“Out of the gate”

Taking a big step out on faith, is like a race horse being “let out of the starting gate”. As the horse is in the cage waiting for the start of the race, all he sees is the track ahead through the bars of the gate. He is confined within the gate. He can’t move. He can’t go forward, nor backward. There is no progress. There is no race.

What I would like for us to consider here, is the times in our life when we took a big leap of faith. Times where you wholly trusted God. Times where you might have not known where you would end up, if you did. I am talking about the times where you jumped off the cliff, so to speak.

Can you recall them?

These are monumental landmarks that form our faith for the future. These are rocks that we can stand on. These are faith builders that we all must have.

When you are let out of the gate and it has a profound impact on your life, you are and will never be the same. You never return to what you had before. The desire of returning to what was once familiar no longer has it’s attractions. Oh, you might slip back for a season, but if your step of faith was of God, your heart will always want to return to that place of faith and of the Spirit. It is the place of being let go of, out of the gate. You crave more of faith.

The routines of life are behind the gate. But when one is let out of the gate by faith, he or she experiences the Spirit in new awesome ways. New freedoms. A letting go takes place. The more times you are let out of the normal, the more you want to be set free to follow the Spirit.

Faith is a process of being let out of the gate. Many times it is a big step into the unknown. Our natural man fights against this. It wants security, comfort and what it is familiar with.

Many that I have met, never go there. They stay behind the gate. Some all their lives. How sad.

We must remember that faith without action (which is works) is dead. This is why it is extremely important to develop faith in our lives. Small steps of faith lead to big steps. But don’t be afraid if God is leading you to take a big step when you don’t have a lot of little steps to back it. There is no set formula. Don’t by the book that says there is!

And yes, you might and probably will, make mistakes. But, it is much better to set out on faith and make some mistakes, then to never step out and never learn what it is like to experiance faith in action. Our faith can only grow with action. Otherwise, it is just talk, thoughts and good intentions.

I could share some of my faith experiences, but I want to hear yours. I want you to take the opportunity and glorify God in what you have experienced through faith in trusting Him.

Bless you as you share! Don’t be afraid!

5 Responses to ““Out of the gate””

  1. eternallyhopeful Says:

    This is beautiful…………. My job change feels very much as you have written. Attempting to let go, and move forward. Moving out of the comfort zone is not always easy to do. Roxanne
    http://www.eternallyhopeful.wordpress.com

  2. Richard Says:

    Roxanne,
    Thanks.
    I agree, it’s certainly not easy. But I know you can do it! All by his grace!
    May He continue to lead you in ways unimaginable!

  3. godsloveandlaw Says:

    Amen bro!
    Taking a “leap of faith” is what it’s all about. In recalling my own life, with so much sin abounding (stealing, coveting,bearing false witness,worshiping idols(money), etc.) I took a leap of faith and I read the bible from front to back, first time in my life. Then I took another “leap of faith” by trying His holy Sabbath. And WOW! It opened my eyes.Then I received several signs from the Lord. And I found His word SO TRUE! (John 14:21) “He that has my Commandments and keeps them, he it is that loves me and shall be loved by the Father, and I will REVEAL (I certainly saw this) myself to him” We must remember Jesus WROTE the Commandments on Mt. Sinai “All things were made by Him and nothing was not made without Him” So the “10” are His!
    We must continue to believe in Him and His holy Laws. It’s funny but I used that same anaolgy about the race horse in my post before “God’s power—message No.2” You sure you didn’t steal it? lol, just kidding. Your bro.

  4. Richard Says:

    godsloveandlaw,
    Thanks for sharing your experiance of faith.
    Hey, maybe it goes back the grandpa taking us to horse races? Wait a minute, you were really into that at one time, weren’t you?
    Good to hear from you!

  5. godsloveandlaw Says:

    lol, Yes I was. I even drove up to Santa Anita one time in the rain!lol. I’ll never forget I was standing around the betting lines and getting ready to place my bet and I look down and see a wad of crumpled tickets. They looked fresh so I picked them up. After I placed my bet I started reviewing them to see if there were any winners from the past races. Sure enough! A BIG winner. a 400.00 ticket! lol. man that made my day. Anyway , they were the times of my gambling periods. Never did beat the “races” ofcourse. Thank God, I don’t have that anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

