Holy Spirit can adapt us to any type of people

“I’ve read the bible several times. Seems to be a very good piece of literature.”

I love to see God operate right out the gate. I was getting on the first bus this morning on my way to work. Walking to the back, i noticed a young kid sitting in one of the corner seats. I took the other. I asked him how he was doing. He said, “fine, and you?”
I told him i was fine and we began to talked about what a beautiful morning it was. He agreed.
Then i said, “would you like one of my cards?” He said, “Yeah, sure”. I let him glance at it for a minute and then said, “what do you think?”. That’s when he said in a very intelligent voice, “I’ve read the bible several times. It seems to be a very good piece of literature.”
Now this kid was maybe 14 at best. I had asked him earlier where he was going and he told me he was going to the library. He seemed to me, to have a very eccentric personality. On several occasions before, the Lord has led me to these types of people. I find them very intriguing.
This is what i love about the Holy Spirit. He can make us adapt to any type of person. And, make that person adapt to us. Here was i, a much older guy and of seemly far less intelligence, talking with a young kid who could probably blow me out of the water as far as his thinking ability.
The Spirit had me relate to him the story of the ruler (teacher) of the Jews, Nicodemus as recorded in John chapter 3. When i gave attention to the word “see” found where Jesus mentioned that unless one is born again, they cannot “see” the kingdom of God, he perked up. I related to him the meaning of that word, and he took notice.
I believe it was exactly what he needed to hear. He needed to hear that it was a spiritual birth needed to not only begin to understand, but also to enter.
The bus stopped. He got up first and thanked me. I said “God bless you!” and off we parted. He going to the library, i going to the next bus stop.
I am always so blessed to encounter people who God is pointing to.
What about you in your daily travels? Are you aware and in the Spirit when you set out for the day? Do you love people and want to share the gospel with them? Are you too busy to stop for a minute and strike up a conversation? Have you lately said to a perfect stranger, “hey i like your coat!” or “how’s your day going?”. Many times, all it takes, and all God is waiting for, is for us to step out by faith and say something.
Just do it!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

