The traveling Word

Experiencing how God works in this world is the most enjoyable time I have found while living in this world.

I have experienced a lot of enjoyable times in my life with doing the average things such as, camping, rafting, fishing, going to the mountains, the coast etc. But none of these even close to experiencing God working through people, to try and reach people. It alone is true joy and satisfaction.

I would like to share another example of what I am talking about:

Today, while boarding the bus to come home from downtown, I went to the back like I usually do. As I got there, I sensed that I needed to sit across from where I usually sit. So I did. One other guy sat in the back row, as I sat on the side seats. After about 10 minutes, I reached into my pocket and pulled out a tract, and gave it to him. He took it and slowly read it. After he was done, he smiled and said that it was good. Then he placed it on the seat next to him.

After about 10 more minutes, I noticed that he gathered a few of his belongings which included the tract, and jumped up and proceeded forward to the front. As he passed, I said, “God bless you”. I just figured he was going to get off on the next stop. As I watched him, he went all the way up to the front of the bus and handed this guy the tract. He then turned back around and headed to his same seat he had before. He smiled and said out loud, “you gotta spread the word!” I smiled and said, “yeah!” The man who he gave it to up front, had this kind of look on his face that read, “why did you come all the way up here to give this to me?”

Now, I had noticed earlier that the guy that was sitting across from the guy who had received the tract, was a man that I have talked with on several occasions. He was a convicted bank robber who spent 30 yrs. in state penitentiaries around the United States for numerous bank robberies. When I originally met him, a few month’s back, he shared with me some of his story. He could write books about his life of crime. Each time that the Lord has led me to him over the month’s, I have shared the Gospel with him in some form or another and tried to encourage him to turn it all over to God. As yet, he hasn’t. But, I am still praying.

Anyways, when the man up front finished reading the tract, he turns and hands it to this man who had been the bank robber. I thought to myself, “wow!, just like God who gives this man another chance to hear about His Son, Jesus”. This man, like countless other’s, have had countless opportunities to receive Christ. This was just one more in his lifetime. Oh the love and mercy of God!

He takes it, and without looking to see what it says, returns it back to the man who gave it. He says something, but I couldn’t hear what it was. The man who takes it back, immediately hands it to the man on his left, as if it was a “hot potato” being passed around. The man who now receives it, reads it to himself, and afterwords, hangs on to it.

The man who I originally gave it to in the back, gets up to leave, and I say, “God bless you!” He smiles, and goes out the back door. After about another 10 minutes, I sensed that I needed to go up and say hi to my “bank robber” friend before he got off. So, I did. I sat in the seat behind him where his girl friend was. I had met her also before when I had originally met him. I said my hello’s, and asked them how they were doing.

After a short time, I asked him if he was getting any closer to God since the last time we talked. He said no, and said that he was still serving Satan. He did his usual laughing, and not treating anything serious. I really like the guy, ever since I met him. I believe that someday, hopefully soon, he will get saved.

Please pray for him. All I know is his prison nickname, which I think best, not to share. His name alone, and how he came to receive it, has a story all it’s own. It would sell volumes.

So there you have it. Another day, experiencing God with how He works. And that was just the bus ride home. Can you see in a little way, how I have no desire to do much of anything else anymore?

Again, I share these experiences, for one reason only, that you also, if not already, would get out there and experience God.

For those who don’t yet have a relationship with God through Christ, this is one big reason to come to Christ. Experience life here on the earth! Experience God! It takes the boredom out of life. If your bored, if your not satisfied with life, if your depressed etc. turn to God and receive life through Christ!

God bless you!

Leave a Reply

