Spitting bullets

To me she looked like your average lady in her mid-sixties. She was kind of small in stature. A little on the heavier side. Her hair was covered with a scarf. I was presuming that it was because of the rain. To me, your everyday women.

That morning, before going out, I was led to some scriptures regarding those who would not make it into the kingdom of heaven. His word does list some certain types of people who will not enter.

So, as usual, I wrote down a few scriptures that I was given that morning, and headed out the door. When I arrived into the city, I had no clear direction as to where to go. This is not unusual for me, in fact it is probably the norm. It usually takes some prayer walking before I can hear, or sence where to go, or where to stop, or stay.

After about an hour or so, I ended up on a corner that I had only been to maybe three or four times at the most. I just stood there holding out a tract, with an occasional word or two. Very little response in the 30 or 40 minutes that I was there. So, I sensed that it was time to head over to the “square”. This is the “popular” place for evangelism of any type. But, for me, I want to only go there if I sence a leading to go there. I did, so off I went. It was one of the typical rainy days we get here. I went to a place that you might say, is my favorite spot. It also has a covering in which to stand, if it’s raining.

So, I stood there holding out a tract. At this place, people are waiting for the next light rail train that heads west. Little by little the crowd builds. Then, the Spirit prompted me to open the word and began sharing. I sensed that this was the time and opportunity to share what He gave me that morning, so I did……..

It started like this…. “God’s word tells us about those who will not make it into the kingdom of God. Those who will not inherit the kingdom. Fornicator’s, those who have sex…” AND THEN, ALL OF A SUDDEN, A LADY THAT WAS STANDING RIGHT NEXT TO ME, ON MY RIGHT SIDE, SHOUTED AND “WENT INTO ONE” for the next 10 minutes.

She said things like, “who do you think you are?”. “What right do you have to tell all these people this?”. “How dare you, talk like this!”  She went on and on, yelling the whole time.

Now, one thing I have learned, when it comes to “preaching” and that is, when one tries to stop the word and the Spirit, don’t give in. ( only by the Holy Spirit, of course. Only His power). So, all the time she was carrying on, the Spirit was still delivering. I must admit, that this lady was just like a “pack of wolves” in the spirit. She was ferocious and very furious. For just a second or two, I was temped to stop and address her. But, the Spirit said, “keep going”. As usual, there were several that were watching this as it was going on. Many times, it is for those who are on the sidelines. This has bore witness, more than once. In fact, just last week, for that matter.

This was awesome. A younger girl appeared just a minute into this lady’s rampage. She stepped in and said to the lady, “this man is doing nothing wrong. He’s not yelling. He is just speaking. He has every right too”. Well, this made her all the more mad. By now she was “spitting bullets”. I thank God for his armour! The fiery darts just reflected off the shield of faith, bless the Lord!

She asked me, “where are you getting this?” This was the only time I answered her. I said, “from the word of God”. She said, “oh, how do you know that’s God’s word?” As I attempted to answer her, she took her hand and hit my bible. I was so glad that I had a firm grip on it. Her hand just bounced off the cover. There was a lot of water in front of me, so that would not have been good, had it fallen to the ground.

I quickly remained in the Spirit and went on sharing what the Spirit was giving me. She never stopped, neither did I. Soon, she went off yelling and boarding the train, for who knows where.

Well, just another outing on the streets. We will continue to pray for that lady, and many others out there who need God so desperately.

Oh, for those who are interested, we were sharing from 1Cor.6:9-10. And Gal.5:19-21.

8 Responses to “Spitting bullets”

  1. brian Says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience Richard. I am sensing that same spirit of antagonism against the word. The word says in 1 Samuel that rebellion is the sin of witchcraft, and I really know that there is an active darkness out there bewitching people into gross deception. The only way to combat this evil is with the everlasting truth of Gods word. Our sufficiency is of Him. Pray that I will boldly proclaim His truth in this ever-so deceptive climate. Amen!

  2. Richard Says:

    Brian, Amen brother! I will pray for you brother. Pray for me also.

  3. Stella Says:

    I am blown away, Richard – what an incredible encounter. I have to hand it to you – you have guts and obviously that is because God is your strength and shield. You must have hit a very tender nerve with her. I am so glad that girl came up to affirm you. You did not deserve the ranting of that woman – but Jesus didn’t deserve what He got either, did He? You are a good example for us all. There are not many who would or could do what you do. God’s fields are ready for harvest – the workers are few. God bless you as you continue to search out His perfect will for your life. Stella Ps. You have a been given a gift for writing as well. Beautifully written. Hope you are going to write a book about your journey with Jesus.

  4. Richard Says:

    Stella,
    All by the grace of God as you well know. Yeah, it all goes with the territory for sure. Little did I know that morning when He gave me the scriptures to share, that this lady would pipe in the minute I went into the first verse.
    Hey, here is a good one. Today, I was led to the same spot. Had different scriptures though, but a younger lady stepped in and came against the word just like the last lady. She wasn’t as fierce as the other, but she was relentless though.
    Thanks for you most gracious comment. The Lord bless and keep you!

  5. Stella Says:

    Hi Richard, we are told that angels attend us and it would not surprise me to know that God sent an angel to stand up against the evil that would try to prevail against the reading of God’s Word. Yes, God can use His angels or He can use those of us who are willing as well. Who knows which was the case in both instances. Surely you must be encouraged when you see God leading and working in this way.
    Blessing to you, my dear brother in Jesus. I am praying for you and the ministry God has led you to. Stella

  6. Richard Says:

    Stella,
    Oh yeah sister. We were just talking about that yesterday. Very true. Thanks for your prayers.
    May He continue to bless you as you go out with Him

  7. Gwendolin Christie Says:

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This type of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

  8. Richard Says:

    Thanks Gwendolin. And thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

