“I don’t know, I’m not from around here”

Imagine with me for a moment…. You’re riding your motorcycle way out in the country. You are lost, and trying to find a certain lake. You are driving in an area that is nothing but apple, cherry and pear orchards. The country roads are narrow and windy, and every farm-house is about a quarter of a mile apart. It’s a beautiful sunny day, but you are getting frustrated because you can’t find the road that goes to the lake that you came up here to visit.

You have been running from God for years now. You no longer believe that there is a God. All the stuff that has gone bad in your life, you blame God for a lot of it. You are bitter and angry at God.

Stay with me now……

You come upon the crest of the road and it heads down hill now. You haven’t seen any sight of a human for miles now, but way up ahead, you see a guy in a bright yellow shirt, standing off to the side of the road. Your not sure what he is doing just standing there by himself way out in the middle of nowhere, but it’s worth a try to ask him

As you get close to him, you shut off the motorcycle, and coast up to him and say, “excuse me, but do you know where the road that leads to “lost lake” is? The man smiles and says, “I don’t know, I’m not from around here.” You say, “oh sorry, maybe I must have passed it back there some where.” The man says, “yeah, I don’t know”.

You proceed to start your motorcycle up, but before you do, the man says, “wait, I have something for you”. He pulls a postcard out of his pocket, and you notice “John 3:16” on the top of it. The man says, “what about Jesus?” You start you motorcycle up and say, “I don’t believe in God”. The man says, “but God loves you!”

You make a quick u-turn and head off in the other direction.

NOW, BACK TO REALITY.

What do you think the man on the motorcycle would be thinking as he drove further down the road? Here he was out in the middle of no where, and a man in a yellow shirt appears out of no where, just standing off the side of the road? And this guy mentions Jesus of all things to him? What about John 3:16? Did the man hear that verse a few times in his life? Did he use to quote it?  We will never know this side of eternity, what that man thought of the rest of that day. I can only imagine because of what I know about God. Small it may be, but I know that He is always pursuing people with His love and giving them many opportunities. And His love has to do with His Son Jesus (Jn 3:16). God also makes no mistakes in everything he does.

Do you think it was just a coincidence that he was searching for a lake that had its name “lost?”

In the right sence, may this man not be at rest until he makes his peace with God through Christ. Eternity is too long to be without Christ.

I WAS THE GUY IN THE YELLOW SHIRT. Do you think it was just “happen chance” that this happened?

All I knew, was that I was on a prayer walk after parking my car at a remote park that was back down the road. Why was I standing there on the side of the road? Why didn’t I just keep walking, or cross the street?

I must admit, that it was strange to watch the guy slow down way up the road, then shut his motorcycle off and coast like a magnet right up to me. Fortunately, I knew that it was a “divine appointment”. Sometimes I miss it.

This is what I enjoy in life. Watching God at work. Investing in the Kingdom of God for eternity. Trying to always be aware of what is going on with people around me. Looking forward with anticipation. Nothing else in life comes close to experiencing God at work. Nothing

5 Responses to ““I don’t know, I’m not from around here””

  1. brian Says:

    Thanks Richard for encouraging us to be the Church. Yeah, that rider may not have liked it, but he drove to church that day and was confronted with that Word that will not return void.

  2. Richard Says:

    Brian,
    Thanks brother. Right on acessment!

  3. Stella Bick Says:

    A successful salesman knows His product well – lives and breaths it – takes every opportunity to get it out there in front of the public. God must smile at your faithful dedication to plant seeds for the kingdom.
    The guy on the cycle can run, but he canot hide. Like it or not, your words will continue to ring in his ears and one day — one day — he will come to terms with your seed words.

    Bless you Richard as you continue to follow God’s leading wherever it takes you. You will meet people in heaven who will thank you for what you have said and done. Stella

  4. Richard Says:

    Thanks Stella. Bless the Lord, I wouldn’t trade it for the world, and I mean it!

  5. Stella Bick Says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 S.

Leave a Reply

