best kind! See my post –https://rjperalta.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/church-on-the-bus/

The bus stopped at my usual get off spot for work. As my feet hit the sidewalk, I pulled out my phone to check the time. It was eleven minutes till nine. I walked down to the light and pushed the knob and waited for the light to change. As I waited, there was another couple waiting there also. I said hello and gave them a tract. They both refused. I smiled and said, “God bless you”.

So far about two minutes had passed then the light changed and we crossed the street. Now, it’s a long walk from here to the time clock. To give you an idea, it’s down a long alley way, then across one big parking lot. This equals about eight city blocks. In all practicality, it would take about five to eight minutes at the normal rate of walking.

I walked at a fairly fast pace, because I knew I didn’t have a whole lot of time. The last time I had checked the time, I had eleven minutes to make it.

I approached the entrance and said hi to the greeter. He stopped me and wanted to talk. I knew I couldn’t be rude to him, but I was in a hurry. I listen to him for about a minute, and said I needed to go and punch in. We smiled at each other and off I went. Now, the time clock and the lockers are at the far other side of the building. This would take about two minutes walking at a good clip. It’s a “super store”. I met a guy one time that did his daily walking inside the store at night, that’s how big it is.

I approached the back hallway leading to the time clock. When I was about eight feet away from my locker, I pulled out my phone just to see how we did.

IT WAS ELEVEN MINUTES TILL NINE! I WAS AMAZED HOW HE HAD HELD BACK TIME!

Remember when I got off the bus, what time was it?  TEN MINUTES TILL!

WERE DID THE TIME GO?  In all practicality, I had used up 10 minutes of time from getting off the bus to the time clock.

I sighed as I put my phone back in my pocket. It was so surreal. I had once again experienced the super natural power of God. I opened up my locker and sensed such peace. I didn’t have to try and reason it out. GOD HAD PROVIDED! And that’s all that mattered.

I stood around visiting in the lunch room for ten minutes waiting till 9:00am. What I wonderful start of  a beautiful day!

This blesses me to share how God does provide for our every need. When we are doing His will, seeking Him and His Kingdom, He provides. That’s His promise. Not only that, but I love to encourage people to come into relationship with God through Christ, so they too can experiance the adventure in life. They can see God working right in the midst of where they are. With this relationship, life takes on meaning and purpose whatever and wherever you are.

God bless you as you go out for Him!

2 Responses to “God holds back time”

  1. eternallyhopeful Says:

    What an awesome testimony to God! Yes, he can stop time for us to do the work He desires. God bless, Roxanne
    http://www.eternallyhopeful.wordpress.com

  2. Richard Says:

    Roxanne,
    Yes, very true. I like the way you said it, “He can stop time for us to do the work He desires.”
    Thanks for stopping by. It’s good to hear from you!
    Hope all is well

Leave a Reply

