People in a needy area

This morning the Spirit showed me that He wanted me to visit a part of town that I haven’t been to in over six month’s. When I first heard this, I really didn’t want to go. I was just not enthused about going there this time. However, I have learned that it’s not about whither I want to go or not, it’s about what He wants to do.

After getting off the max train, I started to walk in a different area to get to this part of town. This time, I came from another direction. It was from the west. All the other times that I can remember were from the north, either walking or by bus.

After about a block or two, I looked to my left and noticed a man standing outside of a place of business and looking at his phone. Quickly the Spirit had me focus on his shirt that he was wearing. It said, “I’m in a boat”. Then I heard the Spirit say, “the boat, ah, you know what to do with that”. I smiled and said, “oh yes”.

A brother and I, will sometimes use “boat” in reference to sharing Christ and telling them that they need to “get in the boat” with Jesus.

So I walked over to the guy and said, “hey, I like your shirt!” He smiled and said, “thanks”. I then proceeded to share with him how that many times I will share Jesus with people and use the “boat” as saying, “are you in the boat yet?”. I then asked him if he was familiar with the story of Noah and the Ark. He said that he was. I then said that it’s the same today, God is trying to get people in the boat before it takes off. He listened and was receptive to what he heard. Another reminder, another seed.

After that encounter, I went by the “Polish Association” building. As I was passing by, I noticed a billboard and a map of Poland. As I stood there looking at it, my mind went back years ago when the Wall was still up and we went into Poland, taking with us something that the brothers and sisters counted as priceless. I will never forget. Blessed again with the reminder.

As I approached the area, I was once again reminded that one of Satan’s main tools is “preoccupation”. Whatever and whoever he can use to distract from them receiving from their maker, he will do. He is doing a very good job of it. In fact, I would say that he is getting better all the time at the art of preoccupation.

Soon we were onto the main street of this area. I am well familiar with this area, having been here many times. We went into a prayer walk immediately as we walked down the sidewalk. A ways down the road, we were hit with the word “Perversion”. It came strong and continually as we spent the next couple hours in walking and sitting in prayer.

I can honestly say that since the last time I was here, the increase in “iniquity” which is perversion, has dramatically increased in as little as six months. Yep, only six months.

Continuing in prayer, I kept hearing “twisted”. I know that is a popular “cool” word, but this had some depth to it. When I got home this evening, I went into study again on “Iniquity”, “Perversion” and the like. I will not take all the time here, but a few things might be a good reminder.

Iniquity in the Hebrew means, “perversity ie (moral) evil, fault. Along with some other meanings, it also means “to distort”. After much study, I came to the Webster definition of Distort. It means, “to twist, to twist out of the true meaning or proportion, to twist out of a natural, normal or original shape or condition, pervert.”

So when the Spirit gave me the words “perversion” and “twisted”, He wasn’t far off.

So now we are in prayer ever more so for the people of this area. And, asking when we are to go back and what we are to do. They need Jesus, like really bad. It’s one of the “core” areas of this city.

 

2 Responses to “People in a needy area”

  1. timbob Says:

    Hi Richard. Matthew 24:22 came to mind as I was considering this, along with a recent observation that I heard from two different people in different venues. The observation was this: On a national scale, we have passed a point of no return. The iniquity is so thick and “twisted” (perfect description…twisted) that judgment can no longer be stayed. We are in a season of individual repentance on a personal level.” This is why hitting the streets and reaching anyone who has ears to hear is so important. In this late hour, the stragglers are coming in. The final fruits of an age which has run its course.

    Thanks so much for sharing your insights. Blessings always in Jesus name.

  2. Richard Says:

    Right on brother! So true.
    After a day like today, when you spend three hours sharing the gospel on one corner and you get only a few responses from the countless people that pass by with blank stares, it’s encouraging. As always He sends by a brother or sister, like today, that prayed for me. Also, one man who sat at the same corner a month ago, listened again today. He was really appreciative. He loves to hear the Spirit speaking, he said. Most that would see him or hear him, would right him off because of his looks and vocabulary. We are going to be truly surprised as to who made it into the kingdom of heaven.

Leave a Reply

