Ministers of the Spirit

I write a lot about “experiencing God as your living”. This of course, can take on countless forms with each one of us. The main thing is, are we experiencing God daily as we go out? Do we want to? Is it a priority in our life? Or, is the only time we experience God is in our church? Is that the only time we want to? Is that the only time we are accustomed to? The only time we are comfortable?

It is important to be reminded that God is everywhere we go. And, that He is about people. Most often when we go out the front door, we are going to run into people. People that God gave his Son for. Most often He chooses to work through his people. And, in any facet of life, He wants to work. Do we want Him to work through us? You know, if you’re not willing, He will surely find someone who will. If you’re not willing to be used, what will you miss out on? Blessings from Him. Not only in this life, but the next. Why should we wait for heaven, when we can experience Him now? Eternity with Him started the day we were born the second time. How much have you experienced Him in eternity?

The only reason I want to share my experiences, is that in the hope that someone will be blessed by them and be encouraged to get out, if they are not currently doing so. And if not so, may they be convicted in the right sense of the word to move out of their comfort zone by faith into the unknown. Being shy or uncomfortable is no excuse when you got the host of heaven behind you. A lack of faith is no excuse either.

Some of us are “street ministers”, but all of us who have been born the second time around are called to be ministers in some form or fashion.

May you see yourself as a minister of God’s love in the realm (kingdom) in which you are called.

Today started out like most any other day that I take to the streets. When I hit the pavement, I sensed that I was to visit a local coffee shop in which I haven’t been to in about two month’s. So, off I headed. It is about three blocks from where I live. When I got there, the owner was behind the counter. I had talked to her many times before. She knows a little bit about me, so today she says, “so are you going out to preach today?” I smiled and told her that I wasn’t sure and that a lot of times I don’t “preach”. I shared that what I really like to experience is the “one on one” divine appointments.

What little I know about her is that she definitely has some kind of religious background. When we have shared in the past, she has led on to that. So, I will continue to pray for her because our God knows just where we all are with Him. We see on the outside, but God looks on and knows the heart.

After leaving there, I proceeded to walk south to the downtown area. Soon, I noticed a car stuck in the middle of an intersection. I walked over to see if I could help. Her SUV was stuck in four-wheel drive. I offered some advice, but to no avail did it work. Finally, a couple walks up, and the girl knows just what to do, having had a truck very similar. So, she tells the lady what to do and woo-la, it works. The lady drives off, and we all go our separate ways. I said God bless you to the girl, and she said, thank you.

Finally, I get to a bus stop and wait there for the next bus. When I am waiting, I ask God what is going on here at this stop. There are a couple of people waiting also. I looked at one guy, then looked across the street. A couple of signs stood out as I read them. I heard the Spirit say, “tell him this”. As I was forming the words by the Spirit coming from the signs, I hesitated. I thought to myself, I haven’t given anybody some words since last week when I did to a lady on the train. Before that, it had been month’s. I am not, or at least to this point in my walk, not one of those who continually give out “words” from the Lord to people. I know that there are many that continually do so on a regular basis. I say, that is awesome. But like anything we do for the Lord, we must be sure we are continually checking in with Him so as to not fall into routine or with what is comfortable and or familiar.

I am one of those who do not like to “label” ministry. I know we do, but why? Does it have to have a label? In this case, I am referring to “Prophetic Ministry”. Isn’t prophetic ministry just hearing from the Lord and delivering what you hear? I know that it can be used both in the “body” and to those who have yet to come into the body. I prefer to just say that it is going out and being led of the Spirit, and saying or doing whatever He shows you, and how He shows you.

So, back to the guy at the bus stop. The words that the Lord gave me was, “the chic you have been seeing is sub-par for you”. So by His grace and help, I walked over to the guy and said, “excuse me, but I just heard these words for you”. He took his ear buds out and said, “what’s that?”. I said, “the chic you have been seeing is sub-par for you”. He smiled and said, “well, I don’t know about that”. I said, “well if it apply’s, use it. If not, throw it out”. Soon the bus came. As we were getting on he turned to me and said, “I am seeing many girls so I don’t know what to do with that”. I smiled and said, “He knows”. And we boarded the bus.

I thought to myself, so this is what we are in for today. Cool.

As I walked down the aisle to find a seat, I sensed that I was to sit next to this young girl, so I did. One minute into the ride, I looked up and saw a sign on the bus which the Lord gave me from it, “just because you are small is no reason to not reach for the TALL”. I knew she had ear buds in and I could hear her music. Then, I remembered, oh yeah I could write it out for her from the tablet I have in my coat pocket. So I did. She took and read it, then smiled and said, “thank you, I’m going to hang on to this one”. So she put it in her purse. She got off on the next stop and smiled and said thank you.

I thought to myself, this is fun. I can’t remember a time when this has happened in such rapid succession.

After getting on the train to go downtown, I stopped off at a market a short ways into the trip. I used the restroom, then grabbed something to eat. When I got in line to check out, my eyes fell on the lady that was a cashier. I thought to myself, “am I going to get something for her?”. I looked to my left then noticed a sign that said “zip” something. Then the Lord gave me this, “as you zip through life, don’t forget the one who created you”. When it was my turn I relayed that to her. She smiled and said, “I’m with you”. I smiled back and said, “oh that’s good!”.

Standing on the platform waiting for the train, my eyes looked upon this guy waiting also. We got on and he sat right above the area where I typically stand. I sensed that this was also a guy that the Lord would have a word for. I sensed that I was supposed to write this one out also and give it to him. I saw the word, “choose”. Then I heard, “choose close your friends”. I thought to myself, “does that make sence?”. Then I heard, “just give it to him”. So I did. He looked like he was of Asian decent, so I asked him if he understood. He said that he kind of did. Then, the Spirit gave me the interpretation, “be careful of the friends you choose”. When I said that to him, he smiled and said that he got it now.

As the train proceeded down the track, I noticed a guy had gotten on at the last stop. I waited on the Lord to see if there was anything for him. I looked to my left and noticed the words “emergency”. Soon I heard, “God will help you prepare for the coming emergency”. So, as the train was coming to the next stop I walked over to him to deliver the goods. He took his ear bud out and after I shared with him what I had, he said, “I’m an atheist”. I said something like, “well, God can work with that”.

Now this is the strange part with this particular guy. After I had given him the words and proceeded out the door, he just stood there if he was not going to get off the train at this particular stop. A few moments later, I look to my left and he goes walking by me with his bike. I soon see him and his bike riding off in a different direction. What was that all about? Was he going to stay on the train before receiving those words? It kinda seemed like it. I guess I will have to wait until someday to find out.

After getting off the train, I walked east to board another train. In route, I noticed some people waiting for a bus. I paused there and asked the Lord, “is there anybody here?”. My eyes fell on this girl with bright red ear phones on. On the side of the ear phones was the letter “b”. I heard, “boys don’t care”. I thought after that one, “what?”. I said to myself “whatever”. So the bus came and I went over and told her that. She stood there trying to understand it. The bus driver wondered if she was going to get on the bus or not. Finally she did.

This next one, I was really blessed by and so was the person that received it.

As I headed out east on the train, I had a vision of me standing in a book store in the mall. I was familiar with this store, having been there many times before. I saw myself standing in a particular location over by the restroom. People were going in and out. Then, I saw myself talking to a person.

So, I got off a few stops later and headed to the mall. But, when I hit the park, once again the Lord had me pray over this park. Long story short here, but that the Lord has done some awesome things here and is going to do some really way out stuff in the coming days. So I did my prayer walk and then headed into the mall.

I found the spot inside the bookstore. I stood there looking at the books and watching people go in and out of the restroom which was right next to where I was standing. I encouraged a few people as they went in and out. Then, I saw this big guy coming with his lady friend. He yells out, “hey are you in line?”. I smiled and said, “nope, no line here. It’s free and clear to go in though”. He smiled and walked in.

As he came out, I sensed that this was the guy that I had seen in my vision. So, I proceeded to speak as the Spirit gave me the words to say to him. Now, I have experienced this on countless times when the Spirit gives you the words to “preach” or to say to someone, and if you were asked to repeat them at a later time, you would not remember what it was that you did say. The jest, oh yeah, but not in its entirety. Such was the case again. The jest was that he was encouraged to get into the boat with Jesus and that it was serious. He had told me that he was “Native American” and said that it was all the same. I assured him that it was not and that it was all about Jesus.

I would occasionally look over at his friend and she was beaming from ear to ear. She was soaking up every word. The guy was totally captivated by the Spirit. When I gave him testimony about how I saw myself in a vision standing here talking to a guy, and then I said to him “YOUR THAT GUY!”. He was blown away to say the least. Forever changed? By faith I believe so!

Then, I proceeded to walk the top part of the mall. Soon, I passed a Starbucks and went in. As I came out and was putting my sugar and cream into my coffee, I struck up a conversation with the guy next to me. I listened to him tell me about his kids. He shared how that two of them had been in the ROTC in high school. He then went into talking about the military in which he himself was once in. Soon, after listening to him share about what was important to him, he paused for a moment. I then said to him, “what have you done with Jesus in your life?”. He smiled and then went into his religious experiences in life. They were things like, he had a “Mormon” girl friend at one time. He now has a friend at work who is a “7th day Adventist”.

Soon the Spirit led me into sharing with him that it is not all about religion, and that it’s a spiritual kingdom. We shared things like, God is spirit, his kingdom is spiritual, and that it takes a spiritual birth to enter into and perceive it. He kinda agreed, but was also of the like persuasion of  a “good person” will make it. We shared again that it was all about Jesus.

As if this day was already packed enough, we went by a reception desk in the mall and noticed a lady sitting there at the desk. Somewhere I spotted a sign that had something to do with “Give me your all”. So, she was busy with a customer, so I wrote it down and handed it to her and said, “the Lord wanted me to share this with you”.

Soon, I stopped off at the local Safeway store. The checker, whose name was John, was encouraged to read the book of John. I had originally asked him how he was doing. He said, “better than I deserve”. I said, “me too!”

After Safeway, I went across the street to Goodwill. I thought I was going there to see if they had a “water pot” because mine gave up the ghost last week. Once inside, I went to the back of the store. In route, I look to my left, and there was a guy that we have been working with to help him overcome his addictions. He made the commit, “who would have thought that we would both meet here?” I assured him that God is perfect and exact in all His ways. We aren’t.

On the way home on the train tonight, my eyes fixed on a guy up towards the front. As I looked around, I saw the word “Maximum”. I heard, “you can reach your maximum potential only with Me (God)”. I wrote it down and went up and handed it to him before the train got to the next stop. He left his ear buds in and refused to take it, but said “thanks”.

There was also this mother of two on the train. She had one in the stroller. I looked up and saw the word “overlook”. Then I heard, “Don’t overlook God’s blessings”. So, I shared it with her. She thanked me and I said, “you are blessed”. She smiled and left out the door and said, “have a nice evening!”. I said, “you too!”

So, we are ministers of the Spirit of God that is within us. And, if within us, then it must come out in some form or fashion. Remembering, that the Spirit of God is always fluid, always moving.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Ministers of the Spirit”

  1. Brian Johnson Says:

    Thanks for sharing the details. I’m encouraged in Toronto Canada.

  2. Richard Says:

    You are welcome Brian! It was quite the day. I took notes this day because I sensed that I would need to have them to be able to share. Things were happening so fast, glad I did. Glad you were blessed!

Leave a Reply

