“I Refuse!”

 

Like I have said many times, it’s all by choice. You and I can choose each day how we want to live. I am not talking about circumstances that are beyond our choice. In life, there are many things that happen to us that we have no choice over. But, we must not camp there. We must take a hard look at our life, and see how we are living. Are we satisfied? Are we content? I am talking about deep down inside. Only we can answer these questions. We can all put on a real front to the outside world.

The main reasons why most people are not truly satisfied, is because first off, they are living for themselves. Our world cries out for us to live more for ourselves than for anyone or anything. It is and has raised, more self-seeking individuals then ever before. It yells out to us, “it’s all about me”.

So, we must ponder within ourselves what must change? I have lived on this earth for X amount of years, am I truly satisfied? Do I enjoy daily living? Or, is the only time I enjoy living is when I am off doing my own thing? Off somewhere besides work?

In my life, I have found out what makes true peace, contentment, joy and satisfaction. It is coming into a relationship with our creator. It is getting to know Him on a personal basis. I am not talking about some religious siff-coat life. I am not even talking about church going. While, church can be good and encouraging, that is only 2 to 3 hours a week, out of 168. I am talking about daily living for something other than ourselves.

Besides this developing relationship with God, which has to do with people, life takes on real meaning and purpose. You began to live for God and for others. Does this mean that it will always be easy? No. But satisfying? Yes. I have tried both in this life, and I can truly say that not living for myself is far more meaningful and purposeful.

If you have been living for yourself up until this point in your life, why not choose to change? If you’re not truly happy and content with daily living, then what have you got to lose? I can’t stress enough that I am talking “Daily living” here. Not “evening living” or “weekend living” or not even “vacations” or “retirement”. No, I am talking “Daily living”.

The following is a song by Josh Wilson. You can go to the video at the end and hear it. God bless you!

Sometimes I,
I just want to close my eyes
And act like everyone’s alright
When I know they’re not.
This world needs God
But it’s easier to stand and watch.
I could pray a prayer and just move on
Like nothing’s wrong.

But I refuse.

‘Cause I don’t want to live like I don’t care.
I don’t want to say another empty prayer.
Oh, I refuse to
Sit around and wait for someone else
To do what God has called me to do myself.
Oh, I could choose
Not to move but I refuse.

I can hear the least of these
Crying out so desperately,
And I know we are the hands and feet
Of you, oh God.
So, if you say move,
Then it’s time for me to follow through,
And do what I was made to do.
Show them who you are.

‘Cause I don’t want to live like I don’t care.
I don’t want to say another empty prayer.
Oh, I refuse to
Sit around and wait for someone else
To do what God has called me to do myself.
Oh, I could choose
Not to move but I refuse.

To stand and watch
The weary and lost
Cry out for help.
I refuse
To turn my back
And try and act like all is well.
I refuse
To stay unchanged,
To wait another day,
To die to myself.
I refuse
To make one more excuse.

‘Cause I don’t want to live like I don’t care.
I don’t want to say another empty prayer.
Oh, I refuse to
Sit around and wait for someone else
To do what God has called me to do myself.
Oh, I could choose
Not to move, but I refuse

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PY4iILWisIg

4 Responses to ““I Refuse!””

  1. Scotti Says:

    This is a great song. The line about empty prayers is so convicting! How many times have I offered a prayer but not my time, money, assistance….it is so important to walk the talk daily. We are the hands and feet of God Himself! He wants to work through His children daily.

  2. Richard Says:

    Scotti,
    It’s so good to hear from you! It has been a while. Yes, we are to be “His hands and feet” Amen!
    I trust the Lord has been blessing you all along the way!

  3. Stella Young Says:

    The words are great – Laodicea – wake up – get moving – get active – God’s harvest needs workers. The lyrics say it all.
    That being said – it is too bad the heavy drum beat overpowers the words when you are trying to listen to them in the song. I got more out of it because you typed the words – thanks for being thoughtful enough to do that.
    Stella

  4. Richard Says:

    Stella,
    Yeah, didn’t really notice the drum beat all that much. The words are really true, aren’t they. Glad you were blessed!

Leave a Reply

