Engrossed in their own little world

Again this week, it really came home to me how much people don’t seem to care much about what is going on around them.

Our world is speeding up and becoming evermore so a “me” society. People not paying attention to other people around them. People just caring for nobody but themselves.

As a street minister, I get to do a lot of observing. Today, I saw a man helping an older man cross the street. When he came back, he was all frustrated that no one saw the man and offered to help him. This didn’t surprise me. This week, like I have noticed in the pass, people pass by when I am sharing the Gospel. Dozens and dozens pass by. Some not even noticing that I am there. Some of course do, and some choose not to listen.

This “all about me” generation is getting really bad. The ipods aren’t helping at all either. I figure about 50% on the mass transit are using them now. Basically, they are saying, “don’t bother ME”. However, I don’t let that stop me. As the Spirit moves, I start talking to them anyways. They take one ear piece out and listen to hear what I am saying. If it is interesting to them, then they take both out. It not, they put the one back in their ear.

The devil is doing a very good job with helping people to stay in their own little world. He knows about the “neighbor” commandment and is working overtime to see that it doesn’t get fulfilled. He is doing a lot of smiling these days.

And the “church”, that’s another story. I won’t go there for now except to say, it is a blessing to not be so encapsulated in a “church” bubble. By this I mean, not so engrossed in the four walls that I have no concept of the outside unsaved world. If in the bubble, this is a false allusion and very deceptive. This “bubble” could be the four walls of the church building or the four walls of our own homes. Or it can also mean, that when we go out we continue in that bubble. Rush to get our agenda done, then rush home. And how many people did we even notice? Did we even talk to any of them?

If we don’t rub shoulders with the lost world, then we cannot relate with their lost condition, thus we are of no help to them and no help to the advancement of God’s Kingdom.

In closing, again this week I sensed very strongly that God is going to have to allow something really big in our country to happen so people will wake up. Most are not waking up on their own, nor even if things are happening to try and wake them up, they are not getting it.

Thank God that he does have street preachers out on the corners declaring things like, “time is short to get right with God!” or “Big changes are happening and bigger changes are coming!” or “It’s time to prepare spiritually for what’s coming ahead!”

Most out here in the west, don’t go to church, so how else are they going to hear? And even if they do go on one Sunday, what’s the chances that they are going to hear a “Gospel message?”. Would they hear anything about “time is short?” “Judgement day is coming?”

Well, God help us all. It’s not looking good.

8 Responses to “Engrossed in their own little world”

  1. eternallyhopeful Says:

    All in balance………………… sometimes, those you may think are just avoiding the world around them may actually need that time alone. Just another perspective to consider. Sometimes, my drive to work, is the only time I can really rest……………… if I took the train, perhaps it would be my only time to rest, pray, listen to worship music, or read…. for some of us, that little bit of time is all we have. Yet, God still uses us to reach out to the lost. Thank God for the street preachers – Yes! But, also don’t judge everyone who is on the streets. Yes – love them all as you do…………. there is often much going on underneath the surface. Only God can see the heart. God bless, Roxanne
    http://www.eternallyhopeful.wordpress.com

  2. Richard Says:

    Eternallyhopeful,
    I do understand what you are saying here. Life is very busy for most, and it is truly hard to cut out time for Him in the day when there is so much to do. A lot of my perspective is from looking back in my own life. I spent years going petal to the metal. I now see more than ever, the value of time and how it should be spent. One thing I know for sure is that time is short for all of us.
    I receive your comment as good insight.
    Thank you!

  3. timbob Says:

    Good evening. (Wow; I really must get by here more often) I think that cell phones and I pods are two of the most destructive developments to come about in a long time. (of course it’s not the technology itself; just the way that it facilitates things) Folks can practically “shut out” the world around them and create, as it were, a pseudo-reality that caters to their worldview and lusts.

    I still remembr the picture that you posted a while back of the street preacher from over a hundred years ago. The crowd gathered around and the guy who brought along a chair speaks of an age that is sadly no more. Not so much the technological standpoint, but the mindset of so many. Just as scripture warns us, the love of many will wax cold due to the iniquity-saturated ambience of the final days.

    This society, this present world, is falling apart; kind of like a building infested with termites. This is a strange example, but there was an old country school house on our property which had termites coupled with the fallout of not being maintained in earlier days. Over time, it was weakening, however, one could not readily observe this. Finally one sunny afternoon about three years ago, the entire roof collapsed, the walls caved in, and the building was reduced to a pile of lumber. I had been in there that morning as it was a favorite place for prayer. As for this society, there will be a point where this entire thing collapses and despite all of the warning signs, few will see it coming. Therein will be a “final window” as it were, to share Jesus with the newly bewildered ones.

    Something else stood out in this post is the “church bubble.” Many of us are so wrapped up in our routine, so wrapped up in our programs and traditions, that we can no longer discern. There’s so much on my heart regarding this that a quick comment cannot possibly contain it. Thanks for the observations offered in this post. Thanks also for staying active in this venue for so long as we utilize every asset for the furtherance of truth, exhortation, and whatever the Lord places on our hearts.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  4. Richard Says:

    So true bro!
    Yeah, I still remember that photo of that old time preacher. It’s great!
    Go analogy about the old building on your property.
    Also, thank you for keeping “active” also. I also need to get by your blog more often.
    Thanks!

  5. Loretta Says:

    Your phrase “church bubble” sure brings so many thoughts, emotions, memories. This is a major topic!

  6. Joe Says:

    Thank you for this timely word. There does seem to be a lot of “me first” attitude these days, but how often I notice that it comes from myself. Someone cuts me off in traffic and I think about how rude they are…maybe the driver is a mom rushing to get her child to the hospital ? I do agree that the iPods and cell phones do give off the vibe that someone is in their own world and would rather not be bothered. I’m glad to hear that you don’t let that stop you when you witness to them. Maybe after they get home, they feel convicted by what you have said to them, even if it was brief. As Paul said in 1 Corinthians, “I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth.” That’s all any of us can do.

    God bless you and the work you’re doing Richard !

  7. Richard Says:

    Loretta,
    Yes it is indeed a “major topic”. And certainly one that must be addressed.
    Thanks sister!

  8. Richard Says:

    Joe,
    So true! Thanks for stopping by!
    May He also continue to bless you in the work that you are doing in His Kingdom!

Leave a Reply

