“Out the gate”

gate

It’s what i call it when you go out the door (or it could be a gate) and God has someone immediately there in your pathway. It could be right as you open the door and there stands somebody, or it could be within a few feet. Either way, there is a person there. Now the question here is, do I notice the person? And if I notice them, do I care? Am I in too much of a rush to even want to notice them? And, if I do indeed notice them, so what? Do I just think it is life and so what?

I am convinced that God is always moving people, and causing them to be at a certain place in a certain point of time so someone can reach them with the most important message of all time, the gospel. And as i have always said, “He saved us to reach people for Him”. He does the placement, then we are to do the seed planting. And of course, He causes the growth.

The key is that when we go “out the gate” we are in the Spirit?. We are quickened by the Spirit. We are watching, looking, seeing, and hearing. This of course must have started while we were behind the four walls, and then moved out into the world for the day.

Here are two recent examples of what i am talking about.

A couple of days ago i went out my front door to go get my car that was parked a couple of blocks away from the previous night. Where i live, parking is at a premium. The short street has six apartment complexes. And while there is some rented spaces off the street, most of us park on the street.

As i walked away from my front door and turned left, i immediately saw this guy standing there on the lawn staring at an orange tree. I asked him what he was up to. He told me that he was placing “fruit fly” traps in the tree. He then explained a little about his job with the state. Our conversation included a chat about the nice weather we were having that morning. As he was packing up his stuff i asked him if he was a “follower of Jesus”. His reply was “well, not as much as I should be”. I then encouraged him that God is not far away, and that all he needed to do was to turn towards him. And by doing that, God would surely meet him right there. He left thanking me for the  reminder.

Today, while i was at work and coming out from the back room, through the doors (out the gate) and onto the sales floor, i immediately saw this guy pass in front of me on the main aisle. He was holding a bible and reading it as he walked along. I said, “hey! what are you reading?”. He stops and shows me. I read it so that he can hear it.

“Now brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child; and children will rise up against parents and cause them to be put to death.”

“And you will be hated by all for My name’s sake. But he who endures to the end shall be saved.” (Mk.13:12-13).

I told him to not hate those who will do this. And i also said that sometimes those who are closest to us, i.e our families, are the ones who we could receive the most persecution from. He had this look on his face which seemed to read….. “I see. I get what this is saying”.

He leaves and i say, “God bless you!”. And off i go to put some meat away on the shelf :-).

I hope that we will all be more encouraged to be in the Spirit when we go “out the gate”, knowing very well that God could have somebody there waiting for us for His plan and purpose.

2 Responses to ““Out the gate””

  1. Kimberley Says:

    This was a very powerful message. I especially appreciated the scripture included and also when you said that ” families do the most persecuting” That is so profound and very true.

    • Richard Says:

      Kimberley! Nice to know that the Lord blessed you through this :-). May the Lord keep you and cause you to know Him more deeply

Leave a Reply

