God speaks through songs

I heard this song this morning on my way to work. I have heard it a few times before, but never really caught hold of the words. Or, possibly it wasn’t the right time. I know that God speaks through songs/music for sure. Like I have said recently, He has been speaking to me a lot through them.

For anybody that doubts the fact, take a look at the Book of Psalms. David wrote many songs through his life experiences. We read them and tend to forget what he went through that caused him to write them. Good songs always come from the heart and from the experiences that the songwriter has personally gone through.

When we hear songs that speak to us, it is because we can relate to some or all of what’s being sung. It hits a cord within our heart. It can make us sad or happy. It can cause us to cry or smile, but never the less, it speaks to us.

For most people, life has dealt them some form of pain or loss. While it can be viewed by others as not really much loss or pain, it is to them real. Why? Because they are the ones who went through it personally. Nobody can know the exact pain or loss that they personally went through. There are lots of similarities in loss and pain, but it still does not take away from the personal experience. We are all different individuals which process our suffering, grief and pain differently.

In this song, it can speak to one through several ways. Just a couple of examples could be:

Maybe one has built a beautiful house, or had a business that they started from scratch, and in a moment of time it was gone. For some, a flood, earthquake or storm has taken away their house. Or maybe, the storm of a financial collapse has taken away their lifelong savings.

Maybe one has dreamed of someday being able to live with someone who really loves them. They have dreamed for years to no avail.

Maybe one has been praying for years that someday there will be a cure for their child who cannot walk because of a birth defect.

Maybe someone has loved their wife or husband for years and years, only to see them be taken away because of cancer. Or one who has been faithful to their spouse for years, only to find out that their spouse has been unfaithful.

Whatever the loss, pain, hurt or grief, this song does have determination built into it. It speaks of, “Build it anyway”, “Dream it anyway”, “Do it anyway”, “Believe it anyway”, “Love em anyway”, “Sing it anyway”.

Through it all we must have a foundation to stand on when like the song says, “life ain’t good” because of what we are experiencing or what we have experienced. At any rate, there must be a foundation to stand on when the storm comes. Most will turn to drugs and or alcohol to cope when the storm hits. This will not help cure the pain, only nullify it to help make it comfortable. Only to wake up to it the next day and start it all over again.

Our foundation must be found in God through Christ. Nothing in this world is for certain. Our jobs, our houses, our children, our spouses, our boy friends, our girl friends etc. can be taken from us in a heart beat. As I have said, “people can let us down, but God will never”. We must not put our faith in people. If we do, we could be setting ourselves up for real pain and disappointment. Our faith must be in God alone.

I remember years ago, hearing from a friend about his friends lost. This man had a lovely wife and three small kids. One day, the wife takes the children out in the car to go get some food to eat. She meets with an oncoming car head on. Both the wife and the three small children are taken out into eternity. The husband comes home from work, and after a while, begins to wonder what is taking the wife so long. (this was back before the “cell phone”). Finally, he gets the unthinkable knock on the door…….

Life is not fair. For some it is much harder than for others. There is no known reason as to why some do really suffer and others suffer little. But, in any case, suffering is suffering. Pain is pain. Grief is grief. Heartache is heartache. To the one who is experiencing it, it is real.

Let us have more compassion on others and what they have or are going through.

I can relate with pain, loss and heartache. I can truly say that if I would have not been found on the Rock, I would have been sinking deep by now. I am so thankful for all of God’s help over the past two years. I do give him all the credit for being the Rock for which I can stand on. Without him there is no real hope, especially when we consider eternity.

After reading these words, listen to the song at the end and see if it speaks to you. If you know God through Christ, may He continue to give you determination to press on and “Dream”, “Build”, “Do”, “Believe”, “Love” and “Sing”. If you don’t know God, may you turn to Him and put your faith in Christ. May you be blessed!

SONG:” Anyways” By Martina McBride

You can spend your whole life buildin’

Something from nothin
One storm can come and blow it all away
Build it anyway

You can chase a dream
That seems so out of reach
And you know it might not ever come your way
Dream it anyway

God is great but sometimes life aint good
And when I pray
It doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway
I do it anyway

This worlds gone crazy
And it’s hard to believe
That tomorrow will be better than today
Believe it anyway

You can love someone with all YOUR heart
For all the right reasons
And in a moment they can choose to walk away
love em anyway

God is great but sometimes life aint good
And when I pray
It doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway
Yeah I do it anyway, yeah,

You can pour your soul out singin’
A song you believe in
That tomorrow they’ll forget you ever sang
Sing it anyway
Yeah sing it anyway, yeah, yeah

I sing
I dream
I love anyway, yeah.

9 Responses to “God speaks through songs”

  1. Prodigal Knot Says:

    Dear Richard, brother,

    I haven’t heard this song (don’t listen to much radio or TV), but, my, those are powerful words and I just needed to read them today. I DO get discouraged by other people and the way they walk away from Go or try to make God fit into what they want. But, I must continue to walk anyway, believe anyway, do good anyway, and pray, pray, pray.

    Thanks, bro! You made my day!
    Steve

  2. Richard Says:

    Steve,
    Thanks bro. glad you were blessed!
    Yes, continue to “walk, believe, do and pray” anyways!
    God bless you brother!

  3. david gast Says:

    Your song was removed from youtube by the user and I would really like to hear it if that is possible? I’m sure this is a waste of time but, tell me something…

  4. Richard Says:

    Hi David. I just put in a new address for YouTube. Hope your blessed by it and growing in our Lord Jesus Christ.

  5. today Says:

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually understand what
    you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked.

    Please additionally visit my website =). We can have a link exchange contract among us

  6. Richard Says:

    Thanks “today” for stopping by! I will check your site

  7. Joe Says:

    Simply awesome, great words, very poignant, you brought tears to my eyes. Thanks and Gog bless your path.

Leave a Reply

